Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General chat thread... Links, pictures, banter etc

• Registered Users Posts: 3,051 ✭✭✭Pique

Not really.

Well it is to me. He had an organ for transplant on board so I think that pressure plus the high speed riding through traffic and on the tram lines is very impressive.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Not really.

Was waiting for some one NOT to hear the siren and take him out...lucky imo....
    When people hear sirens they dont think "BIKE" they'll look for a big red truck, a big white van or the likes.....i'm thinkin he was lucky tbh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Was waiting for some one NOT to hear the siren and take him out...lucky imo....
    When people hear sirens they dont think "BIKE" they'll look for a big red truck, a big white van or the likes.....i'm thinkin he was lucky tbh...

True, I never thought of it like that.

I was just thinking of my courier days, and how I'd still ride in traffic if I'm in a rush and thought his riding isn't THAT impressive.

But you're correct too, most people wouldn't be looking for a bike n hearing a siren.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,072 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Pique wrote: »
    Well it is to me. He had an organ for transplant on board so I think that pressure plus the high speed riding through traffic and on the tram lines is very impressive.

If he crashed, they could lose the transplant organ. But they might gain two fresh ones :eek:

© 1982 Sinclair Research Ltd

• Registered Users Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭sonic85

Have the day off tomorrow and thinking about heading up to dublin for a look around a bike shop or two - what are the best places in dublin that have good stocks of bikes and gear? Bikeworld maybe? Whats cotters like?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

sonic85 wrote: »
    Have the day off tomorrow and thinking about heading up to dublin for a look around a bike shop or two - what are the best places in dublin that have good stocks of bikes and gear? Bikeworld maybe? Whats cotters like?

Bikeworld and cotters are decent, or Megabikes are ok if you want to go into town proper.

Thinking of doing the same myself. Test riding a beemer on saturday. I will make a point of waving and nodding frantically at all passing bikers.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

gerrowadat wrote: »
    I will make a point of waving and nodding frantically at all passing bikers.
    I bet you'll find yourself with Cruiserface before the ride is finished.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

CJ I had to look up cruiser face :)

link

Regular road riders are no doubt familiar with the expression gracing the faces of many Harley, Victory (pictured here) and Japanese cruiser clone riders. The look of self-satisfied toughness couldn’t be more obvious; novelty helmets cover neither the eyes nor the lips of those effected by cruiserface. While the intention is intimidation, the reality is ridiculousness. Put an end to cruiserface now.

Photo: Pepe Le Pew

The American Society of Facial Reconstruction Surgeons — intimately familiar with the epidemic after reconstructing the faces of many drunken cruiser crashers — defines the disease thusly: a subconscious furrowing of the brow accompanied by a pursing of the lips and involuntary squinting caused by the lack of protective eyewear. Cruiserface is often accompanied by an involuntary front-to-rear nodding of the head, as if keeping time with a tired classic rock tune.

While cruiserface has many potential causes, listed below, experts agree that the most common is the mistaken belief that other people are somehow intimidated by your excessively loud motorcycle.

:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭goodlad

I wanted to black out my MRA screen. Really happy with the function of it because i get no more windblast to the face but I hate that its see through.

Done some asking around and going to spray the back of the screen with plastidip. Seen a few screens done and it turned out perfect. And sure it can peel off if needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

goodlad wrote: »
    I wanted to black out my MRA screen. Really happy with the function of it because i get no more windblast to the face but I hate that its see through.

Done some asking around and going to spray the back of the screen with plastidip. Seen a few screens done and it turned out perfect. And sure it can peel off if needed.

Stick up a pic Gary, might get the windows in the house done...****IN NOSEY NEIGHBOURS!

Ive seen a few pictures of it on screens already and it looks great. Its a kinda rubber finish it puts on. Spraying the back works out fine because the front is still nice a shiny etc...

Wont have the spray will early next week but will throw up some before and after pictures

• Registered Users Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Goodlad, if your in Dublin I got a can of it from these guys
    IONET Sales
    34 Canal Walk, Park West Industrial Park, Dublin 12

Thats actually where I ordered from.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭sonic85

Bikeworld and cotters are decent, or Megabikes are ok if you want to go into town proper.

Thinking of doing the same myself. Test riding a beemer on saturday. I will make a point of waving and nodding frantically at all passing bikers.

Thats tomorrow sorted so! Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 7,017 ✭✭✭Wossack

my advice would be to spray it on the inside, and give it plenty of coats

inside, so its protected from chipping etc, and loadsa coats, so it will peel off easier should you want to change

• Registered Users Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

• Registered Users Posts: 14,296 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Pique wrote: »
    Damn this is impressive. Is that a Tiger? Didn't Ireland buy Harleys for this role?

I drive like that all the time.

In GTA5

Test rode a bike today. Then another one. Then ended up signing me life away on something much nicer than I thought I would. After a few hours up on it I couldn't say no. Roll on tuesday...

Ahaha good job it was not some top of the range ducati or BMW m8. Congrats nothing like a brand new toy.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,375 ✭✭✭✭blade1

It wasn't in Cork by any chance?

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Ahaha good job it was not some top of the range ducati or BMW

Doo dee doot dooo. Not brand new. 2014 R1200GS. If this yoke's for pensioners you may start liquidising my meals now. Ticks my boxes anyway: not an enormous sportsbike, pulls like a train at low revs and comfortable as fook.

zbrfcUe.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭thelawman

Nice bike, enjoy many happy miles

Doo dee doot dooo. Not brand new. 2014 R1200GS. If this yoke's for pensioners you may start liquidising my meals now. Ticks my boxes anyway: not an enormous sportsbike, pulls like a train at low revs and comfortable as fook.

zbrfcUe.jpg

That is bike porn man!!! Really lovely machine and super colour scheme....oil that neck and nod ya posh ****er!!!!

That thing has more buttons then a grannies sweater I bet....

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    That is bike porn man!!! Really lovely machine and super colour scheme....oil that neck and nod ya posh ****er!!!!

That thing has more buttons then a grannies sweater I bet....

Haha, I was making a point of the nod on the test ride. Was originally thinking of a new F800GT, but this yoke (clearly) blew it away, so it's super noodles for a wee while.

Load of buttons and dials alright, some of which are only good if you drop another 900 brick on the GPS. Gonna have to start writing letters to santy today.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,296 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

• Registered Users Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

A pet hate of mine is lads not wearing protective gear on a bike. this morning on the M50 there was a lad on a 01 black bird flying through the traffic and accelerating to over a ton and then dropping back to 60 wearing light runners and a pair of light combats that were flapping around his legs. Was behind him for a while and he was clearly not confident on the bike and going through gaps that were tiny causing cars to swerve. He did have a bike jacket on......

aaakev wrote: »
    A pet hate of mine is lads not wearing protective gear on a bike. this morning on the M50 there was a lad on a 01 black bird flying through the traffic and accelerating to over a ton and then dropping back to 60 wearing light runners and a pair of light combats that were flapping around his legs. Was behind him for a while and he was clearly not confident on the bike and going through gaps that were tiny causing cars to swerve. He did have a bike jacket on......

Think its time for the yearly "I will wear what I want debate and Fook you lot" lol....but I agree mate. The summer wannabes are out and about. Prolly only bought the bike last night!!!!

Vrooooooooooooooooooooooooommmmm

Sure they will do a ton in first gear. Its really easy to do it! :p

But yeah man, I cringe whenever i see people wearing little or no gear.

But sure kevlar flip flops are all the rage nowadays.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭shortys94

Second lesson involved no crashing thankfully :D

Just kept practicing braking and stayed in 1st, think its good to get rid of that reflex of pulling throttle, was very nervous after crash going again, but feel alot better after making it through a whole lesson ! :P