Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General chat thread... Links, pictures, banter etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Lads, Bridgestone T30, yay or nay?
    Just ordered one for the back of the ZZR.
    €131 for a 190/50/17 delivered from oponeo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,008 ✭✭✭✭GBX

blade1 wrote: »

Great tyre. Had them on VFR and FZ1.

GBX wrote: »
    Great tyre. Had them on VFR and FZ1.

That's good to know.
    There is BT023's on it at the moment and while they are ok'ish,they are by no means pick of the bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 aido43

Have the Bridgestone T30 Evo on back of mine--seem good in wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭goodlad

I have bt23 on my fz1. Its what was on it when i bought it. They are grand but the back deffo slips under hard acceleration too much for my liking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

blade1 wrote: »

Ok I've went from Michelin PR3's to Bridgestone T30's on a BMW R1100S (prior to the PR3's I had Conti Road Attacks).

Despite rave reviews I've little confidence in the T30 rear in the wet.

Its the only tyre I've had on this bike which regularly spins out when accelerating from the lights.

For that reason alone I'll go back to Michelin if I still have the bike when these T30's are due for replacing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Metzeler Roadtec Z8 FTW

A couple of varied views on them so.
    As goodlad said the BT023's slide easy enough when on the power coming out of roundabouts and stuff so we'll see is the T30 any better.

I probably would have went for something else only I have a Bridgestone on the front with not much wear and would rather have the same brand front and back.

With the secondary butterflies removed from ZZR,whatever tyre I use, I can't just whack the throttle anyway.
    A bit more care is needed!
    Well I'll try anyway!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

That was a cold one.. brrr

could just about get the buckle on my helmet undone - tips of fingers were numb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Worst so far. I was in the car and I slid a few times.

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭millingmachine

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Metzeler Roadtec Z8 FTW
    I've tried a lot of tyres & found the Z8's the best in all weathers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

gerrowadat wrote: »
    Let us know how you go with them, was never a fan of the big control boxes even in the oxfords.

Sorry for the delay. I have these grips installed for a good while now. They work great for me. Im still using my summer gloves without any issues. I will add that I have hand guards fitted which also helps. They are designed to switch off automatically when you key out but I wired them to a fusebox I fitted anyway. I dont like connecting straight to the battery. There is no box to fit to the handle bars as the control switch is part of the grip itself. Top setting is too hot so I normally keep it in the mid range. Any questions just ask.

2zh409l.jpg

Started up the cb today for the first time in over 3 months. She started fine and sounded great. Going to give it a good clean. I put it up for sale when the good weather kicks in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Mental gusts this morning going into work, going down Blessington St at about 7.20 am, got hit by a gust that threw me across the oncoming bus lane and had to (just about) drive up onto the footpath on the the other side of the road. The TDM isn't a small bike but its centre of gravity is quiet high which doesn't help :) I had to get off and calm down for a bit before continuing on.

Other guy in work who came in just after me got blown across Thomas St.

Other chap in work got a taxi :eek:

How did you guys fair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

I commuted NAKED on the GSX for maximum effect, standing up on the pegs for all the world to see with my manhood tucked into my tank bag as to not to cause a stir while the gusts caressed every part of my being........

Then I woke up and brought the little one to school and had a bowl of weetabix.

Mental gusts this morning going into work, going down Blessington St at about 7.20 am, got hit by a gust that threw me across the oncoming bus lane and had to (just about) drive up onto the footpath on the the other side of the road. The TDM isn't a small bike but its centre of gravity is quiet high which doesn't help :) I had to get off and calm down for a bit before continuing on.

Other guy in work who came in just after me got blown across Thomas St.

Other chap in work got a taxi :eek:

How did you guys fair?

I see over 10m/s on the forecast and the bike stays at home. Rest of the week ain't looking any better. If it's not the bleeding ice it's something else: http://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Leinster/Dublin/hour_by_hour.html

ice and wind man, hate the fúckers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stewygriffin

Its to be very wet n windy tonight and tomorrow morning.

Take care lads and lasses.

Its to be very wet n windy tonight and tomorrow morning.

Take care lads and lasses.

CC Unlimited look to be clearing out stock.
    They are posting up loads of stuff on their facebook with good money off

Some nice stuff on the FB page.

goodlad wrote: »
    CC Unlimited look to be clearing out stock.
    They are posting up loads of stuff on their facebook with good money off

Cant see anything on the page G.....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,008 ✭✭✭✭GBX

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Cant see anything on the page G.....?

Its not on their page. Its there personal profile page

SO its not the guy from peep show

As expected, pretty normal looking bloke. As he says, the face hiding thing got a bit funny, a lot of the higher profile lads are showing face these days as it stops people stalking them rather than encouraging it.

Just seen this, :(

Just dropped off my seat cowl and rear hangars to get Hydro Dipped.
    Cannot fooking wait to get them back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Just seen this, :(

Nice wheelies.

I'll make a knacker out of myself now ~ I learned to ride a bike the same way, on the same roads (more or less) on old DT175's.

So I won't stand in judgement over the little pricks :p

Mak, we all did, think we're gettin old!