Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feminism and the emasculation of men

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    I am a middle aged women who came out in the late 1970s in Ireland - do you honestly think I give a flying monkey about how people who base their opinions on what they read in newpapers or see on the TV perceive things?

Well then, unfortunately, you are excluding a very large portion of society from your consideration.
    Should I accept something because it says so in a tabloid?

I don't think so.

When did I say you should?
    I would consider 'nationalist' just as loaded a term as republican. Nationalism sparked a whole world war after all. Nationalist also tends to mean the same thing across the globe whereas 'republican' has different meanings in different countries. Now if you mean 'Irish Republican' than yes, that has para-military connotations but that is now being challenged by people who actually believe in the idea of a true Irish Republic in terms of governance regardless of how many counties it contains.

Ok that's a reasonable point, let me amend my previous statements to say "Irish Republican" and "Irish Nationalist". Now do you agree that my decision to shun the word republican doesn't mean I don't support a republic, but merely means I don't want to associate myself with the common, everyday interpretation of the word? I could stubbornly stick to my guns about it (unfortunate pun there, sorry 'bout that ;) ) but that wouldn't change the fact that by using that word, I've already painted a picture in the court of public opinion.
    There was a time when the tricolour was seen as being tainted due to is use by paramilitaries. That did not make it 'their' flag - it meant an extreme group was being allowed to co-opt our flag. We took it back - ironically via an Englishman. Jack's Army proudly waved/wore/ate/drank the Tricolour and reclaimed it from the extremists.

Agreed.
    Likewise the extremists do not own feminism except in the minds of those whose agenda it suits.

Fair enough, but I fear you're underestimating just how widespread the anti free speech movement really is. Scarcely a week goes past now without some headline appearing, or editorial written by a self styled feminist, calling for internet censorship of some kind.
    Look at the default anti-porn filters being introduced in the UK, and being heralded by feminists all over the country - as I say, it may not reflect everyone's views but it certainly doesn't look good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Obliq wrote: »
    Now, I'm having a big problem seeing what feminism has to do with either depriving any man of their male role or identity or making them weaker/less effective.

Agree on this.

Any man whose identity as a man is defined by how he views himself relative to a particular woman, or women in general, needs to have a word with himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Well then, unfortunately, you are excluding a very large portion of society from your consideration.

When did I say you should?

Ok that's a reasonable point, let me amend my previous statements to say "Irish Republican" and "Irish Nationalist". Now do you agree that my decision to shun the word republican doesn't mean I don't support a republic, but merely means I don't want to associate myself with the common, everyday interpretation of the word? I could stubbornly stick to my guns about it (unfortunate pun there, sorry 'bout that ;) ) but that wouldn't change the fact that by using that word, I've already painted a picture in the court of public opinion.

Agreed.

Fair enough, but I fear you're underestimating just how widespread the anti free speech movement really is. Scarcely a week goes past now without some headline appearing, or editorial written by a self styled feminist, calling for internet censorship of some kind.
    Look at the default anti-porn filters being introduced in the UK, and being heralded by feminists all over the country - as I say, it may not reflect everyone's views but it certainly doesn't look good.

I think you take far too much notice of headlines. They are designed to sell newspapers on a daily/weekly basis in a cut-throat industry and the best way to do this is good old *shock Horror Probe*. Do you think a headline which says 'Feminists want Equality' will grab attention? Those who understand Feminism will just say 'Well DOH! while those who wish to have their pre-conceived prejudices confirmed will salivate and rush to the comments section to vent. Headlines are aimed at Outraged of Ballycomplain. Believe them at your peril.

I read at least 5 newspapers everyday from the Irish Indo to the Washington Post and I am genuinely not seeing this outbreak you speak off.

As for public opinion - yeah right. I was really going to pay attention to what Irish public opinion had to say about Lesbians in 1980...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Filters being brought in by conservative David Cameron, and such internet censorship has been heavily criticized by feminists as well as many other groups, because sites on domestic violence, sexual health and LGBT issues have been blocked too. Far, far from being hailed by feminists, it's seen as a serious danger.

*Ahem*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Having less alphas doesn't have to be a bad thing.

Among a troop of savanna baboons in Kenya, a terrible outbreak of tuberculosis selectively killed off the biggest, nastiest and most despotic males, setting the stage for a social and behavioral transformation unlike any seen in this notoriously truculent primate.

Left behind in the troop, designated the Forest Troop, were the 50 percent of males that had been too subordinate to try dump brawling, as well as all the females and their young. With that change in demographics came a cultural swing toward pacifism, a relaxing of the usually parlous baboon hierarchy, and a willingness to use affection and mutual grooming rather than threats, swipes and bites to foster a patriotic spirit.

Remarkably, the Forest Troop has maintained its genial style over two decades, even though the male survivors of the epidemic have since died or disappeared and been replaced by males from the outside.
    http://www.nytimes.com/2004/04/13/science/no-time-for-bullies-baboons-retool-their-culture.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,554 ✭✭✭tigger123

biko wrote: »
    Having less alphas doesn't have to be a bad thing.

Among a troop of savanna baboons in Kenya, a terrible outbreak of tuberculosis selectively killed off the biggest, nastiest and most despotic males, setting the stage for a social and behavioral transformation unlike any seen in this notoriously truculent primate.

Left behind in the troop, designated the Forest Troop, were the 50 percent of males that had been too subordinate to try dump brawling, as well as all the females and their young. With that change in demographics came a cultural swing toward pacifism, a relaxing of the usually parlous baboon hierarchy, and a willingness to use affection and mutual grooming rather than threats, swipes and bites to foster a patriotic spirit.

Remarkably, the Forest Troop has maintained its genial style over two decades, even though the male survivors of the epidemic have since died or disappeared and been replaced by males from the outside.
    http://www.nytimes.com/2004/04/13/science/no-time-for-bullies-baboons-retool-their-culture.html

It was probably a feminist that introduced the disease.

tigger123 wrote: »
    It was probably a feminist that introduced the disease.

Sigourney Weaver was in a film about it. It was called 'Monkeys in the Fog'.

Links234 wrote: »
    Filters being brought in by conservative David Cameron, and such internet censorship has been heavily criticized by feminists as well as many other groups, because sites on domestic violence, sexual health and LGBT issues have been blocked too. Far, far from being hailed by feminists, it's seen as a serious danger.

*Ahem*

Ok, so according to those feminists it's a bad thing merely because of its unintended side effects? :rolleyes:

What about the calls to ban lads mags then?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Documented at length in Robert Sapolsky's moving, thoughtful, and very funny, book, A Primate's Memoir, which I recommend unhesitatingly.

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/25807/295943.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...unless you're an Alpha! :pac:

Some food for thought, perhaps.

On censorship: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/womens-politics/10195151/Why-has-feminism-become-obsessed-with-censoring-the-enemy.html

On UK ad campaigns villifying boys as the sole perpetrators of teenage relationship abuse: https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BhPUpkoCYAAv5dN.png:large

Honestly though, is it really so surprising that lads are getting fed up with this kind of sh!te?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

For any "Guys" out there worried about their role in society, getting in touch with their Feminine Side, being emasculated by squawky women in high-heels and trousers, and other similar early-warning signs of The Ghey, may I suggest pick-up-your-balls-and-load-up-your-cannon, and have a shufti at the guidance here:

http://bofh.ntk.net/KiwiBlokes/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

pablo128 wrote: »
    How many women are plumbers, carpenters, electricians, builders? All good paying jobs.
    Every time a job is advertised in our place, a warehouse, we get thousands of cv's emailed in. Guess how many are from women. None.
    You can't have it both ways.

A female friend of mine was trying to get an apprenticeship as a carpenter a few years back.
    She sent out hundreds of CVs, the only reply she got was from one company telling her they can't hire women because they've only got one toilet on the premises.

If you can't get a foot in the door trying to learn the trade, how on earth are you supposed to apply for a position for a fully trained job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,554 ✭✭✭tigger123

jimgoose wrote: »
    For any "Guys" out there worried about their role in society, getting in touch with their Feminine Side, being emasculated by squawky women in high-heels and trousers, and other similar early-warning signs of The Ghey, may I suggest pick-up-your-balls-and-load-up-your-cannon, and have a shufti at the guidance here:

http://bofh.ntk.net/KiwiBlokes/

There's an article in there on how to do a poop, just in case anyone's looking for any pointers.

Shenshen wrote: »
    A female friend of mine was trying to get an apprenticeship as a carpenter a few years back.
    She sent out hundreds of CVs, the only reply she got was from one company telling her they can't hire women because they've only got one toilet on the premises.

If you can't get a foot in the door trying to learn the trade, how on earth are you supposed to apply for a position for a fully trained job?

I know quite a few women qualified in building trades. Back in the 80s certain London Councils brought in an initiative for women who found they couldn't get apprenticeships - headlines at the time screamed about quotas and discrimination and takkenourbleedinjobsinnit.

One friend of mine is a carpenter with over 25 years experience whose hobby is making bespoke guitars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

tigger123 wrote: »
    There's an article in there on how to do a poop, just in case anyone's looking for any pointers.

I always knew they're was a manlier way to take a dump :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I know quite a few women qualified in building trades. Back in the 80s certain London Councils brought in an initiative for women who found they couldn't get apprenticeships - headlines at the time screamed about quotas and discrimination and takkenourbleedinjobsinnit.

One friend of mine is a carpenter with over 25 years experience whose hobby is making bespoke guitars.

Yes, when I was talking to my friend she did say she thought that maybe if she had considered relocating to a big city, she might have had a chance. But back then, she was still looking after her mother and moving out was not really an option.

She gave up the idea of the apprenticeship and went back to school.
    She's an architect now. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

What did Hilary Clinton do every morning after she shaved her pussy?

Sent him to work in the Oval Office....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Some food for thought, perhaps.

On censorship: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/womens-politics/10195151/Why-has-feminism-become-obsessed-with-censoring-the-enemy.html

On UK ad campaigns villifying boys as the sole perpetrators of teenage relationship abuse: https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BhPUpkoCYAAv5dN.png:large

Honestly though, is it really so surprising that lads are getting fed up with this kind of sh!te?
    Nobody is suggesting it's surprising. Misdirected anger/blame is what's being objected to, not the cause of the anger itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Obliq

Nope.

Now see below for another example of the kind of ****e people get fed up with:
    DazMarz wrote: »
    What did Hilary Clinton do every morning after she shaved her pussy?

Sent him to work in the Oval Office....

And this thanked by the OP. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭lufties

Nope.

Its a joke FFS :rolleyes:

Nobody is suggesting it's surprising. Misdirected anger/blame is what's being objected to, not the cause of the anger itself.

How is it misdirected? These campaigns are self styled as feminist campaigns, you can't simply pretend they don't exist.

Nope.

Would you prefer if jokes of that nature were deleted by moderators? I have seen many self styled feminists on many different websites who call for same.

Where on Earth do you find all the time to keep track of 'self-styled feminists' you seem to have an amazing amount of exposure to the things they apparently say?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

I was just trying to lighten things up a little... :(

Not meant to be taken seriously... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Where on Earth do you find all the time to keep track of 'self-styled feminists' you seem to have an amazing amount of exposure to the things they apparently say?

Very easily. The control the liberal media.

I do have a severe problem with the promotion of censorship by any special interest group though and I found the campaigning against Blurred Lines in universities as a cause célèbre last year to be utterly misguided and quite frankly repellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

So to the people defending feminism....

This upcoming EU legislation which puts feminist groups among a protected species which cannot be criticised without threat of criminal prosecution...

Does this qualify as the nutso ones to you? If yes then you must admit their profound influence.

If not, and you admit it is the moderates extending their legislative influence, how do you defend such a radical imposition on free speech?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Ah Clairefontaine! Delighted you could make it! :)

Very easily. The control the liberal media.

I do have a severe problem with the promotion of censorship by any special interest group though and I found the campaigning against Blurred Lines in universities as a cause célèbre last year to be utterly misguided and quite frankly repellent.

And Denis O Brien controls much of the media in Ireland and Murdoch continues to be a global player...Anyone who thinks those who own and control or contribute to media outlets are unbiased must be naive in the extreme. One simply considers what they publish and the authors while taking into account any bias.

The Irish Times is considered by many to be the 'Liberal Media' in Ireland yet they publish columns by quite a few members/patrons of the Iona Institute. So which are they? Fundamentalist Catholic or Liberal?

However, the last newspaper I saw hatpat link was The Telegraph - not by any stretch of the imagine could that be called the liberal media. It also has a view of feminists appears to confirm pat's view of them.

I am never sure exactly who this 'Liberal Media' is - there is even a rumour RTE is part of it.... :eek:- or why I so rarely read the people who complain about it acknowledge the existence of a Right/Conservative media.

This upcoming EU legislation which puts feminist groups among a protected species which cannot be criticised without threat of criminal prosecution...

Does this qualify as the nutso ones to you? If yes then you must admit their profound influence.

If not, and you admit it is the moderates extending their legislative influence, how do you defend such a radical imposition on free speech?

linky?

To the actual legislation please. Not some opinion piece in the Torygraph or Mail or a blog by Joe Blogg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭karlitob

when I was a young lad, I played with toy swords and footballs. raised by fascists so I was.

Now you're not allowed play with toy swords or guns because its not gender neutral and promotes violence. You just can't win.

And Denis O Brien controls much of the media in Ireland and Murdoch continues to be a global player...Anyone who thinks those who own and control or contribute to media outlets are unbiased must be naive in the extreme. One simply considers what they publish and the authors while taking into account any bias.

The Irish Times is considered by many to be the 'Liberal Media' in Ireland yet they publish columns by quite a few members/patrons of the Iona Institute. So which are they? Fundamentalist Catholic or Liberal?

However, the last newspaper I saw hatpat link was The Telegraph - not by any stretch of the imagine could that be called the liberal media. It also has a view of feminists appears to confirm pat's view of them.

I am never sure exactly who this 'Liberal Media' is - there is even a rumour RTE is part of it.... :eek:- or why I so rarely read the people who complain about it acknowledge the existence of a Right/Conservative media.

The liberal media thing was a joke… It's something I've seen parroted by people complaining about feminism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

linky?

To the actual legislation please. Not some opinion piece in the Torygraph or Mail or a blog by Joe Blogg.

http://www.europarl.europa.eu/meetdocs/2009_2014/documents/libe/dv/11_revframework_statute_/11_revframework_statute_en.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Also, not all feminists are liberals.

karlitob wrote: »
    Now you're not allowed play with toy swords or guns because its not gender neutral and promotes violence. You just can't win.

It's PC liberal correctness gone mad!!! Soon they'll be castrating little boys!!!

Lyaiera wrote: »
    Also, not all feminists are liberals.

I don't know where you're getting your information but it's obviously wrong. Feminists are a liberal hivemind collective out to destroy hard working men. Created by zionists, apparently.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 SYT2000

I don't know where you're getting your information but it's obviously wrong. Feminists are a liberal hivemind collective out to destroy hard working men. Created by zionists, apparently.

You could use the "hive mind" argument to defend Nazis too. Ultimately it's a stupid argument.

Feminism in general isn't concerned with equality. The evidence doesn't show that it does.

FTA69 wrote: »
    What percentage of the parliament are women?
    - there's no restriction on women becoming politicians.
    - if there's less percentage of parliamentarians that can't be only men's fault?
    Why do women on average earn less than men for similar work?
    - no they don't.
    - Pick a public sector job (over 375,000 public v 1,250,000 private sector Q3 2013 CSO stats)) - all pay scales are established regardless of your gender. A male nurse earns exactly the same as a female nurse!
    - pick a minimum wage unskilled private sector job, are you saying women are on less minimum wage than men
    Why are women under-represented for promotion in the professions?
    - it is exceptionally hard for a man to be promoted in nursing, physio, OT, teaching etc as they are DOMINATED by woman (Freudian typing?). There's no discussion to ensure equality of gender in these workplaces?
    Why is maternity constantly seen as a barrier for a woman's career?
    - I refer to the last point. How a hospital or school can manage with all the maternity leave is crazy
    - women getting paid more on maternity leave than being at work, then giving out yards for it being taxed appropriately so that they earn the same in work than out of work (hardly a shining example of feminism)
    - well known examples of teachers getting pregnant at certain times of the years to correlate with summer holidays
    - why not the question, of how do we manage a public service with so many maternity leaves (& parental leaves)
    (By the by, I'm all for extending the period of maternity leave, I'm just posing the question - besides I think it helps with the next point)
    Why is domestic violence still prevalent?
    - you make that statement as if, if only we could get rid of men, then domestic violence would be reduced.
    - can men be blamed for domestic abuse (men are also abused)
    - surely its the fact that these men are not taught to respect ALL people and not just men
    - are some of these men from single parent homes, commonly mothers only
    - did their mothers not teach them to respect women
    - you make it seem like domestic violence perpetrators don't hit other men
    (naturally I am being facetious to make the point)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

SYT2000 wrote: »
    You could use the "hive mind" argument to defend Nazis too. Ultimately it's a stupid argument.

Feminism in general isn't concerned with equality. The evidence doesn't show that it does.

Going Godwin with your very first post is quite the baller move.

- it is exceptionally hard for a man to be promoted in nursing, physio, OT, teaching etc as they are DOMINATED by woman (Freudian typing?). There's no discussion to ensure equality of gender in these workplaces?

Quick note on this part of your post:

http://www.forbes.com/sites/jennagoudreau/2012/05/21/a-new-obstacle-for-professional-women-the-glass-escalator/

"“Men that enter female-dominated professions tend to be promoted at faster rates than women in those professions,” explains Caren Goldberg, Ph.D., an assistant professor of management at American University’s Kogod School of Business who has researched the phenomenon. “When you look at senior management, you tend to see men disproportionately represented. So while there may be less than 5% of all nurses who are male, you see a much larger percentage than 5% in senior-level positions like hospital administrators.”"

Seems like the opposite is true.

The purpose of this Statute is to:
    (a) Promote tolerance within society without weakening the
    common bonds tying together a single society.
    (b)Foster tolerance between different societies.
    (c) Eliminate hate crimes as defined in Section 1(c).
    (d)Condemn all manifestations of intolerance based on bias,
    bigotry and prejudice.
    (e) Take concrete action to combat intolerance, in particular with a
    view to eliminating racism, colour bias, ethnic discrimination,
    religious intolerance, totalitarian ideologies, xenophobia, antiSemitism, anti-feminism and homophobia.

Hmmmm...not quite the 'This upcoming EU legislation which puts feminist groups among a protected species which cannot be criticised without threat of criminal prosecution' spin you put on it m'thinks.

Anti-feminism will be combated is not quite the same as your protecting feminism with threats of criminal prosecution hyperbole now is it.

It is a catch all piece of anti-hate group legislation which will be utterly meaningless on the ground unless the authorities of each State decide to enforce it.

Now here is a question - how many men voted for it?

Do you consider those men a) Hen pecked pussies, b) misguided, c) traitors, d) genuinely concerned there is a problem with hate groups - some of whom target feminists (which is a political and philosophical ideology after all) - in Europe ?

It's PC liberal correctness gone mad!!! Soon they'll be castrating little boys!!!

Naturally, if boys and girls are to be equal then castration is the obvious things to do for 'equality'.

'equality'.

I don't think that word means what you think that word means.

May I suggest the word you are looking for is closer to 'identical' which is not at all the same thing...nor is it biologically possible unless we have a human race consisting of clones of just the one person...

I vote for Panti Bliss to be that individual.

B0jangles wrote: »
    Well, obviously, but surely the free breast implants will make up for the loss?

Saline based not silicone based as all Feminists are also tree-huggers. I read that in a blog so it must be true.

Heh, you got me before I deleted the post for being a non sequitur :P

(If the willies get cut off, then 'logically' the breasts have to go too - no external sex markers allowed in the fearsome fempire!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

Do all those headlines which say 'soccer fans riot' mean people perceive all soccer fans as hooligans or that there exists an extreme minority?

Newspaper headlines are designed to sell newspapers and in order to so so they will sensationalise/spin - they are certainly no basis for forming an opinion on anything.

All soccer fans are treated in a specific way (segregation, no alcohol etc) due to the actions of this extreme minority. Similarly, feminists get tarred by many with the same brush as the extremes under their banner and it is only made worse by the mainstream rarely making little, if any, effort to distance themselves such comments/campaigns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I am for feminism (as promoting respect end equality between sexes) but would not defend such legislation. The document in question is called “The European framework national statute for the promotion of tolerance.” and it doesn't ban critisim, it's supposed to ban hate speech - but it also offers "special protection of vulnerable and disadvantaged groups" including "special protection afforded to members of vulnerable and disadvantaged groups may imply a preferential treatment."

Foxtrol wrote: »
    All soccer fans are treated in a specific way (segregation, no alcohol etc) due to the actions of this extreme minority. Similarly, feminists get tarred by many with the same brush as the extremes under their banner and it is only made worse by the mainstream rarely making little, if any, effort to distance themselves such comments/campaigns.

Well not even in the wildest imaginings of the Anti Feminism Brigade (:p) have bands of drunken women violently rioted in stadiums and city streets demanding equality...

My point was that the vast majority of feminists are not extremists just as the vast majority of those who support rights for unmarried father's are not like John Waters nor are all those who go to soccer matches hooligans - I know people who do all three...not me. Can't stand soccer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

Well not even in the wildest imaginings of the Anti Feminism Brigade (:p) have bands of drunken women violently rioted in stadiums and city streets demanding equality...

My point was that the vast majority of feminists are not extremists just as the vast majority of those who support rights for unmarried father's are not like John Waters nor are all those who go to soccer matches hooligans - I know people who do all three...not me. Can't stand soccer...

You’re totally ignoring my point though, that like the soccer fan example you chose, feminists will be viewed on by the ‘worst’ of their group and treated differently as a result. At least the majority of soccer fans usually come out in large numbers to object to the actions of their high profile minority, I don’t think this regularly happens with feminists and it would actually help their cause if they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

the_syco wrote: »
    Does it go well with a packet of Hunky Dory crisps?
    hunky dorys got in trouble for and their models were not even topless like the coke one -many people would fight for equal topless rights. In many countries there is also a double standard a ban on showing female genitals at all in film, it can be labelled as hardcore pornography
    http://www.adworld.ie/news/read/?id=94b9d427-fdb2-4796-8d38-e4e7d038fe26
    The Advertising Standards Authority of Ireland (ASAI) has upheld a number of complaints against crisp manufacturer Largo Foods following the company's recent controversial ad campaign for its Hunky Dory range of crisps.

This is complete fabrication. You'll find rampant male sexuality is actually celebrated while the opposite is actively derided. Hence why some men get termed "legends" for riding all around them while women are written off as "sluts" and "whores" for promiscuity.
    I have actually never heard any guy called a legend for this, the usual term supposedly used is "stud", a term I have only ever heard used sarcastically. I have heard lots of men being called sluts, including myself (by a female), it seems more acceptable to do so. I have heard women calling each other sluts more often than men do too, often behind their backs.

Many people feign ignorance about why there is this supposed "double standard", a primatologist might explain it to you, e.g. why if a female primate has as many partners as a male in a year she may be described as promiscuous while the male might not.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Promiscuity
    A scientific study published in 2005 found that promiscuous men and women are judged equally harshly[2] and a recent poll showed that both genders tend to express strong preference for sexually conservative partners.

Why do women on average earn less than men for similar work? Why are women under-represented for promotion in the professions? Why is maternity constantly seen as a barrier for a woman's career?
    If men could have children I would expect a similar drop in wages, there was some call for men to be given the option for paternity leave, i.e. instead of the woman automatically getting the bulk of the leave time she could go back and the husband could legally take the time off instead. If this happened and most men took up the role then I would certainly expect a drop in wages for men and an increase for women.

One manager in my workplace openly told me of her opinions on the dangers of employing female staff and the risk of maternity leave. The ability/risk to have children and consequent disruption is quite obviously one part of the answer for the first 2 questions.

Say what? When have women as a whole refused to work as hard as men?
    Sometimes it can be legally enforced, such as different maximum manual lifting capacities, men allowed, and therefore often expected to lift more. There may be other blatantly sexist requirements, e.g. fire service and military services may have different fitness requirements, or tasks rules out completely. I have never heard a reversal of this, e.g. women are supposedly better at multi-tasking, so I wonder if any company has legally/formally put down lower acceptable standards/workloads for the "weaker" men in jobs with lots of mulit-tasking.

Yup, the porn industry and sex slaves are all poor men been exploited.
    Male porn stars are paid far less than females.