Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not The Trivial things that make you happy

• Registered Users Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Was travelling home from working in Cork today and stopped in supermarket to pick up a few bits and avoid having to go back out later. Queues miles long as everyone has the same idea. The older lady in front of me let me go first, even though she probably only had 4-5 items more than me. I thanked her and she said not a bother, I had probably been at work all day and was looking to get home.
    What a nice thoughtful gesture! Nice change to have a positive interaction in the cut throat world of supermarket queues
    I told the check out operator to give her my points on her Clubcard as I don't have a card, hopefully she left feeling trivially happy too, for doing a good turn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

Vela wrote: »
    LadyMacBeth I seriously feel like we must have been besties in a previous life :P

Ah sure we can be besties in this life :D
    gifted wrote: »
    Should have called me Lady...I'm a plumber...I could have sorted out your boiler lol lol

Sounds like the beginning of a porno :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭Bredabe

I had a dream last night, that my sister was living in a freezing ball alley shaped flat in London, she shared this with one of my bro's dogs.
    The coffee shop on the corner of her road, Leo Varadker hung out in, Leo used to ask the dog(who is fond of giving piece's of her mind at any time to anyone, in the real world) opinion on Brexit etc. He moved the dog in with him, in his plush pad in the Docklands. So her opinions would be available 24/7.

Have had fits of giggles all day, laughing at the dream flashback of him listening to the dog with such seriousness.

Th in a way, that the min who did nothing to improve conditions for animals in Ireland has been(in my dreams at least) been replaced by a redheaded rescue mutt.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

Well. Was driving home from crèche this evening with the 10-month old in his little chair in the back seat and his not-even-three-year-old sister in a bigger chair next to him. He starts crying so I have a big long chat with him telling him we'll be home soon and generally that he's brilliant to be doing so well in crèche (he only started). While I'm doing this, I hear herself talking in English and what's the little fecker doing but translating every single sentence I'm saying to himself into English. I'm conflicted - hugely impressed that she's translating everything so fluently and she not even three yet, and entertained and bemused by the philosophical and linguistic implications of this surprising little intervention on her part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Drugged myself up to the eyeballs and brought my mum and godmother out to dinner for their birthdays.

Got them flowers, which the waitresses brought out at tea.

They loved it. I lived it. I love them.

Im contented.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 24 TheWarmNights

The Late Late Toy Show, wine and Heroes. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭Ilovethe bonesofyou

The Toy Show this year. Some of the kids are hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭PeterParker957

The Toy Show this year. Some of the kids are hilarious.

The wee ginger lad in the Batman car getting ragged all over the show by Tubs!!!! Legend!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

Was on the phone to my brother there. I have a sore throat and I think a chest infection. You can't hear it in my voice and I hadn't mentioned it to my brother but it was like he sensed it by my tone or something because he was being super nice and then at the end of the call he said "love ya". How awkward! We never say that to each other.

I said it back and quickly hung up the phone :) He wasn't even drunk :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Heard something being dropped through letterbox this morning. Thought junk mail, but when I went out to check, the An Post van was just driving off, having delivered a book I had recently ordered from Amazon!

Thank you An Post! I'm happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭clairewithani

Lorelli! wrote: »
    Was on the phone to my brother there. I have a sore throat and I think a chest infection. You can't hear it in my voice and I hadn't mentioned it to my brother but it was like he sensed it by my tone or something because he was being super nice and then at the end of the call he said "love ya". How awkward! We never say that to each other.

I said it back and quickly hung up the phone :) He wasn't even drunk :D

This made me happy even.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

I got "shellac" nails last week for a wedding. After a week they were discolouring. I was in the salon yesterday and asked the owner if I could paint over them with regular polish until my next appointment. She was on her way home but immediately sat me down to fix my nails and then took me for my actual appointment as well so that the girl I was booked in with wouldn't be delayed going home.

I've been going there years now and that's exactly why. I really appreciate great service and the fact that the staff get well looked after. Makes such a difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Unfortunately last year I was unable to bring my little fella to see Santa. Someone very special did something amazing, they invited Santa to come and visit us at home and it was fantastic.

Today I brought him out to see Santa for the first time and it was brilliant. To see such joy and amazement on his face. Priceless :)

My team just won. Again.

We don't that often!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

As trivial as trivial can be. Getting back into reading. I bought an actual book today.

Question to the readers out there. Do I have to curl up with it? Can I not just sit normally? I don't feel I'm at the curl up stage yet.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,850 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Of course you can start reading it "normally", but you'll find yourself curling up with it, sooner or later, just like hair gets frizzy when subjected to high humidity (which is something real books don't like, either), whether you like it or not. What book is it?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Inferno - Dan Brown

I read his previous Tom Hanks Robert Langdon books and enjoyed them so they are a bit of a guilty pleasure.

"OMG a twist! Who would have thought?" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 951 ✭✭✭Neames

A small win on the horses...lovely stuff!

Neames wrote: »
    A small win on the horses...lovely stuff!

Are drinks on you????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Went shopping with my sis and her daughter

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

Pac1Man wrote: »
    Inferno - Dan Brown

I read his previous Tom Hanks Robert Langdon books and enjoyed them so they are a bit of a guilty pleasure.

Drinking game: take a drink every time you read the word "Obelisk" in a Dan Brown novel :)

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭BilboBagOfCans

A Facebook video of babies sneezing and falling over, I've laughed so much at so little

• Registered Users Posts: 16,134 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Travelling south on a train on Friday evening and the west side lit up with the most beautiful sunset . Added to the orange sky was a huge moon in all its glory . The sky was reflected in the east side windows so we were surrounded by a glowing orange sky

• Registered Users Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Pancakes for breakfast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭LadyMacBeth_

Having my wife home for the weekend. Getting to have a lie in with her and cuddles in bed with the cat. Going off into town to buy a Christmas tree and simple things like going to starbucks together for a coffee, coming home and curling up on the couch together to watch films. Having savage roast duck pancakes for dinner. Setting up the place at the moment as it's her birthday today, she's out with a friend shopping so it will be ready when she gets back :)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Sitting on the couch with a book and a cuppa and the cat and dog sleeping on my lap. I'm still in my pyjamas and I've nothing to do all day but relax. Pure bliss.

reap-a-rat wrote: »
    Pac1Man wrote: »
    Inferno - Dan Brown

Drinking game: take a drink every time you read the work "Obelisk" in a Dan Brown novel :)

How's the wait for the liver transplant ???

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I was out with a crew from work last night and was chatting to a lady who wouldn't usually get glammed up for things but last night she looked incredible. Everyone kept telling her how fabulous she looked, and I saw her out dancing at the end of the night and she just looked so happy bopping away and laughing. She told me in the taxi home she felt a million dollars and had the best night out in twenty years. So cute.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Pearse Station is cold, dark and my train is late

However there is a youngster here giving it socks on the piano that Irish rail installed for their long suffering customers

I wouldn’t say the child is technically brilliant but she is having a ball and a few around smiling at her jingle bells attempt :) she knows a few other tunes too

Pianos for all busy stations I say :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭4Ad

Dingle. at Other Voices and I went to see the same band twice.
    Hiva oa..brilliant
    Twas yesterday mind.