Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which hospital?

Options
  • 01-03-2014 12:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3

Hello everyone. My other half lives in Eden Gate just outside Greystones and I am planning on moving up myself from June. I'm a mature student just finishing off my medical studies in Galway. I am in the process of applying to various Dublin hospitals for my intern year and am looking for some advice re travel times to work. My jobs could be starting anywhere from 7:30 to 9am depending on the rotation. I really am not up to speed on the traffic/travel situation up there other than getting caught myself a few times driving to Galway on a Monday morning in Kilmacanogue/Bray on the N11 if I don't leave on time.

Few questions:
    1. Is St. Vincents or Tallaght Hospital easier to get to that time of the morning? I have the option of using the Dart too for Vincents but would have to drive/cycle in from Eden Gate.
    2. Would it be more of a headache commuting to Beaumont via car, or city centre (Mater/James's) via public transport from Eden Gate if I had to? (I realise that both could be a nightmare!)
    3. How would Naas hospital be in terms of travel times compared with No. 2?

We might end up going to closer to Dublin to live but want to give the Greystones area a good go as we really like it the there and my partner is working in Newtownmountkennedy so it's handy for her.

Cheers for any tips!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher