Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hotel Close to O2

• 01-03-2014 1:48pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭

Im looking for suggestions for accommodation as close as possible to the O2.
    A reasonably priced hotel with family room and parking if possible.
    Im bringing two young kids to WWE in may so want to keep walking to a minimum.
    Any suggestions would be appreciated.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

The Gibson is literally next door. There is also Jurys on the quays, Clarion IFSC or the Maldron on Sir John Rogersons Quay. These are all within very reasonable walking distance.
    The O2 is literally the last stop on the red line luas so a hotel a few stops down nearer the city might be worth looking at also.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

The Gibson is literally opposite the O2. Very good hotel.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Thanks to ye both lads.
    Called the all hotels you suggested but couldn't get anything under 200 euro(on a Thursday?:()
    Checked out hotels on red luas line and came across a Lidl break deal.
    Got the Red cow hotel for 98 euro with dinner, bed and breakfast for 4.
    Delighted with deal ,appreciate the help lads.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

That's a great deal! Enjoy :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Thanks to ye both lads.
    Called the all hotels you suggested but couldn't get anything under 200 euro(on a Thursday?:()

All of the hotels in the area (city centre included) will jack their prices up when there is something on at the O2, no matter what day of the week it is. It's very hard to get a deal, unless you book something the very day that an event is announced and hope that the hotels themselves take a day or two to cop on to the event being on.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Thanks to ye both lads.

Just so you know - the Red Cow Hotel is about a 5-10min walk from the Red Cow Luas Stop. It's pretty straightforward: you go back the way the tram came, down the main road and over the footbridge. So if you're getting the Luas out, don't panic when it zooms past the hotel on the left - you haven't missed the stop.

Oh, and DON'T use Google Maps for walking directions! They don't seem to know that the pedestrian walkway is there and send you on a mad loop around Clondalkin instead...