Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Aldi Motobike gear from Sunday 9th March

• Registered Users Posts: 28 xfireblade

will they have this stuff for sale for the week? might pop in tomorrow evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

xfireblade wrote: »
    will they have this stuff for sale for the week? might pop in tomorrow evening

try a few places if the first one you try has nothing. there are 3 aldi shops within a few milers of me here and one of them usually has the stuff im looking for if im late getting in!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I just popped into the one on the east wall road near the 02 and they had loads. I was on the bike so could not carry anything but I'll go to my local one and buy a few things later tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Deffo getting the bare essentials like the socks and that.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,306 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Finglas had plenty of stuff. Think gloves was the only thing sold out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Galway has sold out of a lot of stuff already, although some of the more extreme sizes (S and XXL still remain)

I got a spare helmet, gloves and neckwarmer. Happy out with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

I got the compression top and underwear, tried it on last night, felt like I was auditioning for Kickass!
    Grabbed two pairs of the socks too.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

So what's good and what's not? What's worth getting and what's not? I'll deffo get the socks & neck warmer. Might get the gloves but will they be warm? Says nothing about waterproof so I'd guess useless. I'm not sure which one of the tops to get. Are the boots any use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

Yeah, would like to know about the boots too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭BaronVon

Zascar wrote: »
    So what's good and what's not? What's worth getting and what's not? I'll deffo get the socks & neck warmer. Might get the gloves but will they be warm? Says nothing about waterproof so I'd guess useless. I'm not sure which one of the tops to get. Are the boots any use?

I got the socks last time round, not worth a fiver!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Forget about warmth with the gloves what about protection! They are as flimsy to say the least.....

Very happy with the paddock stand, us3d it this evening just to try it out, good and sturdy and held the bike solid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,306 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Well, take a look and decide when you're there. Neckwarmer is definitely worth it. I have the socks from ages ago and they are quality, but for some reason I find it hard to part with a fiver for a pair of socks!
    I keep them for long trips.

So I went in just for the neckwarmer, ended up buying half the place! Got both of the tops, the compression one and the base layer suit. Also grabbed a pair of gloves, for the price its good to have an extra pair. They are a smalll fitting though I need to bring it back and get a large size.

Got two pairs of the socks - got them home, I feel like an idiot - total bollocks. They have 10 feature points on the label like "shin protection and "gear level pad" they are just fukking socks with coloured bits ffs. Going to bring them back too.

With the saga I had with my boots I got a pair of them also, probably can't go too wrong for €40.

Oh and after all that I forgot a feckin neckwarmer!

Can you bring stuff back for refund/exchange to any aldi does anyone know?

Yeah I think they are good for refunds in any store

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,686 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

So I went in just for the neckwarmer, ended up buying half the place! Got both of the tops, the compression one and the base layer suit. Also grabbed a pair of gloves, for the price its good to have an extra pair. They are a smalll fitting though I need to bring it back and get a large size.

Got two pairs of the socks - got them home, I feel like an idiot - total bollocks. They have 10 feature points on the label like "shin protection and "gear level pad" they are just fukking socks with coloured bits ffs. Going to bring them back too.

With the saga I had with my boots I got a pair of them also, probably can't go too wrong for €40.

Oh and after all that I forgot a feckin neckwarmer!

Can you bring stuff back for refund/exchange to any aldi does anyone know?

Yeah I knew the socks would be rubbish having once paid €15 for a pair of 'Snowboarding Socks' which were more or less the same as these- loads of technical information spurting on about ergonomic design and ankle supports but when you opened them they were just a pair of socks with different colours on them. I'd be almost certain that Aldi and Lidl sell those same socks at different times of year, this time they were for motorcyclists but no doubt in a couple of months time they'll resurface labelled as hiking socks and then again in the winter labelled as skiing socks. They're just socks and there's nothing specialised about them yet the packaging practically suggests that they've been tested in a wind tunnel !

Luckily Aldi and Lidi are two of the best when it come to returns, provided you have your receipt and the labels are still attached then they'll refund without even asking why you want a refund. I've returned 3 or 4 things with them over the last few years and it was always quick process free of hassle about credit notes or gift cards in exchange, they just give you you're money back and get on with serving the next customer, my kind of shop !

Ok thats good thanks for that. One I opened and put on so probably have to keep those but the other I'll get a refund on. Still undecided not he gloves and boots - quality is not great. I mean I know they are dirt cheap but will I even use them is the question..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I just got mine as spares. They're not as good as what I already have but having them as spares in case I lose something or have a passenger will come in handy.

Yeah I got the Kevlar jeans and having tried them on now a couple of times I e decided to bring them back later in the week. Apart from them not fitting me great (the leg is 34.5 whereas I'd normally take a 32-33) they also don't look that good either. I had a look on Amazon and for another tenner there is a few pairs there which seem nicer and have the added bonus of hip pads included, which the Aldi ones were sadly lacking.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    I had a look on Amazon and for another tenner there is a few pairs there which seem nicer and have the added bonus of hip pads included, which the Aldi ones were sadly lacking.

links?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,453 ✭✭✭✭blade1

goodlad wrote: »
    I'm gonna pickup those base layers for under my leathers.
    They should be grand.

EDIT: Just sent these by a mate:

http://www.sportsdirect.com/campri-thermal-pant-mens-402024?colcode=40202403

http://www.sportsdirect.com/campri-thermal-top-mens-402022?colcode=40202203

Might be just as good as the Aldi stuff?
    blade1 wrote: »
    That's weird, I just ordered them on Tuesday.
    Had these on last night and seem to do the job fine.
    These are the first base layers i have ever used so i don't know how they compare with the Aldi ones.

Just a quick question to others on fabric protected trousers- I have the Aldi pair and when I'm standing up they fit grand but I was just out on the bike there and when my knees are bent the trouser leg stretches to come up near my ankle. A bit disappointing as the main thing I wanted them to do is to be waterproof but now I know a rainy day will see me with wet shins. How do other trousers solve this problem- if at all ? I suppose half my problem is the boots I wear aren't way up my shin like tradition motorbike boots but I'm comfortable walking around in the boots I use and want to keep using them. Just wondering what others thoughts are on this as to weather there is something out there that'll solve my problem.

links?

These are £45, come with knee and hip armour and look just like regular jeans which is why I'm going to take back the Aldi pair- all the stitching across the leg on the Aldi pair puts me off them a bit.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/HBROS-Bikers-Kevlar-Jeans/dp/B00ECGT00E/ref=sr_1_3?s=automotive&ie=UTF8&qid=1394561005&sr=1-3&keywords=kevlar+jeans

These aren't bad either, are also £45 but only have knee armour
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/JBL4031-Oxford-Jeans-Kevlar-Blue/dp/B00FGRGF9C/ref=sr_1_4?s=automotive&ie=UTF8&qid=1394561005&sr=1-4&keywords=kevlar+jeans

These ones are £50, have knee armour included and a pocket for hip armour stitched in but you'll have to add your own. If you're into faded jeans they're not bad.
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/RED014-KEVLAR-MOTORCYCLE-MOTORBIKE-REGULAR/dp/B0062K26X6/ref=sr_1_13?s=automotive&ie=UTF8&qid=1394561005&sr=1-13&keywords=kevlar+jeans

And these are the DuPont ones that Aldi were selling for €40, on Amazon for £51 :eek:
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/DuPont-Kevlar-Motorbike-Protection-Trousers/dp/B00A8RMBB6/ref=sr_1_6?s=automotive&ie=UTF8&qid=1394561005&sr=1-6&keywords=kevlar+jeans

They seem to be the pick of the bunch in the £40-50 range, you can go a lot higher and spend €150+ on Draggin Jeans or Hood but having looked at some reviews I'm not all that sure they're worth such a big spend, horses for courses I suppose.

Anyway I reckon I'll bring the Aldi ones back and spend an extra €10 or €15 on Amazon for something that I know I'll like and wear for a good few years yet. I just can't see myself falling in love with the Aldi ones even though I want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

1. The Aldi pants aren't waterproof at all past light-medium rain.

2. You got pants that fit you like standard pants would.... these are motorcycle pants, which you have to have an allowance for the extra length needed while riding. Go back and get some 2 inches longer. They won't look so nice but they'll fit.

3. Don't count on Aldi gear being all too safe when it comes to needing it. I'd bet the stitching sucks and the protection levels are quite low.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 xfireblade

Got the helmet which is good quality, dont see anything wrong with it. Great value for 35. Also gloves and boots. Happy out!

1. The Aldi pants aren't waterproof at all past light-medium rain.

2. You got pants that fit you like standard pants would.... these are motorcycle pants, which you have to have an allowance for the extra length needed while riding. Go back and get some 2 inches longer. They won't look so nice but they'll fit.

3. Don't count on Aldi gear being all too safe when it comes to needing it. I'd bet the stitching sucks and the protection levels are quite low.

Yeah I suppose getting a longer pair is the way to go, I'm not too bothered about them being super waterproof as most of my journeys are only 15-20 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,391 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

My commute is 20 minutes. You can get pretty wet and miserable in that time, trust me.

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭Skill Magill

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Just a quick question to others on fabric protected trousers- I have the Aldi pair and when I'm standing up they fit grand but I was just out on the bike there and when my knees are bent the trouser leg stretches to come up near my ankle. A bit disappointing as the main thing I wanted them to do is to be waterproof but now I know a rainy day will see me with wet shins. How do other trousers solve this problem- if at all ? I suppose half my problem is the boots I wear aren't way up my shin like tradition motorbike boots but I'm comfortable walking around in the boots I use and want to keep using them. Just wondering what others thoughts are on this as to weather there is something out there that'll solve my problem.
    Take a looksee
    Spada DUO TECH Textile Trousers BLACK- ADJUSTABLE LEG LENGTH
    Crossanshttp://www.thevisorshop.com/acatalog/copy_of_Textile_Jackets.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,784 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    I am sorry and I will get dogs abuse for this....but ffs. Aldi are doing cheap helmets for €35 or so and people are moaning that they are not cheap enough, is that it or am I missing something here???? Is there no price point cheap enough that people consider the cut off point for protecting their heads!!!!!

Just my two cents but I would not put anything on my crust ANYWHERE near that price.....! I know this debate has been argued before ten times over but lads come on a helmet now for twenty something quid, whats it made from egg cartons filled with cadburys creme egg filling?

You better not read MCN pullout on helmets this week then. ...... No correlation between helmet price and protection ....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Thanks for that, they seem pretty neat and exactly what will solve the problem of them stretching up my shins while riding. Have you ever owned a pair yourself or heard what they're like ?