Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

Medicine: The Best Route for a Graduate

• 09-03-2014 12:12am
    Registered Users Posts: 20

Evening folks, this is going to be a long one unfortunately but I’d appreciate any help with my, very specific and strange query.
    I’m currently a Psychology student in one of the Universities in Ireland and entering the final year of my programme next September. I’m currently doing extremely well in my studies, averaging 1.1’s in my Christmas examinations, however I can’t say I’ve ever felt the ‘moment of connection’ with Psychology as a discipline that has made me realise I want to continue down a path in it as a career.

I’m now, in hindsight (or with a bit more life experience I suppose you could say), wondering if I would have preferred a career in the Medical Field. The only aspects of Psychology I have found enjoyable are Biologically or Health Based and have never been fully satisfied with the minute knowledge I’ve extracted from the modules concerning those topics.
    I’ve started doing some background reading into applying for Medicine following the completion of my degree. I’ve looked into GEM, but to be honest, the extortionate fees and loans to be acquired have really frightened me into applying for Medicine in that way.