Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

France vs Ireland buildup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Dimitri Szarzewski's impeccable head of hair
    Nobody deserves to be dropped. Its insane to suggest otherwise.

We have a nice little advantage playing last, even if England miraculously put over 50 past Italy I think we can still get it done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

chupacabra wrote: »

We have a nice little advantage playing last, even if England miraculously put over 50 past Italy I think we can still get it done.

Do you include POM in that chupacabra? I think he has to come back in based on previous tournament form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

4. Toner 5. POC 6. POM 7. Henry 8. Heaslip

19. Henderson 20. Ruddock/TOD?

Is TOD not injured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

Indeed, but suggesting the team could not be improved is equally insane.

TBH I don't think we will see any change besides POM coming in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

4. Toner 5. POC 6. POM 7. Henry 8. Heaslip

19. Henderson 20. Ruddock/TOD?

Reckon TOD isn't in the squad now.

I think we might see McGrath starting...

Is TOD not injured?
    .ak wrote: »
    Reckon TOD isn't in the squad now.

I think we might see McGrath starting...

I'd be inclined to bring him back in if he's fit.

McGrath starting would be quite a curveball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,064 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

errlloyd wrote: »
    Come on now lads, I clearly said 40-50 and it was implied that I meant 50 total. I shouldn't have to specify that i don't want them to score more than 50.

I obviously don't want us to have to do anything other than a 1 point victory, but I just don't want the French to have something to play for. You never know, they might all have bonus clauses in their contracts that make them try hard if there is a sniff of a win.

Even with 50 it would mean Ireland would have to win by 2 points to win (seeing as England are currently 49 points behind us). Doesn't seem like much but it could make all the difference. I get what you're saying but I think with France so far behind England on pd, unless Italy manage to beat them it'll be very difficult for France to win overall. I think they'll be targeting a win regardless of whether the Championship is gone for them or not though (because unless England draw or get beaten by Italy, France will be looking to beat us by 30 points at the very least and more than likely 50).

Just think if Healy is missing training on Monday/Tuesday it might be a choice.

Regarding the 20 jersey I think even if TOD is fit I reckon we'll see Ruddock get it. If there's question marks over POM's hammy then Ruddock is the man I'd want to step in there. He has a physical edge over the other pretenders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

I'd say that's purely dependant on how Healy gets on this week.

Edit: Snap with .ak :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Paddywiggum

POM will come back in and that will be the only change to starting lineup bar an injury. Very disappointed not to see Bowe back involved, Trimble is a good solid player and has performed very well in fairness to him but Bowe is world class and has proven himself at the top level time and time again. Zebo hasnt a hope of being involved.

Schmidt has gone with the policy of a player retaining his spot when performing well, which Trimble has done. But i have the feeling we should be going to Paris with our best players, no matter which France turns up it will be difficult for us due to the weight of history alone.

We came up short in Twickenham with this policy. I expect us to win a tight one in Paris due to the shambles that is the French side. However if we were to lose in Paris then there will be serious questions asked of the selection policy and rightly so.

POM will come back in and that will be the only change to starting lineup bar an injury. Very disappointed not to see Bowe back involved, Trimble is a good solid player and has performed very well in fairness to him but Bowe is world class and has proven himself at the top level time and time again. Zebo hasnt a hope of being involved.

Schmidt has gone with the policy of a player retaining his spot when performing well, which Trimble has done. But i have the feeling we should be going to Paris with our best players, no matter which France turns up it will be difficult for us due to the weight of history alone.

We came up short in Twickenham with this policy. I expect us to win a tight one in Paris due to the shambles that is the French side. However if we were to lose in Paris then there will be serious questions asked of the selection policy and rightly so.

The thing about Bowe is that although he's been brilliant for Ireland, he's probably not been back long enough to get up to the speed the rest of the squad are at. He's been given as much time as possible but obviously from Joe's point of view he's not quite there yet.

It's a pity, but Schmidt never had a problem dropping someone for a better alternative. There's no emotion about his selections, it's purely business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Do you include POM in that chupacabra? I think he has to come back in based on previous tournament form.

Well yes, I consider POM to be part of the undroppable list.
    Otacon wrote: »
    Indeed, but suggesting the team could not be improved is equally insane.

TBH I don't think we will see any change besides POM coming in.

Maybe, maybe not. It depends on how we approach France tactically. In my opinion this is the best 23 we have right now against this French team. I would have started Zebo/Bowe against Italy.

How would you improve the current team?

Obviously it would depend on how training went and so on, but introducing Bowe would improve the team IMO.

rrpc wrote: »
    The thing about Bowe is that although he's been brilliant for Ireland, he's probably not been back long enough to get up to the speed the rest of the squad are at. He's been given as much time as possible but obviously from Joe's point of view he's not quite there yet.

It's a pity, but Schmidt never had a problem dropping someone for a better alternative. There's no emotion about his selections, it's purely business.

I agree with you, Schmidt has been consistent, and if we had beaten England i would have full trust in this policy. However i feel one of the reasons we lost against England was the selection of the bench, we just didnt have a creative impact available.

I think this game will be different in that it will be our structure that will win us the game, not our creativity, but Bowe is an exceptional player and i would have him in. It would be harsh on Trimble but as you say, emotion should be left out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Otacon wrote: »
    Obviously it would depend on how training went and so on, but introducing Bowe would improve the team IMO.

But would it? He could only manage 40 minutes in a low intensity Rabo game, he has played precisely 0 minutes since that, why would he last any longer in a championship deciding international match?

Not only would there be a huge risk of him aggravating the injury and having to come off early, he surely isn't fit enough to last 80 minutes, or at the very least he couldn't play 80 minutes at his top level. Throw in the fact DK and Trimble are in good form, know the system inside out and are at their peak in terms of match sharpness, I personally wouldn't be bringing Bowe in if I was in charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Well Bowe is playing for Ulster this weekend so he won't be playing. He probably hasn't played enough rugby anyway to be playing in the championship decider.

Tox56 wrote: »
    But would it? He could only manage 40 minutes in a low intensity Rabo game, he has played precisely 0 minutes since that, why would he last any longer in a championship deciding international match?

Not only would there be a huge risk of him aggravating the injury and having to come off early, he surely isn't fit enough to last 80 minutes, or at the very least he couldn't play 80 minutes at his top level. Throw in the fact DK and Trimble are in good form, know the system inside out and are at their peak in terms of match sharpness, I personally wouldn't be bringing Bowe in if I was in charge.

As I said, it would depend on how training and fitness tests went but I think an Irish team with Bowe included is far better than one without.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

I was never a fan of Trimble but have to say he looks so fit and strong.
    He is asked to do a hell of a lot of work in this 6N.
    I would certainly retain him over Bowe for Paris.

When you look at the players not involved for various reasons : SOB, Donnacha Ryan, Earls, Zebo, Luke Fitz, Bowe......... it would be some feat to go there and win the Championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Burgo wrote: »
    According to Kinsella PSA announced his team;
    Vincent Debaty, Thomas Domingo, Guilhem Guirado, Brice Mach, Dimitri Szarzewski, Nicolas Mas, Rabah Slimani, Alexandre Flanquart, Yoann Maestri, Pascal Papé, Sébastien Vahaamahina, Virgil Bruni, Alexandre Lapandry, Wenceslas Lauret, Bernard Le Roux, Damien Chouly, Louis Picamoles, Jean-Marc Doussain, Maxime Machenaud, Jules Plisson, Rémi Talès, Mathieu Bastareaud, Gaël Fickou, Rémi Lamerat, Maxime Mermoz, Yoann Huget, Marc Andreu, Maxime Médard, Hugo Bonneval, Brice Dulin.

No Parra or Trinh-Duc.

That's confirmed alright

http://www.thescore.ie/france-squad-ireland-six-nations-1354055-Mar2014/

Delighted Parra and Trinh-Duc are left out, in particular Parra. I feel he really could have got them going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Chief87

It will be the same team with POM back in I would say. Ryan, SOB, Earls, Fitz, Bowe were injured coming into the championship so he picked with who has been able to train and is fit.

With a full deck we will have a very good team. I think he will obviously mix things up in the summer and then next season will probably depend on how everyone is playing at the time so could see a fairly different looking team then.

Yoann Maestri is France's version of Dylan Hartley, normally an excellent rugby player but has a temper and can be indisciplined. He is needed in that side though IMO as he wears his heart on his sleeve and is a player for the trench warfare (or a "guerrier" as the French would say). POM will have fun! :D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

It is so promising for the Irish team when you see how well we've done so far this tournament with all the big names out injured etc. Very very happy with how things could be shaping up for the next 12 -24 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

Italy WILL beat England, of this there is no doubt.

That means that "all" France have to do is beat us.

That wont matter though.

Ireland will crush France like we crushed Wales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,064 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Yoann Maestri is France's version of Dylan Hartley, normally an excellent rugby player but has a temper and can be indisciplined. He is needed in that side though IMO as he wears his heart on his sleeve and is a player for the trench warfare (or a "guerrier" as the French would say). POM will have fun! :D

Sure isn't ''guerrier'' a fairly common word in Ireland too! :P

But yeah you're dead right about his temper.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

andrewdcs wrote: »

I'll take that bet and go 1 million dollars that England won't be beaten next Saturday. I can send you my paypal details

Even with a fresh Parisse and/or Zanni I can't see Italy beating England. England's defence is just too strong and at the very least Farrell will keep the scoreboard ticking over. I can see Danny Care having a field day tbh and the England pack dominating. I'm not sure about Castro's scrimmaging but he is Italy's top all time try scorer (within the current squad - one more try than Parisse I think) so his loose play is invaluable.

That means that "all" France have to do is beat us.

That wont matter though.

Ireland will crush France like we crushed Wales.

You're not a booky by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

You're not a booky by any chance?

I'd be a very very broke one. ;)

Could not offer any coherent rationale.
    I just have a wierd gut feeling that there is an upset in England this tournament, in terms of a bad day at the office.

Happened to us last year, happened to France, and Wales and Scotland. why not.

It happened to us last year but the writing was on the wall. England and Ireland are probably the best teams in the tournament this year, neither should be losing to Italy, home or away.

I eluded to it last week prior to the England - Wales game; an England victory would work in our favour, of any kind really. If Italy were to pull one out of the bag this weekend the French side and crowd would take a huge amount of confidence - obviously. And wouldn't it be awfully French of them to pull a performance out from somewhere?!
    In the more likely event of an England win, as we all know, means France need scores and lots of them. This, in turn, means opting for a lineout instead of a punt at goal, spreading it thru the hands perhaps a little premature. That surely must work to our advantage. Furthermore as the second half comes around and France are still in the hunt for 30-40 unanswered points they could well let frustration get the best of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Chief87

If we lose this game then the championship will look pretty average with us just winning our home games...2 of which are against the weaker teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,849 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Chief87 wrote: »
    If we lose this game then the championship will look pretty average with us just winning our home games...2 of which are against the weaker teams.

That was the aim from the outset though, anything more is an absolute bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

If there's one (small) thing that worries me about our gameplan, it's that we seem to have a deliberate ploy to challenge the high kicks in the air (maybe winning, if not then perhaps force a messy tap down etc.) rather than allowing the defender to catch then tackling him. It works great when it works, but it's a high risk gameplan. If the defender takes it then he's away - it cost us a couple of times against England. If any team would punish us like that, it's France.

Pudsy33 wrote: »

true on paper beforehand, but given the form of Wales and France we should be aiming to win 4 just like England, who arguably should be on for GS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Not many teams win comfortably in France. Since we last played there and drew they've

walloped Australia, Argentina, Tonga, and Italy (all by over 15pts)
    beaten Samoa, Scotland, and England
    narrowly lost to England (by 2)
    and been beaten by Wales (by 10), NZ (by 7), and SA (by 9)

I'd be very very happy with just a win of any kind.

I wonder what a formal statistical analysis would look like. They would appear to be the most inconsistent team in top international rugby esp. in the difference between home and away performances. Most good teams are appreciably better at home, but not by this much.

They'll be up for this game and they've already beaten England. A win by any margin will be huge for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,935 ✭✭✭✭bilston

It would still be a disappointment, not a failure, but given the opportunity we have it would be disappointing.

Some of the comments on the rugbyrama.fr article about the Italy game would make you blush:

"Well done Ireland, what a rugby nation! Be proud of your colours... and your players, real warriors, real conquerors... Hat's off [to you] gentlemen!"

"...and who know how to play rugby, the Blues can go take lessons for the movement of the ball, the variety of attacks and support runners.. .it is the funny side, and when I think that we think ours is the best Championship in the world, what a laugh!"

"I'll be in the SDF to push behind the EDF, but to APPLAUD Mr O Driscoll... also"

"I would like to be in the SDF to support Ireland!"

"Some articles stressed before the start of the tournament, about the ageing of the Ireland team; well, since the beginning of the competition, the Green Devils have never looked better since 2009, the year of their last grand slam! Alumni at their best level, and above all, young people who promise under the guidance of Schmidt! Moreover, without their game stolen from Twickenham, they would come to Paris for a third grand slam! For the apotheosis of their careers (I think especially in BOD), I wish them to succeed in this challenge!"

I think I'd better stop now :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,849 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Green Devils :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

Green Devils :D

Sounds like a translation to me.

"les diables verts"

Can't really translate that any other way ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭aaronosiochain

Have to agree with most of the posters on here, neither Kearney or Trimble will be dropped. If it was going to happen it would have been for the Italy game (zebo in for andrew) where a player like Z would have had a field day in attacking rugby.

One inclusion I would have is D.Ryan in on the bench. He would make a great 60min sub in a match that will be fought right to the end.

Ireland 22 France 17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

rrpc wrote: »
    "les diables verts"

Can't really translate that any other way ;)

Green menace maybe? Nice to see the comments.

Teferi wrote: »
    Green menace maybe? Nice to see the comments.

Comments are unbelievable. One guy wanted to know why he wouldn't play another year for Leinster, Ireland and above all for rugby :)

If we think we're OTT...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,920 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

A lot of rugbyrama commenters fall into that most annoying category of 'fan' who will claim to support other nations when things start to go wrong for them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

what is it about paris that irish teams seem to freeze??

is it the partisan atmosphere? in which the opposition support is completely drowned out?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

philstar wrote: »

is it the partisan atmosphere? in which the opposition support is completely drowned out?

More that the opposition is very good and stop us from winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

CatFromHue wrote: »
    More that the opposition is very good and stop us from winning.

This. And 2 years ago when they weren't very good we were no better.

Does anyone remember genuinely believing we were the better team going over there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

philstar wrote: »

Generally better sides and they have more of a culture of winning internationally. They're a bent ref from having a world cup and joining England as the only NH sides to have one. Always surprises me that England did it before the French actually...

Our players are often well used to going to France to play (and win) big European games. They can handle atmosphere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

I was in Parc de Princes twice (1982 and 1992). I felt mocked both times like they were playing with us. Vowed never to go back.

I did feel in 2006/2008 that we were going to give them a right good go because we had a decent team but we lost both. 2006 was a classic but again I felt they were toying with us.