Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the biggest pub in Dublin ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,330 ✭✭✭Bandana boy

Jumboman wrote: »
    Does that pub operate outside the law ?

in a word ,yes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

in a word ,yes

Isnt that pub right beside a Garda station ? I cant see how they would get away with doing **** like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭uch

Isnt that pub right beside a Garda station ? I cant see how they would get away with doing **** like that.

Go in and Have a Look some day, then you'll understand

21/25

• Registered Users Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Did you come down in the last shower? People get away with doing **** like that everyday of the week.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,656 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Thats weird. What would of stopped people bringing in their own cans and saying they bought them in the pub ?

Some people do try to sneak a few cans in when they're allowed, I remember being in the Windjammer just off Pearse St a few years back at closing. They sell (at least then) cans of Tennants and the table next to us was packed with empty cans of Tennants that'd they'd bought at the bar. But when closing time came and the bar staff stopped serving a few of them were dragging cans of Tennants out of their bags and just cracking them right open. To be honest I'd say the owner Rory there knows it goes on but so long as they'd spent a good bit throughout the night he'd let it slide.
    Another thing is with these type of pubs in working class areas is that most people would be mortified to get barred because their whole family and extended families plus friends and hangers on all drink in the same local boozer. So while they might fall around the place locked drunk on a Friday night they'd also be conscious of stepping out of line as the pub is their primary social outlet. I've worked as a batman in pubs in some pretty rough areas in the past and while you do have to deal with the odd unsavoury character by and large the regulars are sound out and are always on your side, they'll even point out people who are barred and put you wise to them. They see it as their pub as much as the owner does and the regulars don't want any hassle where they drink, they just want a bit of craic and a few pints.

The Garda station moved away from the Towers about 8 or 9 years back. It is now further down the road towards town. But you're right- the Garda station was next door for years. I remember that station looked like a bunker, it had 3 meter high barricading all the way around the perimeter and looked like a fortress to be defended. But my guess is that the owners of the Towers at the time ran a clean shop- if there was no hassle arising from people they served then the guards won't give them hassle. So I guess they just got to know which customers to avoid and made sure there was little or no trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

in a word ,yes

If you're going to make an accusation like that, I recommend you do so to the Guards, not on Boards.

Move on folks

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

the owner of the towers use to have to get a garda escort to the bank. got held up a load of times before deciding be cheaper to pay for the garda escort then getting robbed

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,098 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Nice guy he is. Told me about the day the builder came in and offered him the money for it. He had to be out in 3 weeks. He rang him then 2 years later, and asked him if he wanted to lease it back off him. Not a hope was the reply. Poor fellow buried his wife last week. OT I know, where's another big pub guys?