Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dangerous Dogs documentary

• 16-03-2014 7:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭

'Dangerous Dogs' documentary on Thursday at 9pm on ITV (and presumable UTV), 2 part doc following some dog wardens in the UK

Also tomorrow at 2pm on ITV again, Auf Wiedersehen My Pet, a 20 parter about pet owners 'making the heartbreaking decision to give their pet up', from dogs to horses, cats, guinea pigs etc.

That's the TV report for the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭mosi

I watched 'Dangerous Dogs'. It was tough viewing, and quite upsetting to watch. It was refreshing though to see the focus being shifted onto the owners, given the usual devil dog take that the media has on the issue. The owners featured were just vile. The man with the pups in the flat was awful...he neither knew nor cared how to look after them, it was heartbreaking. Then the woman who wasn't bothered to fence her garden and who also let a dog have pups by a male from a previous litter. As a programme, it would make you despair, knowing all the cases featured are just a drop in the ocean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

mosi wrote: »
    I watched 'Dangerous Dogs'. It was tough viewing, and quite upsetting to watch. It was refreshing though to see the focus being shifted onto the owners, given the usual devil dog take that the media has on the issue. The owners featured were just vile. The man with the pups in the flat was awful...he neither knew nor cared how to look after them, it was heartbreaking. Then the woman who wasn't bothered to fence her garden and who also let a dog have pups by a male from a previous litter. As a programme, it would make you despair, knowing all the cases featured are just a drop in the ocean.

You know what, after posting it was on I just couldn't face watching it, I have to be in the right mood for those sort of programmes and I just wasn't last night, I knew it would p!ss me off and upset me, sounds like I was right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

Aye I don't understand why those dogs and pups were left with that man in the tower block when it blatently obvious he was an alcoholic who could barely steady himself to shuffle round and was unaware of how many dogs he had.

On a more positive note it was lovely to see how that Akita was saved and after the horrendous conditions it was in it could be rehabilitated and rehomed in such a short period of time.

Have to say I was shouting at the screen though and gave my furry babies an extra cuddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭muddypaws

A response from the UK National Dog Warden Association to last night's programme -

http://www.ndwa.co.uk/dogwarden-news-events/news/?news-id=101

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭mosi

muddypaws wrote: »
    A response from the UK National Dog Warden Association to last night's programme -

http://www.ndwa.co.uk/dogwarden-news-events/news/?news-id=101

Yeah, the handling techniques of the wardens featured was bloody terrible. Was there any need to choke that Akita? Also, there was a lot of screaming and shouting which exacerbated the situation. I noticed at one point the warden asking the neighbours if they had any meat...surely a warden should have food/treats with them to try, if appropriate. The other guy feeding the two Ridgebacks together seemed like an idiot too.
    Still, you just have to look at some of the statements from wardens here to know that they often have a poor knowledge of dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

I cringed when he put the one bowl between the 2 starving ridge backs. Could have ended a lot worse than it did!

I was screaming at the TV at that bit. Couldn;t believe it. Reckon it was done for the camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

I just watched it on the player, it really upset me when the pair of eejits were sent out to the poor akita, shouting at it and laughing at the state of the house. And then dragging it out like that, absolutely shameful. I agree, they should have some kind of lure treats, and not even a bowl of water for the poor dog in their possession.

And why couldn't she seize the pups from that man who was clearly incapable of taking care of himself, let alone his dogs. And then letting them go at 4 weeks old?

Completely agree about the RRs too, while they might have been attached to each other, they absolutely should have been fed separately. 2 starving dogs fed from the one bowl? Madness.

Jaysus I can't help but watch this programme even though I'm shouting at the TV and its giving me fecking rage. Dog wardens seriously need to be given more teeth to remove dogs from cruel situations. Especially from that awful house where they are not getting walked and are just breeding pups. And shes hoarding animals. Gah!!!!!

Sorry but I'm posting again cos I have rage, they are taking gorgeous well looked after and socialised dogs away and leaving others in those horrid situations. The law really is an ass!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,045 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Just flicking thru the channels and saw a dog being pts and then put into a plastic bag :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Tranceypoo

tk123 wrote: »
    Just flicking thru the channels and saw a dog being pts and then put into a plastic bag :(

Oh Christ, so glad I didn't watch...