Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Full refurb of two bed terraced house in Cork

Options
  • 17-03-2014 7:13pm
    Registered Users Posts: 764 ✭✭✭

Hello All,

I'm a FTB and a complete novice at all things construction but I am considering making an offer on a terraced house that needs complete renovation. I am getting a builder to come and look at the house with me but I'm wondering if I am in total cloud cuckoo land re budget. Budget is probably around €90k.

Existing house: 3 bed, circa 800 sq. ft., no existing bathroom plumbing, block on flat construction (whatever that means). adjacent to Cork city centre. Has been underpinned. Currently under offer €85k

Needs:
    • Remove internal structure and create 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom upstairs
    • (including skips/remove debris)
    • Remove narrow staircase and replace
    • Extend existing kitchen & put in new fitted kitchen
    • Insulate
    • Rewire
    • New windows & doors
    • Install heating (gas fired or underfloor perhaps)
    • Reroof (maybe)

Including finish (tiling, painting, internal doors, skirting etc) but excluding furniture would 90k be a reasonable budget or have I not provided enough detail?

Realistically I can't do any of it myself also would need someone to manage the build. Who should I talk to architect/QS/builder?
    I want it to be a fairly bog standard house but good BER. Basic finish kitchen/bathroom etc.

I'd be grateful for any opinions
    Kaz

Comments

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 10,140 Mod ✭✭✭✭BryanF