Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United vs Olympiakos Match Thread 19/3/2014 k/o 19.45.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Would be fun to see this go to penalties but Utd will score again imo. Olympiacos aren't great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Moyes did the Vince McMahon power walk off the pitch there.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Utd look a lot better with the two banks of four.

as I predicted space is at a premium for Olympiakos.

If utd can shore up their attack from down the left then this will easily be a 4 or 5 nil.

real back to basis performance which should take the pressure off Moyes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,058 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

article-2582708-1C5822F200000578-953_634x337.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Both teams are playing badly, but we've had two moments of good play we've capitalised on, and managed to negate their two moments as well.

De Gea is fantastic. Giggs, despite the assist, has been poor at times, but so have most of the team. But we're lucky that the Greeks are all shades of useless and nerves right now.

They'll probably come all at us now though; they've lost their advantage and need to come at us. Has been a fun game.

But how oh how is Valencia still on the field :S Poor Kags can't even get a game over a guy who is nearly blind in one eye.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Hopefully Moyes wasn't rushing to get in and put up the negative tactics on the board.

Hopefully they will maintain the tempo in the second half,get out and try and finish them off to fu*k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Are people saying Giggs is playing well?? Ah leave it out lads he is having a shocker!!

not everything came off for him, but had some assured times at times they were needed, not to mention the three quality balls he played which led to the two goals and our other best chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Give over he is so off the pace its not even funny, ive seen milk turn quicker. Imagine him in there against the likes of Bayerns or Barcas midfield.

Yeah he hasn't been instrumental in both goals. Nope. You stick to your guns. Takes a strong man to deny that which is right in front of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Cum on feel the Moyes!

amazing...how does this not have more likes

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

murpho999 wrote: »
    No, but celebrating an equaliser as if he's just found a cure for HIV makes him look small time.

Not being in the CL to begin with is small time

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

THFC wrote: »
    Best half of (televised) knock-out CL football since 1st half of Arsenal - Bayern. Hope the second half continues in the same fashion. United need 4 goals imo, defence can't be relied upon.

Great match for the neutral.

As said earlier, the pace of it has been good and it's been competitive between two relatively evenly matched teams. Man Utd have more individual quality and that's telling now. However the quality of football has been average, bordering on poor and not up to the quality of the real European heavyweights that we've seen previous nights.

No, but celebrating an equaliser as if he's just found a cure for HIV makes him look small time.

By your logic should every coach just make a small fist pump and get back on with things? His celebrations are no more animated than any other coach, you're just nitpicking and you know it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

He is almost celebrating like a man who's job is on the line if they don't go through.... oh wait. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

The second half should be treated just as the first half was. The first half goals were just a bonus. Our aim should be to beat them by as much as possible because if this season has taught us anything, they will score from a corner or a triple deflection in the 93rd minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Penos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

As said earlier, the pace of it has been good and it's been competitive between two relatively evenly matched teams. Man Utd have more individual quality and that's telling now. However the quality of football has been average, bordering on poor and not up to the quality of the real European heavyweights that we've seen previous nights.

I'm obviously not judging it on the quality. All (televised) ties up until now were over after 90 mins, 45 mins in some cases. We finally have a perfectly poised tie 3/4 into the tie. Give me this any day over the previous 3 ties concerning English teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sh__93

Some of the play especially the passing from both teams has been so sloppy but it's still made for good watching.

The pen Holebas gave away reminded me of the one Jones gave away against us at the weekend. Just stupid.

Obviously, as a Liverpool fan I don't want United to go through but it's hard to see otherwise from that first half.

Come on Olympiacos!

ouch
    BjHherdIYAAxRDb.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Still a better option than Kagawa though....apparently...

Tbh Giggs' selection has been justified with the passing. You need another player to defend. Carrick (While playing awful) is there to do that mostly. Kags is ****e at defending.

EDIT: Just realised I commented on wrong thread :P Thought we were talking about how bad Carrick is. Disregard above.

Believe!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I'm not watching the game but Jaysus, that eye on Val looks brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Fair play.

They needed two in the first half and got them.

They'll walk the second half and I'm not trying reverse psychology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,548 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Timmyctc wrote: »
    By your logic should every coach just make a small fist pump and get back on with things? His celebrations are no more animated than any other coach, you're just nitpicking and you know it.

He's doing more than a fist pump.

He did this against Fulham.

10yYfSv.gif
    Are you saying it didn''t look bad when you look back at the result

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

A manager celebrating when his team scores?

Well I never..

10yYfSv.gif

I never said he didnt do more than a fist pump. I'm saying is that what you want managers to do? Yeah looking back it looks bad but in hindsight any celebration looks stupid when you know the ****ing full time result. Its pointless nitpicking. Its not like theres LOADDDS of proper ammo you can use no point making up stuff so you have sticks to beat him with.

3-0 rvp hattrick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

RVP on fire!

• Registered Users Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Ed The Equalizer

Boom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭ician

WHATTTTTTT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nolars

go on the RvP

• Registered Users Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kaizersoze81

What a goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,208 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

RVP hattrick hero!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Ohhhh Robin van Persie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

BNMC wrote: »
    A manager celebrating when his team scores?

Well I never..

We missed you on Sunday. Where were you.

Beautiful.

Oh no, Moyes celebrated that. Murpho999999999999999999999999999999 will not be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Lol at the keeper!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Shocking keeping. Any decent keeper would save that.

how dare you celebrate david moyes

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Nicely hit, but poor keeping, should have that covered

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nolars

Defen now for 40 minutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Moyes was celebrating by clapping his hands.. Small time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

LOL at Roberto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

niallo27 wrote: »
    We missed you on Sunday. Where were you.

14 pint hangover .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

RVP once again getting the Bord Bia quality mark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Get Valencia off. Rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

We have to keep going now and get 4 or 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,592 ✭✭✭brevity

Dumb dumb dumb. Valencia would tear your hair out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

Ref not booking Val because of eye or what?? :D:D

14 pint hangover .
    Had 20 cups of Carling myself.

Dying I was.