Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What is the worst thing YOU have done in work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

bear1 wrote: »
    If you have Outlook, then you can recall a message in the following way:

1) Go to the sent email
    2) double click the email so that it opens fully
    3) Go to "ACTIONS"
    4) There is a section called "RECALL THIS MESSAGE"
    5) Click it
    6) It will then ask if you it to delete the emails which others have received.
    7) Click OK.

Now, this will only work if the other person has not read the email.
    If they haven't read it, you will receive an email advising you it was successfully recalled.
    If they have, you will get an email but it will say it was impossible to recall.
    Hope this helps.

This is one of the most amazing things I've ever heard. Don't know why no one ever told me! I'm sure I won't use it oftern (or at all) but comforting to know it's there!

Thanks bear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,825 ✭✭✭✭bear1

This is one of the most amazing things I've ever heard. Don't know why no one ever told me! I'm sure I won't use it oftern (or at all) but comforting to know it's there!

Thanks bear

No problem :)
    But you should test it first with someone who has Outlook as well.
    Send a test email and then recall it and see if it goes well.
    Thats what I did first when I found out about it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Don't forget if you send a recall message it almost guarantees that the person will actually read the original email!!

razorblunt wrote: »
    Don't forget if you send a recall message it almost guarantees that the person will actually read the original email!!

They can't if you sent the recall before they read it ... I tested it with a colleague the other day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

bluewolf wrote: »
    They can't if you sent the recall before they read it ... I tested it with a colleague the other day

I've managed to spot a recall mail and just about had time to click into the original mail. I was hoping it would be something juicy. Alas no. Someone had put an incorrect meeting time in the original mail. You've a window of about 3 seconds if you're the nosey type! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

A friend worked for a company that were asked to do a feasablty study on an installation for a client, the payback time was estimated at 70yrs, when my friend typed up the final report she figered it was a mistake and changed it to 7yrs. on this advice they decided to procede on a €30million contract, until the error was spotted some weeks later.

I'm assuming she was definitely fired?
    I always wonder in these cases where an employee has lost the company a fortune if they are fired and that's it or does the company try and get some money back from you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,968 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

I dont think its all that easy for a boss to just say "YOU'RE FIRED!" these days or like you see on American tv, you need to get warnings and there will be a disciplinary procedure to follow etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭cat_dog

I stole stationary (doesn't everyone?!). Thats about it.

bluewolf wrote: »

Ah I had assumed it was if you opened the recall email first. Reminds me of a certain timeline:

1. Guy sends chain email to all employees (talking close to 5 figures)
    2. Sends recall
    3. Email from HR sent to all managers notifying them of an employee departure (standard email for all leavers sent to any manager)

All in the space of something like 25 mins. That was a bad Friday for that guy!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 272 ✭✭asteroth

Set a fridge load of cheese destined for McDonalds in Holland at +19C instead of -19C and blamed it on the driver. (By rights, he should have checked it) By all accounts there was a sea of cheesy sludge all along the A66 in England.

That's not the worse thing I've ever done, but the worst I'm admitting to here at lunchtime on a sober Tuesday.

-19C ??

Why would anyone need cheese frozen to ice?

I was given 'paid' garden leave this one time. Gosh, I sound like a liability! Lol

I was escorted off the premises.

Thargor wrote: »
    I dont think its all that easy for a boss to just say "YOU'RE FIRED!" these days or like you see on American tv, you need to get warnings and there will be a disciplinary procedure to follow etc.

Gross misconduct would get the instant one alright I'd imagine, behavioural or ineptitude may have to go do the warning and training route though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

There have been a few:
    • I deleted the entire contents of a server that had no backup schedule by forgetting a period - rm -rf / is not hte same as rm -rf ./
    • In January 2012 I took down this site for about four hours by updating a library it uses that turned out to be bugged.
    • Last year Boards implemented an inline-page loading on touch and there was a really obscure, non-reproduceable javascript bug that meant roughly 20% of people would get an infinite loading icon. Took about two weeks to figure it out and that was a pretty awful time. Suppose I didn't specifically have much to do with it though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

asteroth wrote: »
    -19C ??

Why would anyone need cheese frozen to ice?
    So they could thaw it out when they were going to use it.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

sopretty wrote: »
    I was given 'paid' garden leave this one time. Gosh, I sound like a liability! Lol

I was escorted off the premises.

Depends on the Industry, thats not a terriable thing. Usually happens when your going to work for a Direct competitor.

That wasn't quite the situation lol....

I was leaving anyway, but my 'goodbye' email didn't impress either my boss or HR.

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

razorblunt wrote: »
    Gross misconduct would get the instant one alright I'd imagine, behavioural or ineptitude may have to go do the warning and training route though.

Like a former colleague of mine who was discovered selling drugs in a nightclub toilet on a works night out. Gross misconduct and gone straight away.

A former flatmate had a colleague who was sacked for gross misconduct after he'd got into a punch up on a company night out with someone he'd known in college and hated the sight of. The pub got thrashed as well and the company got banned from there for good. A manager who tried to break it up got punched in the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

I was in a sales job as a manager and on my last day I gave everyone on my team a long time out....i took them all off in a 7 seater and went hill walking then dropped them all home. Sound bunch of lads...bosses only found out years later when I popped in for an ould chat one day.

padma wrote: »
    I was in a sales job as a manager and on my last day I gave everyone on my team a long time out....i took them all off in a 7 seater and went hill walking then dropped them all home. Sound bunch of lads...bosses only found out years later when I popped in for an ould chat one day.

Were they not raging that you didn't bring them to the pub? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

Were they not raging that you didn't bring them to the pub? :eek:

I never asked they seemed happy with it, plus it was a midweek early afternoon. I looked upon it as a last team building exercise...

padma wrote: »
    I never asked they seemed happy with it, plus it was a midweek early afternoon. I looked upon it as a last team building exercise...

I suppose anything is better than work! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭Dartz

Most of my screwups are caused by me being afraid to screwup in another way...

Anxiety can be a bitch

Most of them are petty anyway in hindsight, but the fact that I'm a social retard doesn't help.

Dartz wrote: »
    Most of my screwups are caused by me being afraid to screwup in another way...

Anxiety can be a bitch

Most of them are petty anyway in hindsight, but the fact that I'm a social retard doesn't help.

Lol

Yes, the fear of f**ping up is a wee bit of a disaster for the old anxiety. Entering the extra digit that one time made me paranoid about entering figures into anything binding. Sweet Jebus I'd have to check and check and check until I was seeing zeros in my dreams at the end! :D

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,927 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I once sent off an international funds transfer request form with a decimal point in the wrong place, changing the amount from 75k to 750k. Luckily at the time these transfers were still faxed up to a department and put through from there, so as soon as I saw the fax confirmation and realised what I had done, I rang them and got them to pull the request before they wired the money. I actually nearly shat myself when I read the fax copy. Even thinking about it now gives me the heebie jeebies and this was about 10 years ago.

In one of my old jobs I worked in a diy store with a garden centre. Towards the end of my time there was starting to lose the will to live, the job was crap and a lot of the nice people who worked there had either left or gotten transferred. Anyhoo there was this section down the back where the indoor plants were, and they had a load of those trestle table/ bench things with the fancy plants displayed on them and then more plants on the floor in front of the benches. I spent a good portion of my day hiding under the benches behind all the plants playing my game boy, even managed to get in a few naps. Good times.

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭thefishone

Remenber, if you **** up at work, don't panic and keep quiet, cause give it a week and someone esle will have ****ed up more and the attention moves away from you :o

Lol

Yes, the fear of f**ping up is a wee bit of a disaster for the old anxiety. Entering the extra digit that one time made me paranoid about entering figures into anything binding. Sweet Jebus I'd have to check and check and check until I was seeing zeros in my dreams at the end! :D

Been there.

It's hideous. There is something definitely wrong somewhere in the back of my head sometimes because I can't put my finger on what it us...

thefishone wrote: »
    Remenber, if you **** up at work, don't panic and keep quiet, cause give it a week and someone esle will have ****ed up more and the attention moves away from you :o

Doesn't work when there're only two other people in the office....

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭Mr Burny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,942 ✭✭✭growleaves

I used to work on Motorways as a project manager.

Some days if I was near home I would head away and do all my calls at home. I was earning 60 euro an hour at the time and would be at home watching TV taking around a call and hour, then head back to see the office lads and head home.

Ah I miss 2006 !!!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,901 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Allowing myself to be relentlessly bullied by my new boss to the point of being suicidal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Putting up with an obnoxious prick for over eleven years. When I think back on it I really did have the patience of Job to put up with all his nastiness for so long. Nowadays I'm in a different department, just one floor up from where I used to work with him. I blank him now any time I see him.

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭Durag

Not really 'in' work but I once went on an almighty bender and called in sick the next day. Hadnt slept at all, continued drinking all day, left the pub in a bad way in the middle of the day, guards were called, I was arrested and thrown in cells. Had to appear in court, received a large fine and a conviction. The local newspaper happened to be there, printed the case in the paper and noted the date which was the date I called in sick. Boss seen it and the rest is history. G'luck job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭eggy81

Wasn’t a million miles from burning down the library in Ucd back in around 2007 ish. Lucky escape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

doing other peoples work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭onrail

I once spent €808,000 on a printer that couldn't fit in the door of the printing room.

The boss promoted me and increased my bonus that year. My next job was to manage the development of a children's hospital....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Samuri Suicide

Oh how after hours/boards has fallen since the update

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

• Registered Users Posts: 689 ✭✭✭BettyS

It is hard to find topics now. And it doesn’t list the topics chronologically

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Burt Renaults

Posted in 2014. Wonder where he is now. Either in jail or signing on regularly in his local Garda station, I should think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭onrail

• Registered Users Posts: 4,489 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Not work, but back in the late 80's I was volunteering at a Christmas party in a nursing home (State owned), when I was 14 or 15. There were two buckets of punch; one alcoholic, one non-alcoholic. I was wheeling these around and doling them out in paper cups to the residents who were bed ridden. There were two different coloured stickers on the beds and one crowd were supposed not to get alcohol under any circumstances. Sometimes to do with medication, some had dementia, some were life long Pioneers (Teetotalers).

Dozy bollix that I was at 14, I wasn't paying attention to what the nurse said and I got the colours mixed up.

I was going around with some idiot in his 50's from the local Rotary Club, he was also Captain of the local Golf Club and an all round egositical tosser. He did nothing, just shook hands, I did all the work.

20 minutes in and the first people started to get sick, or go mad. One of the nurses copped what was up and came after me. (The residents who were allowed to drink alcohol were also complaining that their punch was crap as there was no alcohol in it). There was uproar, I was getting berated by the tosser from the Rotary Club until one of the nurses told him that he should have been paying attention and then they started to blame him. I was told to go home.

I'll never forget walking back through the wards, the smell of vomit and people roaring at each other after a few mouthfuls of alcohol. never heard anything about it after that, but I never forgot it either.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭Lil Fred

• Registered Users Posts: 35 truthseekerxz

I often call into the office at night to poo or rouse my own toilet paper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭pgj2015

I deleted emails I was supposed to open and answer. let the wind blow away files one time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Took cocaine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Oh actually when I was 18 years old, I worked at a café.

One day while I was mopping the floor, one of the plugs from the rice cooker fell fully into the mop bucket, submerged fully in the water.

I was terrified of getting into trouble, so I didn't say anything, and the next morning I watched the woman who worked with me, take the plug and put it in the wall as normal and she got a huge shock...

Awful I know!

Wtf