Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reserve Defence Forces Recruitment 2015 **Update!**

• Registered Users Posts: 38 .300 WinMag

Will RDF ever get deployment roles such as the British army reserve do with both army and navy

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

Maybe, sometime years down the road, if only in a specialised role but still more possible now, after most recent whitepaper, than it was ten years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 SoniQ

Just sent in my application.
    All I got back was an email, does anyone know when we'll be contacted for the next stage of the process.
    Also the guy above who asked about his conviction got me wondering, I got a caution at 14 for something minor, would this effect my chances?

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭TheFatHombre

Done my fitness test today in Cathal Brugha barracks, handy enough there was only two of us they wore expecting 120 as far as i know, stage two is psychometric test, did anyone else attend Cathal Brugha and if so how did you find it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭Gun_money

There is an event happening as below.
    "C" Company of the 12th Infantry Battalion in Limerick OPEN DAY in Sarsfield Barracks in Limerick on the 1st of November at 11am til 2pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Morpheus wrote: »
    Maybe, sometime years down the road, if only in a specialised role but still more possible now, after most recent whitepaper, than it was ten years ago.

It'll never happen. It's been the talk of the reserves for decades, it's not gonna happen anytime in our lifetime.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

discus wrote: »
    It'll never happen. It's been the talk of the reserves for decades, it's not gonna happen anytime in our lifetime.

This. The last time it was proposed they apparently wanted RDF members to resign from the RDF and join the PDF on some kind of temporary contract for a year.

The problem then and now was that anyone in a key skills area is in a key skills area. This is their job in real life. People were apparently expected to quit their jobs to go off with the PDF with no guarantee of reinstatement.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭emigrate2012

John_D80 wrote: »
    Honestly, IMO don't even waste your time or get your hopes up by applying at all. The DF won't touch you, with a conviction for possession regardless of how long ago it was.

I appreciate the honest answer, but to be truthful, I know 2guys who went into the PDf, both with possession convictions and also assault(relatively recent to the time they applied) . 1has had two tours in the Lebanon , the other went through basic and signed up for a tour then bought himself out of the experience, so to speak.
    Anyone with some constructive comments please let me know. Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

I appreciate the honest answer, but to be truthful, I know 2guys who went into the PDf, both with possession convictions and also assault(relatively recent to the time they applied) . 1has had two tours in the Lebanon , the other went through basic and signed up for a tour then bought himself out of the experience, so to speak.
    Anyone with some constructive comments please let me know. Thanks.

Sorry mate but as someone who genuinely knows what he is talking about, I'm calling massive BS on this one.

So you're saying that one of these guys had a recent conviction for assault as well a seperate recent conviction for possession and still got in the DF? And the other guy has a recent conviction for possession as well? Or is it three different guys you are talking about?

Either way, i'm pretty sure you're telling porkies pal. You might not like hearing some home truths but just because the advice is not what you wanna hear doesn't mean its not constructive.

Anyone applying for the DF is vetted through the gardai and convictions for serious criminal offences (assault, possession etc), especially recent ones, are a major no-no when it comes to getting in.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 mr16as

hows it going, i was just wondering about the reserve recruitment competition atm. I am 18 on 05/11/15 and i am wondering if i could apply now as im afraid i will not make the competition deadline (i rang up the df info office and they said that there has been no deadline set as of yet). On the DF website it mentions that a candidate must be 18 upon enlistment. Does that mean upon application or upon actually becoming a member of RDF? Any information greatly appreciated, thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭donegaldude

mr16as wrote: »
    hows it going, i was just wondering about the reserve recruitment competition atm. I am 18 on 05/11/15 and i am wondering if i could apply now as im afraid i will not make the competition deadline (i rang up the df info office and they said that there has been no deadline set as of yet). On the DF website it mentions that a candidate must be 18 upon enlistment. Does that mean upon application or upon actually becoming a member of RDF? Any information greatly appreciated, thanks!

18 on enlistment, so you're fine. It takes a few months to actually get through the process. Chances are it will be April before ye start training. Go for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭mrmanire

Anyone got going for the RDF in the southern part of the country? Sent my application a month ago and bar the initial email, I've heard nothing...

• Registered Users Posts: 19 mr16as

mrmanire wrote: »
    Anyone got going for the RDF in the southern part of the country? Sent my application a month ago and bar the initial email, I've heard nothing...

I'm the same haven't got anything back!

I believe a lot units are having open days. They may be waiting to see if that ups the applicant numbers before they start running fitness tests etc. That would be my guess anyway....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Demonique

Anybody know how a conviction would impact on my application?
    It's around 4/5 years ago (relatively minor cultivation and possession of cannabis, small amount)
    Any advice /opinions welcome, will be applying just looking for information, cheers.

Seeing as you admitted to stealing thousands of euro from your employer in another thread I hope your pot growing conviction prevents you from being accepted

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭emigrate2012

Demonique wrote: »
    Seeing as you admitted to stealing thousands of euro from your employer in another thread I hope your pot growing conviction prevents you from being accepted

You seem to have purposely gone through my posts to continously bring this up, why I don't know. It's in the thread I answered originally, bringing g it up everywhere is both pointless and sad.
    What an exciting and productive Saturday you seem to have had.

[MOD]Please stick to the topic or face risk of being infracted or banned. Personal arguments should be taken offline. [/MOD]

To the original question, if you have any form of previous conviction it will have a bearing on your application process, nobody here will deny that, also nobody here is making a judgement as we are not part of any interview board, that is up to the military authorities. My advice is to read the joining instructions closely as detailed on www.military.ie and make a decision on whether or not to apply.

if you proceed with your application, you must understand you will be subject to a background check via a garda vetting phase. If you still wish to proceed, armed with all of this knowledge, then the only way to find out will be to go for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 37 PaddyB870

I applied for the RDF in Galway in September and got an email yesterday saying i would have my fitness test AND interview held on the same day just hours apart, is that normal or are they just trying to speed up the process?

PaddyB870 wrote: »
    I applied for the RDF in Galway in September and got an email yesterday saying i would have my fitness test AND interview held on the same day just hours apart, is that normal or are they just trying to speed up the process?

This is the general procedure for Defence Forces recruitment for both RDF and PDF. The fitness test takes place before the interview as meeting fitness standards are a requirement for a successful application to join the RDF.

It must also be noted that the interview will be conducted by RDF officers who are themselves giving of their spare time and thus completing all stages in the same day makes sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 frankyk1996

Does the garda vetting have to clear before I go for my medical and if so how long will it take?? Would really like to know so I know roughly how long I have to wait

Vetting would have to clear first anyway. It can take a few weeks as some applications are prioritised like for teachers and childcare workers etc.

Medicals are usually done with groups attending with medicals at same time you won't necessarily have your medical straight after garda clearance. I'd expect to be waiting until early to mid next year. You won't be on a recruit camp in February or anything!

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭gian

hello everyone i had my first physical test last november and failed its gonna be my second on saturday.. i just want to know how many times can you take re-tests?

gian wrote: »
    hello everyone i had my first physical test last november and failed its gonna be my second on saturday.. i just want to know how many times can you take re-tests?

Most likely as long as there are dates available. You'd probably be better off worrying about passing Saturday rather than having to redo it though!

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭gian

mrmanire wrote: »
    Most likely as long as there are dates available. You'd probably be better off worrying about passing Saturday rather than having to redo it though!

True and thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭scullersky

Can anyone tell me what the best way is to train to be able to do more push ups for the RDF.

Also can anyone advise on what they ask in the Interview ? I have mine coming up

how many can you do?

only way to train is to regularly do pushups daily

4 sets of X pushups with 1 minute between sets
    gradually increase numbers of pushups in each set as the weeks go by

5 days a week do these sets,
    on day 6 instead of doing your daily pushups in sets... go all out and see how many you get in one sitting in one minute observing the correct form and rest position etc.
    then take the day 7 off as a rest and begin cycle again the following week on day 1.
    rinse and repeat

or do what im doing
    http://hundredpushups.com/test.html

• Registered Users Posts: 8 Cobh16

Can anyone tell me if there is any open days coming up in colins barracks ?
    And is there a difference between the pay and time required by the naval reserve and the army reserve ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4 SteveD400

Anybody here still waiting for their Garda clearance? I applied during the 2014 competition and had my fitness test, interview and medical all passed by March last year but I've yet to get an attestation date. I've contacted them several times since and I've just been told they're waiting for my security clearance. I know the clearance process can take a long time but even the Guards have told me that the current waiting period is no more than about 2 months and I sent my vetting form off over a year ago.

thats far too long, you need to look into this more. anyone else any advice on what he can do?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

SteveD400 wrote: »
    Anybody here still waiting for their Garda clearance? I applied during the 2014 competition and had my fitness test, interview and medical all passed by March last year but I've yet to get an attestation date. I've contacted them several times since and I've just been told they're waiting for my security clearance. I know the clearance process can take a long time but even the Guards have told me that the current waiting period is no more than about 2 months and I sent my vetting form off over a year ago.

What barracks did you apply through?