Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2015 brides!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

Mayo Miss wrote: »
    I am not looking forward to dress shopping. I am short with big boobs, a big belly and don't really wear heels. I had lost a decent amount of weight but it all started to pile back on when I started a new job last August. This wedding stress is making me eat more instead of getting back on track so dress shopping is filling me with dread.

I'm the exact same. I went to a place in Kildare that specialises in larger dresses. I know you can order them in bigger sizes in other places but the samples are tiny So I couldn't really see what it would look like, and i wasn't going to order something I couldn't try on properly. It's a bit of a trek but it was so worth it.

I'm picking up the dresses today, and the best man from the airport.. :) IM GETTING MARRIED ON SATURDAY!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

Ohhhhh Best of luck hattoncracker!! I hope it is magical...You will have to come back and let us know all the details

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭kildareash

Best wishes hattoncracker...hope you have a really fabulous day.
    You'll have to update us on how it all went in a couple of weeks when you get a chance

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,658 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

It's only 9.30am and I've paid a deposit for our ceremony singer, re-confirmed with our celebrant and sent a re-confirmation email to another supplier. Tonight, we're going to sit down and look at ceremony format options and talk about ceremony music. Hurrah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭emzolita

Faith wrote: »
    It's only 9.30am and I've paid a deposit for our ceremony singer, re-confirmed with our celebrant and sent a re-confirmation email to another supplier. Tonight, we're going to sit down and look at ceremony format options and talk about ceremony music. Hurrah!

Very productive day. Is it a soloist for your ceremony? Where did you hear of them?
    I'm having a gospel choir, but I sing in the choir, so most of my friends will be at the wedding anyway. we always sing at each others weddings for freebies, thank feck.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭hattoncracker

kildareash wrote: »
    Best wishes hattoncracker...hope you have a really fabulous day.
    You'll have to update us on how it all went in a couple of weeks when you get a chance

This is the first time I've gotten sitting down today and it's only because I'm in the beauticians waiting room. Haha! I've been meaning to spend a lot more time on the thread this week but i haven't had the time!!

ooo I hope you get a bit of pampering and aren't stressing out

emzolita wrote: »
    Very productive day. Is it a soloist for your ceremony? Where did you hear of them?
    I'm having a gospel choir, but I sing in the choir, so most of my friends will be at the wedding anyway. we always sing at each others weddings for freebies, thank feck.

Yeah, she's a singer, harpist and pianist all in one. I saw her recommended on another singer's website. She'll be singing and playing piano at the ceremony (there's a baby grand piano already set up there), and hopefully playing harp at the drinks reception.

Best of luck on Saturday, hattoncracker!

• Registered Users Posts: 268 ✭✭CorkClaire82

Invites written! I'm freaking knackered and my back is roaring at me (my own fault for writing them on the couch) but they are done. Himself is doing his half now.

Hattoncracker have a cracking (see what i did there :P) day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

^ 2nd dress there is absolutely gorgeous :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,677 ✭✭✭✭fits

Ooh i love the third one. I might get a backup for my main dress that would work on hols as well.

Does anyone else feel like they look ten years older in lace? A lot of it doesnt suit me at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Pistachios & cream

If your having a party the day after they could be an option and also as a backup in case of any unfortunate staining!

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

fits wrote: »
    Ooh i love the third one. I might get a backup for my main dress that would work on hols as well.

Does anyone else feel like they look ten years older in lace? A lot of it doesnt suit me at all.

Depends on the lace, I found. I quickly established that lace dresses suited me more than matt ones, so tried on a LOT. Some were downright awful, and as a slightly older bride, the last thing I wanted to look like was Miss Havisham!

I was just thinking the second one too. looks very nice wish I had legs to pull it off.. So it can be done then. I have jeutonic (in my head jew tonic) this weekend and after that im aiming at reg dresses.. Oh was it you fits who said you got the linda bop dress, sorry someone mentioned them earlier. There is a place in Cork that sells them going to have a look at these for something different.

Ohhhh hope you have a nice relaxing day today hattoncracker

haha mayo miss we should go shopping together, Im the same boobs would knock you out and im 5.3 just about. The dresses just make me look smaller, one I was like now I defo look like a bag of spuds...I found the ones that kinda fit under your boobs were the most flattering or the a line dresses, which I didn't think would work well..

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭Extraplus

IM GETTING MARRIED ON SATURDAY!!!!

Best of luck hattoncracker, I hope you have a fab day!

Milly33 wrote: »
    haha mayo miss we should go shopping together, Im the same boobs would knock you out and im 5.3 just about. The dresses just make me look smaller, one I was like now I defo look like a bag of spuds...I found the ones that kinda fit under your boobs were the most flattering or the a line dresses, which I didn't think would work well..

I'm quite booby as well (30G on a size 10-12 frame) and I absolutely swear by A-line and skater dresses in general. :)

My dress is a slim a line. So it skims over the hips but doesnt flare out a lot

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

ofy5vr.jpg

We got our wedding rings yesterday. My OH had a day off work, so collected me from work and we said we'd pop into a jewelers just to see if there was anything we liked. We were in and out of the jewelers in 15 minutes, rings ordered, and deposits paid for.
    I know I really hate shopping, but I hope i've just been lucky and not just quickly picking things to get them "ticked off the list"

emzolita wrote: »
    I know I really hate shopping, but I hope i've just been lucky and not just quickly picking things to get them "ticked off the list"

I think you are fine. The weddings rings are one of the easiest to pick.
    Does the ring look nice on its own. Tick
    Does it look good with the engagement ring. Tick
    Is the price ok. Tick

I had a difficult engagement ring to match and it still didn't take long. Went to a jeweller who said he'd make the wedding ring to match. I tried a few on in another shop realised none of them suited and were way more expensive so went back to jeweller and got it made. It's perfect he knew exactly what to and made it perfectly.

Well ack from Kilkenny.. Took a trip to Jeutonic and must say the girls there were lovely we had so much fun... But I am defo thinking that the dresses just aren't for me. I cannot justify spending that much on one dress.. Was skitting most of the time in shop. They had this dress I had seen in a few books it has pockets and thought wow have to try.. I couldn't even walk in it the weight of I was crazy...

Back to the drawing board..We called into Folkstone too and they have some lovely pieces if anyone is looking for something differan...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭westernlass

Sherlof3 wrote: »
    Folkster stock wedding dresses by a few bridal designers as well as a lot of vintage - so they should have the same range as most bridal shops for example designer Theia. :)

Their prices are great too, I was very pleasantly surprised. Didn't find my dress though

Ah that's s pity milly, but at least you had a fun day.
    Any idea where you will go next?

I'm off work this work so hoping to get a few things ticked off my list...well as much as you can with two smallies in tow! paper for the invitations is today's project.

Yeah they weren't the most expensive shop defiantly, and they do have a nice collection. Must say that girl was very funny in there... There is a sale on in Fermoy I think mum mentioned on the 28th of this month but to be honest I think im done with the wedding shops and going to aim at more mainstreamish ones. Have to go see a kinda retro shop maybe this weekend..

Was pleasantly surprised with Kilkenny now they do have some nice shops up there...

A week off heaven, I hope you get some time to relax also... Best of luck with the invites, I hope you find all the bits and pieces..

Milly, do you have any particular style in mind?

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭mslady

I had another dress fitting on Sat - not sure if i mentioned before but I couldnt find a short dress I loved, so I bought a long one and am having the changes I want made. Was very nervous after my first fitting, really wasnt sure I was making the right choice, and then on Sat she pinned it up so I could see it short and for the first time I really felt like "this is the ONE!!"

So relieved!!

Mostly organising my own hen and a couple of my friends have tied themselves in knots with excuses for not coming, I'd rather they said "can't go, sorry" than make up reasons that are now beginning to look like lies but sure look it, I'll have great craic with all the others there :)

Ordered the groom's suit on Saturday, another thing off the list :) This week we'll post the invites and that'll be the really massive thing done thankfully.

9 weeks on Friday!!!

Hello xzanti is it this weekend is the hen or was it last weekend?

Laughing at my mum have to say I am pleased shes like am I invited to the hen, followed by the look!! Wouldn't dream of not having her shes so much fun.... which reminds me to get names and numbers..

Oh dear Fits I am not sure myself really. I know I want something a bit, fun and funky..I don't want to just wear a white dress because that is what you are suppose to do, and I also want to be able to walk in it... Bless ye ladies for finding yer ones it is very hard

dress shop #2 today. wish me luck!

best of luck with it and i hope you enjoy yourself. Where are you going?

Best of luck, Depp breaths and just try everything!! Hope you find the one

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭mslady

For all you ladies dress shopping at the moment - don't forget the power of alterations!! My eyes have been seriously opened. For example - love the dress but wish it was a sweetheart instead of straight across? they can do that!! Same with straps/sleeves/length. Obviously depends on the style of the dress here but it is worth keeping in mind when shopping! A lot of people probably know that already but it was news to me quite late in the shopping process!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Mayo Miss

How did you get on? Find anything?

• Registered Users Posts: 47 summer_chic

I've said it before but a try Memories in cork and Dublin - they have one of each dress. I went twice, once before we had set the date and I found the dress but didn't get it because I hadn't the date set. A year later I made another appointment with the date set, and again, found a dress I love. It cost less than I had budgeted ! The other thing , particularly for those who haven't tried yet, is its worth trying on every style as I was amazed at how some dresses I never thought would suit me did and vice versa. It is also worth listening to the people in the shop because an objective, experienced eye is invaluable !

Went to barnados in dun laoighre and it was just such a disappointing experience. The dresses were all old fashioned, all strapless, which just doesn't suit me and at the end she asked me to write a message in their visitors book!

The lady was nice but she kept on telling me you can get straps added on and putting on these awful boleros. The dresses.didnt have that new feel that the dresses in the bridal shop did. They're not that we'll looked after, all the underskirt were all creased up and some had threads pulled or beads missing. I had read some great reviews online but I was very disappointed by the shop. definitely no dresses from last year even.

Not sure whether to go back to the first shop or try another shop now. Agh decisions!

Just on the alterations ladies, don't be fooled by the shop assistants hard sale. They are trying to sell a product at the end of the day and some will say anything just to make a sale. I know a girl who was left a little bit disappointed after buying a dress only to find out that the promised alterations couldn't be done.

Into double figures now, 99 days to go. Exciting times :D

I'm 9 weeks today, it's going to fly in now ... Both excited and terrified at the same time :P

Kildareash thats such a pity yo had a bad experience. Whats your budget? Do you a particular style in mind? I'm the same as you there was no way a strapless dress was going on me. I went to a good few shops so if you want i'll tell you where i found good and price ranges etc.

Cant say I was overly impressed with Memoirs now in Cork anywho. I thought it was nice but I didn't think much of it..You didn't get to look at any of the dress options he just asked what you liked and what your budget was and went off to get the dress.

Oh had to laugh at some information I found out there, I don't know what shop it is now but me thinks tis in Dublin there is suppose to be this bridal shop, where the lady gives you a clipboard when you go in with things like oocupation, monthly wage, how much are you looking to spend etc. She takes it back then if she thinks you don't earn enough (ie wont spend a lot) she will tell you she has nothing for you and if she sees you are on nice wages she will show you dresses and take a guess at prices. One lady got lets say dress for €1,000 in there next lady on higher wages got the same dress for €3,000... Mad isn't it

Milly33 wrote: »
    Cant say I was overly impressed with Memoirs now in Cork anywho. I thought it was nice but I didn't think much of it..You didn't get to look at any of the dress options he just asked what you liked and what your budget was and went off to get the dress.

Oh had to laugh at some information I found out there, I don't know what shop it is now but me thinks tis in Dublin there is suppose to be this bridal shop, where the lady gives you a clipboard when you go in with things like oocupation, monthly wage, how much are you looking to spend etc. She takes it back then if she thinks you don't earn enough (ie wont spend a lot) she will tell you she has nothing for you and if she sees you are on nice wages she will show you dresses and take a guess at prices. One lady got lets say dress for €1,000 in there next lady on higher wages got the same dress for €3,000... Mad isn't it

What the hell??? I dont believe that to be honest. Anyone who would fill out such a form is an eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭SmokeyEyes

Went to barnados in dun laoighre and it was just such a disappointing experience. The dresses were all old fashioned, all strapless, which just doesn't suit me and at the end she asked me to write a message in their visitors book!

The lady was nice but she kept on telling me you can get straps added on and putting on these awful boleros. The dresses.didnt have that new feel that the dresses in the bridal shop did. They're not that we'll looked after, all the underskirt were all creased up and some had threads pulled or beads missing. I had read some great reviews online but I was very disappointed by the shop. definitely no dresses from last year even.

Not sure whether to go back to the first shop or try another shop now. Agh decisions!

Just on the alterations ladies, don't be fooled by the shop assistants hard sale. They are trying to sell a product at the end of the day and some will say anything just to make a sale. I know a girl who was left a little bit disappointed after buying a dress only to find out that the promised alterations couldn't be done.

Hey there, what style dress are you going for? If budget is a factor you could always consider rental shops like Covet, they have beautiful Rachel Gilbert dresses with sleeves. I'm actually buying one of their ex rental dresses which is worth close to €1500 for €450 so remember places like that get in beautiful dresses to rent out for a tiny price or they sell them off at the end of the season for a great deal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

fits wrote: »
    What the hell??? I dont believe that to be honest. Anyone who would fill out such a form is an eejit.

I don't believe that either and regardless, anyone who would give their salary information to a bridal shop is a bloody idiot.

It happened so it did, madness... I completely forgot about the rental side of dresses.. Has anyone done it here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭nosietoes

Milly, did it happen to a friend of yours?

I know a lot of people who have dress shopped all over Dublin, including the 'snobbier' places and have never heard such bad business practice. Sure, a lot of girls don't even pay for the dress themselves - either partners or family contribute.

Unless it was directly from a close friend, I think it was one of those 'sure aren't Dublin people crazy' kind of conversations.

Yep believe me it came direct... Didn't think people contribute to the dress thought it was something done just alone...Anywho sure

Anabel rose are holding a sample sale Next saturday the 21st. First come first served. They havea facebook album with the dresses in it which is handy. https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.760271854010517.1073741859.168598689844506&type=3

I went here and there were plenty that i liked and plenty that has sleeves. The majority also fit me and i'm a size 14ish

There was a shop in cork that got me to fill out a form which also asked about budget. It definitely didn't ask about salary though!! It was a bit suspicious that every dress they showed me was within €1 of the upper end up of my budget though... They were horrible anyway, so I definitely didn't buy my dress there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Faith wrote: »
    There was a shop in cork that got me to fill out a form which also asked about budget. It definitely didn't ask about salary though!! It was a bit suspicious that every dress they showed me was within €1 of the upper end up of my budget though... They were horrible anyway, so I definitely didn't buy my dress there!

Yeah Memories in Dublin get you to fill in a form in advance saying exactly how much you're planning to spend and what type of dress you're thinking about. I got to try on nothing I liked as they just go and pick them for you from the basement. It was fairly disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭nosietoes

I think a lot of shops ask you your budget so that they don't put you in something over it and then break your heart.

Half the shops I went to didn't let you look through the dresses which I must say I don't like as much but its hardly unusual.