Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snooker World Championship 2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭tanko

Selby is the Chelsea of snooker. His time wasting when it's obvious what the next shot is, face pulling and gamesmanship are all distasteful. Is he Graeme dott in disguise? It's a real pity Robertson didn't beat him. Come on Ronnie, wake up please!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭tomdempsey200

BNMC wrote: »
    Of course they do. Selby is better though.

Selby wouldn't have a hope of beating O'Sullivan in a shootout, nobody would.

He's playing to his strengths. His safety shot has been brilliant.

ya

except the stats don't back your claims

selby is 0-1 in wc finals

and ronnie mostly beats him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,948 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Actually Ronnies parents ran sex shops in Soho! Actually his mam is a bit of a Gilf!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

ya

except the stats don't back your claims

selby is 0-1 in wc finals

and ronnie mostly beats him
    That was 7 years ago.

It's 14-12.

He is a negative fecker Selby! Ronnie is looking fed up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

The hate for Selby here is crazy :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

BNMC wrote: »
    Of course they do. Selby is better though.

Selby wouldn't have a hope of beating O'Sullivan in a shootout, nobody would.

He's playing to his strengths. His safety shot has been brilliant.

There's a difference between being a great safety player (such as Ebdon) and just being a negative player. Even when he gets a chance he's cowering behind the colours. Rather than try and finish him he's trying to get Ronnie to dismantle himself. His timewasting is cheap and he has been very dull to watch.

Don't get me wrong, he wants to win and it's quite obvious this is the best way to do it. Nobody is denying how effective his tactics are. Ronnie is probably is own worst enemy and it's starting to show. Still, when I sit down to watch snooker I expect a bit more than this borefest, especially for a WC final. As fans we are entitled to complain about boring play, similiar to how all football fans complain about how Chelsea do business. Snooker will struggle without players like Ronnie.

There's a difference between being a great safety player (such as Ebdon) and just being a negative player. Even when he gets a chance he's cowering behind the colours. Rather than try and finish him he's trying to get Ronnie to dismantle himself. His timewasting is cheap and he has been very dull to watch.

Don't get me wrong, he wants to win and it's quite obvious this is the best way to do it. Nobody is denying how effective his tactics are. Ronnie is probably is own worst enemy and it's starting to show. Still, when I sit down to watch snooker I expect a bit more than this borefest, especially for a WC final. As fans we are entitled to complain about boring play, similiar to how all football fans complain about how Chelsea do business. Snooker will struggle without players like Ronnie.
    And yet after 26 frames, here you are still watching it.

It's intriguing if nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

Ronnie is looking fed up!

Is his sports psychologist not working with him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

KERSPLAT! wrote: »

I actually hope he goes on to win it now!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Why are so many people hating Selby here? He normally is a great player to watch but his potting is off form, so he's relying on safety and tactics. It's working, what would people rather he goes out there and leaves every ball open to Ronnie and loses 18-4? Safety and tactics are all part of snooker and when your off form at one area of your game you need to use the other to compensate and that is what Selby is doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

Nobody was more negative the Ebdon!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kaizersoze81

Even the commentators saying he's playing too conservatively.

Addle wrote: »

There's only so much he can do, Ronnie starting to see every shot he plays not come off and Selby's getting the run of the balls!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

It's quite amazing. Selby knows how to beat Ronnie, the only way is to grind him down, keep the white welded to the cushion when you play safe, & break Ronnie's momentum. Unfortunately, that style doesn't translate well into exciting Snooker, but it works, evidently. You'd swear Selby's priority should be entertaining us or something.

Sinead o'connors twin Graham Dott is IMHO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭tomdempsey200

psychiatrist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,994 ✭✭✭bren2001

I'm sorry, are you saying Ebdon, Peter bloody Ebdon is better to watch than Selby? Ebdon was the most negative player I have ever seen. Selby is not usually this negative but what choice does he have? he isn't potting well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Ronnie is starting to appear disinterested to be honest. Selby's safety play really is top drawer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

O Sullivan looks done in this match. His potting has gone to crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭Finno59

God i hate selby :pac:
    Ronnie looks rattled, nothing he can do unless the pressure gets to selby

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭AlwaysAnyTime

Myrddin wrote: »
    It's quite amazing. Selby knows how to beat Ronnie, the only way is to grind him down, keep the white welded to the cushion when you play safe, & break Ronnie's momentum. Unfortunately, that style doesn't translate well into exciting Snooker, but it works, evidently. You'd swear Selby's priority should be entertaining us or something.

Beating Ronnie would be enough entertainment for me anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭amkin25

I don't think it's anywhere as bad as ebdon and can't blame selby for the strategy coz ronnie is imploding why not use whatever you can to beat him he is playing well i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

bren2001 wrote: »
    I'm sorry, are you saying Ebdon, Peter bloody Ebdon is better to watch than Selby? Ebdon was the most negative player I have ever seen. Selby is not usually this negative but what choice does he have? he isn't potting well.

Not at all, he was a safety man but he at least went for it when it was on. I suppose there are a few of us on one side and a few on the other so we'll just have to see how the game pans out! I still maintain it will be a shame if Selby wins with a grand total of zero centuries and no breaks of note. Just my opinion btw, I know it's his gameplan.

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭squadro

depends on how old ya are. cliff thorburn aka the grinder, eddie charlton who specialised in breaks of 12 and then running for cover, terry griffiths the welshman who went looking for snookers even if he didnt need them.

Myrddin wrote: »

Exactly. His temperament is fantastic too. Everything he makes 30 and breaks down he plays a class safety and forces a mistake

The stuff about hiding behind the colours is ridiculous too. What do people expect. Him to take on a 50 50 colour against Ronnie?? If you miss he'll make 70 in a flash.

Great stuff from Selby.

He's won 8 of the last 10 frames.

This could be over very early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

Results always come before entertainment. Its a loser mentality to think otherwise.

Quite frankly, what you want to see when you sit down and watch snooker is irrelevant to players in this position. Selby is not out there to please you or anyone else, hes there to win this trophy.

Fans are fickle creatures, Ronnie fans will be bitter and frustrated and will piss and moan about Selby and his tactics, Selby fans will be delighted with his performance and will appreciate his tactical prowess and magnificent match play.

Its up to Ronnie to combat Selby's style, hes just not good enough to do it today it would seem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,058 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

in the words of Jose Mourinho its 19th century tactics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭amkin25

I also think he feel's ronnie imploding,and is turning the screw with safety and giving ronnie enough rope to hang himself.