Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dog killed a lamb today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭lollsangel

I'm sorry puddles but the dog should be dead by now. From the op I'm assuming that we're talking about a fairly large young dog in the whole of his health due to the speed at which the incident took place and the description of him as having the deal lamb in his mouth. No sheep farmer could rest easy with that animal still in the vicinity and I would not be surprised if the farmer in question pursued this. The dead lamb is the least of his (potential) losses, abortions, mis-mothering, prolapsed uterus, substantial vet bills for dealing with same etc are likely to cost him far more than the dead lamb you saw. If he has no real further problems and the dog has been put down he may well let it slide but if the dog is still kicking and he's getting real bother over the rest of the lambing season you could find yourself with an angry neighbour with an actionable case, some very damning arguments to show your lack of responsibility before and after the incident and a substsantial damages claim against you.

You'd think though if he was that worried, his lambs wouldn't be straying, wouldn't you? My dogs have rarely escaped, and we're extra careful during lambing season, as there is 2 lamb farmers near enough to me. To all those saying the dog should be put down bcos he killed a stray lamb, does that mean I should beheld responsible should I hit a sheep on the road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Gringo180 banned from the forum for their comment above.There is zero tolerance of comments relating to violence towards animals in this forum and any further comments like this will be dealt with similarly.

Do not reply to this post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭puddles22

I'm sorry puddles but the dog should be dead by now. From the op I'm assuming that we're talking about a fairly large young dog in the whole of his health due to the speed at which the incident took place and the description of him as having the deal lamb in his mouth. No sheep farmer could rest easy with that animal still in the vicinity and I would not be surprised if the farmer in question pursued this. The dead lamb is the least of his (potential) losses, abortions, mis-mothering, prolapsed uterus, substantial vet bills for dealing with same etc are likely to cost him far more than the dead lamb you saw. If he has no real further problems and the dog has been put down he may well let it slide but if the dog is still kicking and he's getting real bother over the rest of the lambing season you could find yourself with an angry neighbour with an actionable case, some very damning arguments to show your lack of responsibility before and after the incident and a substsantial damages claim against you.

My lack of responsibility before the incident? Elaborate please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭puddles22

My lack of responsibility before the incident? Elaborate please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

lollsangel wrote: »
    You'd think though if he was that worried, his lambs wouldn't be straying, wouldn't you? My dogs have rarely escaped, and we're extra careful during lambing season, as there is 2 lamb farmers near enough to me. To all those saying the dog should be put down bcos he killed a stray lamb, does that mean I should beheld responsible should I hit a sheep on the road?

Did you intentionally hit the sheep?

It's an unfortunate incident OP, fair play for taking responsibility straight away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

Yes, in the same way that you'd be responsible if you hit a child on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Gosub wrote: »

Not sure about that. Not to go off topic, but a guy I know hit a cow that was on the road on his motorbike one night and the farmer was liable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

kristian12 wrote: »
    Out of curiosity what standing would this insistence have in law?

OP as others have said escape proof your house and garden, repeat your offer of compensation once tempers have calmed realising the farmer has every reason to have been annoyed.
    under law if a dog is chasing cattle or sheep it can be shot on sight. Had trouble before with a neighbours dog, we went to dog warden and guards and told neighbour dog would be shot next time he was chasing my cattle, we did this . Recently he bought another dog which is no better than the other one he had. I can not understand how people do not and can not control their dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

pretty much the same as the farmers who can't control their sheep cattle and horses, round my way anyway......
    anyone advocating the death of a family pet dog due to one unfortunate event, and going on about the taste of blood and all that, i mean really.........
    The unfortunate lamb was probably going to be eaten. the dog will be under control, the lamb paid for, probably more than market value... the owner sorry... what do people want her/him to do, stand at the side of a road with a sign round they neck....

The dog couldn't have been shot by the farmer as the sheep were not on the farmers land.. anything after that is just threats.

I am sure the dog will be kept under better control, i wish the same could be said round my way on farmers cattle and horses, who are forever getting out, causing hazards on the roads..... one lamb dead.... thats it... unfortunate but really......

Big difference between a child and a sheep! In fact the farmer should be held responsible

If you hit an animal on the road, the owner of the animal is liable for any damage to your car.

dharma200 wrote: »
    pretty much the same as the farmers who can't control their sheep cattle and horses, round my way anyway......
    anyone advocating the death of a family pet dog due to one unfortunate event, and going on about the taste of blood and all that, i mean really.........
    The unfortunate lamb was probably going to be eaten. the dog will be under control, the lamb paid for, probably more than market value... the owner sorry... what do people want her/him to do, stand at the side of a road with a sign round they neck....

The dog couldn't have been shot by the farmer as the sheep were not on the farmers land.. anything after that is just threats.

I am sure the dog will be kept under better control, i wish the same could be said round my way on farmers cattle and horses, who are forever getting out, causing hazards on the roads..... one lamb dead.... thats it... unfortunate but really......
    how does the op know the farmer in question doesnt own the land or have it rented and what has it got to do with the lamb being killed?

Did you intentionally hit the sheep?

It's an unfortunate incident OP, fair play for taking responsibility straight away.

God no, have had a few close misses in the dark bcos some irresponsible farmers dont keep their stock under control btw case I was making is the farmer has responsiblity too to keep his livestock under control.

edited, wrong thread

Big difference between a child and a sheep! In fact the farmer should be held responsible
    heres the point ... if a dog is chasing sheep or cattle you can shoot on sight -afaik it doesnt matter whose land it is on, but i will stand corrected on that-if a dog is chasing/attacking a child you can not shoot it. Garda told me that:eek:

biddy2013 wrote: »
    how does the op know the farmer in question doesnt own the land or have it rented and what has it got to do with the lamb being killed?

I don't know why don't you ask him/her?

heres the point ... if a dog is chasing sheep or cattle you can shoot on sight if a dog is chasing/attacking a child you can not shoot it. Garda told me that:eek:

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

It's as much you're responsibility to control your dog as it's the farmers responsibility to not let his sheep stray off his land. I'd offer to pay for the lamb but do farmers offer to pay for the thousands of damage sheep cause to people's flowers and land? No.

Red Crow wrote: »
    It's as much you're responsibility to control your dog as it's the farmers responsibility to not let his sheep stray off his land. I'd offer to pay for the lamb but do farmers offer to pay for the thousands of damage sheep cause to people's flowers and land? No.
    i pay for any damage caused by my cattle if they break out , which tbh is very very rare

it only takes once, as the op has seen, rare isn't good enough if my car hits one of your cattle and causes a fatality....

heres the point ... if a dog is chasing sheep or cattle you can shoot on sight -afaik it doesnt matter whose land it is on, but i will stand corrected on that-if a dog is chasing/attacking a child you can not shoot it. Garda told me that:eek:

Seriously?

dharma200 wrote: »
    it only takes once, as the op has seen, rare isn't good enough if my car hits one of your cattle and causes a fatality....
    yes, that is why farmers have insurance if sheep or whatever have broken out and caused damage to your property claim. My farm is fenced very well but an animal can escape even though it is fenced properly, its abit liike the op's dog escaping here, accidents happen its not like i would intentionally let cattle out on the road to cause an accident

Seriously?
    yes, garda and dog warden backed that up, its crazy

Red Crow wrote: »

I'll give my neighbour his due, when his sheep do end up in our house (rarely) he sorts it out

thanks, not all farmers are bad

• Registered Users Posts: 404 ✭✭yessam

puddles22 wrote: »
    Husky

It was two huskeys that were shot in our area last year.

Not really a breed for confined spaces.

They need huge amount of exercise.

Lovely looking dog but not an ideal family pet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

You are absolutely 100% wrong. Farmer is totally liable for any damage his stock do having strayed onto public road or for that matter to private property in the line of gardens etc. All the more reason why farmers get very uptight if their stock is being worried or attacked by dogs as these attacks can also lead to straying and if this happens ypu can be sure dog will be long gone and farmer liable for any damage or injuries to memebers of the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Hooked

As the owner of 2 Huskies, very very well behaved ones, I'm not surprised to read it was a Husky here. What I can tell you, is that if one of mine got off, no rabbit, lamb, cat or other small animal would be safe!!! They have (as a breed) a very high prey drive.

Those calling for the dogs death - that's absurd. I've read what the effect on other sheep/stock can be as a result of this attack. Will all that magically stop IF the dog is killed. No. It won't.

The OP made a simple mistake, the dog got out - and a lamb was killed. If the dog never gets out again - it will never kill again. Simple as. This 'taste of blood' talk is utter tripe.

Now, I'm not sure what the legal standpoint of all of this is... But, if it were my dog - no one would be putting him down over an incident like this.

Stand firm OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Hooked

yessam wrote: »
    It was two huskeys that were shot in our area last year.

Not really a breed for confined spaces.

Lovely looking dog but not an ideal family pet.

I'm afraid I have to disagree. As the owner of two, in a small house, with a smaller yard - a properly trained, socialised and WELL exercised Sibe can be happy as Larry in a confined environment and make the perfect 'family' pet... and member.

Depends on the owner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Callisto99

puddles22 wrote: »
    I get he's pissed but does he not have a responsibility to control his livestock to?

Are you for real?

Your dog killed an animal which is part of his livelihood and this incident will most likely lead to subsequent deaths and loss of earnings due to trauma inflicted - I am speaking from recent experience and loss of earnings here.

You really have a hypocritical cheek to question his responsibility to control his livestock given the damage your animal has done.

Compensation should be paid, and some.