Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Manchester Derby Match Thread 25/3/'14 K/O 19.45 Sky.

• 24-03-2014 4:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

man-utd-vs-man-city.jpg

Recent form

Man Utd: WLWLWW

Man City: WWLLWW

Possible starting lineups

Man Utd: De Gea; Evra, Vidic, Jones, Rafael; Carrick, Fletcher; Mata, Rooney, Kagawa; Welbeck

Man City: Hart; Zabaleta, Lescott, Kompany, Kolarov; Fernandinho, Toure, Milner; Nasri, Silva, Negredo

Utd Utd Utd.

Plenty of Liverpool fans cheering you on tomorrow.

Best of luck

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

2-2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Wonder will United capitulate like a certain Liverpool side against Chelsea when a Liverpool win would have gifted United the title :pac:

Nah I'd hate to see that. Can see a bore 0-0 which Moyes would be outwardly delighted with. Predicting United 0-2 City with Evra being sent off in the 64th minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

The head says a comfortable win for City.

You never know though, and a lot depends on the team selection. If Kagawa and Mata both play, United should be able to create chances. Lescott can be dodgy enough as well.

If Valencia and Young play, it could be a long night for United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

6-1 United

or city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Chelsea, Arsenal and Liverpool fans shouting for United I take it?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,294 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Just want to let ye know United

K-9 wrote: »

Should make for an unusual match thread!

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Vidic is suspended. Fletch wont play 2 in 3 days. I think welbeck plays left with kagawa on bench with val/young on the right. Mata behind rooney.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

I went with a draw cause I dont think this thread could handle a Liverpool supporter with a name called Aguerooo supporting Man Utd against Man City.

skullfűck !

I'll go easy on yis lads :)

These days don't come around often hi. I for one will cherish everyone of those fans floundering like us United fans :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Yup but cant see past a City mauling TBH.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Mocha Joe wrote: »
    Vidic is suspended. Fletch wont play 2 in 3 days. I think welbeck plays left with kagawa on bench with val/young on the right. Mata behind rooney.

Was it Vidic's second red card of the season or something?

How I want the game to go is: Kompany and Toure both get sent off for 3 game suspension offences, and utd win, or at least draw.

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Yup but cant see past a City mauling TBH.

A mauling for City or a mauling by City?

Jaysus Gav, don't leave us hanging!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Good job this game isn't played on paper.

Best of luck our midtable football friends...do us proud.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Good job this game isn't played on paper.

Best of luck our midtable football friends...do us proud.

Ugh, its going to be one of those match threads.

rarnes1 wrote: »
    A mauling for City or a mauling by City?

Jaysus Gav, don't leave us hanging!

City to win 1-0 in a mauling and crush the hopes of Utd, Arsenal, Liverpool and Chelsea fans all in one go. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

City to win 1-0 in a mauling and crush the hopes of Utd, Arsenal, Liverpool and Chelsea fans all in one go. :pac:

Probably score the winner in injury time too :(

Ah Jaysus!

In all seriousness if City show up it should be a formality against this Man U team.

To crush the hopes of United and Arsenal?

I know some fans who are optimistic but........

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Ah Jaysus!

In all seriousness if City show up it should be a formality against this Man U team.

They should, especially with RVP out.

It start a sequence of 3 title deciding away games for Ctty, Utd, Arsenal and 'Pool.

To crush the hopes of United and Arsenal?

I know some fans who are optimistic but........

That race for the position nobody really wants, 5th.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

That race for the position nobody really wants, 5th.

but that would not be crushing it, more doing us a favour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Arsenal prob want a city win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭Ernest Oreo

City 4
    United 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

City 4
    United 1

I four one would not like to see that happen again

We're in for a beating, but atleast if we set up with Mata, Kagawa &Rooney on the pitch we'll do it in style, and may get a goal or two

Wouldn't be surprised to see 5-2 or something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭Ernest Oreo

i'd take 4-1 now
    Citeh could crush united if on song and properly motivated
    goes to show how far uniteds stock has fallen, with the noisy neighbours becoming less concerned about humiliating united

altho in fairness citeh prob could do with a big win to fast-track their title charge and put some pressure back on mourinho / chelsea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

I think this could be the game that the fans really turn on Moyes . If he can't have a man united team fired up for a game against city then man utd fans would be 100% right to call for his head .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Utd will play with fire in their hearts, and Moyes is safe until after Bayern anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

City but only by a goal.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Sheepy99

Hoping : United win

Expecting : Comfortable City win

Can it really happen any other way?

Hmmmmm yes, quite

5starpool wrote: »
    Was it Vidic's second red card of the season or something?

How I want the game to go is: Kompany and Toure both get sent off for 3 game suspension offences, and utd win, or at least draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

As a Liverpool fan I really want UTD to win. They've hit a bit of form now with two wins and two clean sheets. We all know City can be beaten, and I believe they don't enjoy playing mid week games. I think UTD will benifit from no RVP, Rooney up front on his own, with Mata just behind him should cause trouble for City's defence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

its gonna be nil nil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

barone wrote: »
    its gonna be nil nil

I'd take that right now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Really think it could be embarrassing for United. As a pool fan I really hope I'm proved wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

I reckon we will be in for a 3-3 midweek thriller!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

As I said on the Chelsea thread:

I think United have a chance. They have hit their best patch of the season and after all its a derby game, we seen last night in the Clasico how the team thats struggling a little could up their game and win.

This is United's biggest game left this season, they will be up for it.

And its interesting to note that City's strikers have only scored once since we beat them at the Etihad nearly 3 months ago.... City arent the force they were before that IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Lads wouldnt it be great if Mata could score :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Barr

Think city will win this comfortably 1-3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Barr wrote: »
    Think city will win this comfortably 1-3

Just so we're clear. Who will score first? City to win 3-1 is 14/1 but I'm feeling greedy. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

This is United's biggest game left this season, they will be up for it.

The small matter of a Champions League QF says it's not :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

Yaya will boss the game tomorrow. Comfortable win for City unless there's some daft red card early on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Ganymede Glow

Yaya will boss the game tomorrow. Comfortable win for City unless there's some daft red card early on.

did-someone-say-9ophmk.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

1-1. Rooney and Silva.

City dropping two points should see an easy run to the title for Chelsea.

BNMC wrote: »
    1-1. Rooney and Silva.

City dropping two points should see an easy run to the title for Chelsea.

Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,564 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

I really don't care who wins, as long as it is an entertaining game and united win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I'd be tempted to wear a United jersey for this If I thought it would help.

Obviously take a **** on it afterwards and then put it in the bin.