Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Day time assault in cork city centre

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

As far as I can see the two factors drawing gangs of messers on Winthorp Street are Macdonalds and that so called "casino"/gaming place.The latter in particular always seems to have a bunch of right scummers congregated in the doorway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

I saw a shocking assault on a woman on Washington St last summer. I was walking down the street with my partner in the middle of the day. A woman confronted a man in his late thirties angrily, in what appeared to be a domestic matter. She might have made girly slaps at his chest. Almost immediately he punched her very hard, and she feel down very hard, then marched off around the corner. I was shocked. I've lived in undesirable spots in Limerick and Waterford and have seen plenty of random violence, but it's the only time I've seen a woman hit like that. My partner responded immediately.

She went over to the woman to help her. She was stunned and just said she couldn't believe he'd hit her. He came back. We confronted him and told him to go away. He was extremely angry and told us to stay out of it. We stood our ground and he walked off again. My partner helped the woman up and told her to go the other direction towards Patrick St, so she could get away. She did.

There were plenty of people around when it happened. Nobody else got involved. My partner said she saw him on the street the next day, battered and on crutches, so I guess the incident was not reported via official channels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭spitfireIRL

My friend was in town over Paddy's weekend, not Paddy's day I don't think, before or after. He said these there was a group of two or three lads just going around literally trying to start on any group that passed them. Most ignored them, until one of them punched a Spanish guy who was with two friends. What my friend described was fantastic, the Spanish lads absolutely bounced the scumbags around the place, so much so that the scumbags just about managed to get away and had to leg it. That'll learn em

• Registered Users Posts: 34,221 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

My friend was in town over Paddy's weekend, not Paddy's day I don't think, before or after. He said these there was a group of two or three lads just going around literally trying to start on any group that passed them. Most ignored them, until one of them punched a Spanish guy who was with two friends. What my friend described was fantastic, the Spanish lads absolutely bounced the scumbags around the place, so much so that the scumbags just about managed to get away and had to leg it. That'll learn em

I hope the Spanish fella broke a few bones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭spitfireIRL

My friend said one of the scumbags got literally chokeslammed onto the pavement. He said it was glorious, people were cheering! Proper order

Best thing I have read in a while. Delighted!

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

I'd say the only thing with will spur any action on these ****ers if if they attack a tourist.Then see the guards coming down on them.Thats what happened with that family of scumbags in Tipperary town a couple of years back who battered an American tourist on Paddys Day.Theyd been terrorising the town for years but it was only when this happened and the resultant bad publicity that the guards did anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

I'd say the only thing with will spur any action on these ****ers if if they attack a tourist.Then see the guards coming down on them.Thats what happened with that family of scumbags in Tipperary town a couple of years back who battered an American tourist on Paddys Day.Theyd been terrorising the town for years but it was only when this happened and the resultant bad publicity that the guards did anything.

I don't think it's that simple, sure look at that poor Brazilian lad who was kicked in the head on Patrick's day in Dublin. I wonder did those scrotes ever have to face any punishment?
    But it's interesting, it took a group of Spanish people to fight back. In this country we are too used to turning a blind eye and then moaning about it behind a keyboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

But it's interesting, it took a group of Spanish people to fight back. In this country we are too used to turning a blind eye and then moaning about it behind a keyboard.
    One example typifies the country? That's just wrong.
    I've seen and been involved in getting hassled in the city, and it's didn't involve running to the nearest tourist for assistance.
    Perhaps you're speaking from your own mindset.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Then on the other hand you got Neil Prenderville spouting out that Cork City is a great spot to be in and its the new Galway.

The fact is the city is littered with undesirable people who are a nuisance to the law abiding shopper/tourist.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭Bacchus

One example typifies the country? That's just wrong.
    I've seen and been involved in getting hassled in the city, and it's didn't involve running to the nearest tourist for assistance.
    Perhaps you're speaking from your own mindset.

I agree. You (Forrest) are taking an isolated incident and making it into a uniquely Irish mindset. Most people, regardless of country, will try to avoid getting involved in any sort of conflict. I myself was attacked/mugged years ago in France by 2 guys, several people were walking by, noone helped. Same thing happens in every country all the time. Sometimes people will step up and help, most times they walk on.

Still though, the Gardai should be dealing with this type of anti-social behaviour and THEY should not be turning blind eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

I am well able to look after myself, but there is no way I will respond to a punch of scummys. I would far prefer moan about it behind a keyboard. For one thing you do not know are they carrying a knife, and for another, they might be able to look after themselves much better than I do myself.
    mikeym wrote:
    Then on the other hand you got Neil Prenderville spouting out that Cork City is a great spot to be in and its the new Galway.

The fact is the city is littered with undesirable people who are a nuisance to the law abiding shopper/tourist

Thats City life for you. I defy you to go to any City in the world and there not be any trouble/scumbags aroudn the place. Sure Galway is hardly the glorious bohemian haven people would have you believe it is. Take a stroll around Eyre Square at 2.45am and you will see why.

And kudos to Prendeville for big upping Cork. If he focused on the negative people would berate him more than what they already do.

Funny now that I think of it, but having lived in Dublin for 6 years, lived in Cork for 1 and lived in Swansea for 2 the only time I have ever had hassle has been on weekend in Galway.

Its about 2004 now, but myself and mate were waiting at Bank Machine bit of que. 2 lads just picking on randomers. One lad had the Mick Tyson tattoo on side of his face. Your man just called me few unpleasant names. He wanted to fight me and my mate with other guy. We would have taken them only for their buddies watching on. We just took the stick and thank God they walked away although they still hassled few others.

If I had been a foreigner and lived in country say 15 years I be telling tourists that Dublin and Cork are fine, but Galway can be rough. Its just funny that this to most people would be a absurd comment, but with my own eyes only real trouble was in Galway.

Just basically wrong place at wrong time. But just goes to show that you have to take isolated incidents into consideration

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭Totally Tropical

mikeym wrote: »

The fact is the city is littered with undesirable people who are a nuisance to the law abiding shopper/tourist.

All cities have their problems and Cork is no different.Cork is a safe city compared to Dublin and other major cities in Britain.Cork is also a hell of a lot bigger than Galway and all other urban ares in the south of Ireland outside of Dublin so your not making a like for like comparison.I've had hassle from scumbags in Galway as well.Yes i agree the centre of town is unpleasant on Saturday evenings but Cork overall is a safe city.You could swear nowhere else in Ireland is having these problems the way people are carrying on.Maybe Neil is wrong and maybe he is right but Lonely Planet and the Huffington Post have written glowing reports about Cork as a tourist destination.I do agree though that the guards are not doing enough to make sure that the city centre is as safe as possible on weekends.To be honest i have great respect for people who big up this great city.It's better than listening to the doom and gloom merchants blabbering on about how Cork is a dying city where people are anxiously looking over their shoulder all the time!We have issues but despite what some people would like you to believe Cork is a brilliant city.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,307 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Too busy trying to catch somebody doing 41mph in a 40mph zone if ask me.

It just annoys me that anytime I see a Garda they are just harressing innocent people either singing or doing charity work

They should have locked up Guitar Woman years ago!

• Registered Users Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

They should have locked up Guitar Woman years ago!

I nearly jumped out of my skin on Saturday because of her. I was passing her when she failed, yet again, to hit the right note and did a loud squawk instead.

Who is this Guitar Woman ye speak of?

A well known busker who sounds like a demented wolf howling at the moon.
    They should put her on a headland as a fog warning to shipping.

A well known busker who sounds like a demented wolf howling at the moon.
    They should put her on a headland as a fog warning to shipping.

Is she this one who sits down with microphone and dresses half hipster, half normal? Guessing Early 40's although me guessing ages aint my special point.:pac:

Spot on.
    She has an amp, but doesn't need one.

I'd only just got over my shock when I got an earful of abuse from that unfortunate gentleman who staggers about the city centre shouting obscenities and attempting to sing. The tourists found him funny though.

Spot on.
    She has an amp, but doesn't need one.

Never really took much notice of singing although she always seems pissed off our something when she singing for some reason.

Im sure she is nice person, but I know what you say too about voice/amp etc.

There is another guy oldish enough fella with long grey hair who plays electric guitar who is very good. Think he is foreign lad.
    I'd only just got over my shock when I got an earful of abuse from that unfortunate gentleman who staggers about the city centre shouting obscenities and attempting to sing. The tourists found him funny though.

Does he have a odd walk kinda staggers towards people? Think know fella. He was tacking piss out of a guy in shorts the other day. It fipping hilarious. Poor guy in shorts:p

*this really has gone off topic:pac:

That's him. I had to get between him and an old woman last summer on Grand Parade when he launched himself at her and was roaring abuse right into her face. I just stared him down while he screamed at me until the woman was out of the way and then left him to it.

Back on topic. I usually avoid the city centre on a Saturday afternoon as it's just too crazy. If my teenage self saw me typing this I'd disown myself for such heresy.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

ah sure, it's just another 'isolated' incident, it's all grand. Quick, all smiles now, here's the journos from the Huffington Post and Lonely Planet :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

ah sure, it's just another 'isolated' incident, it's all grand. Quick, all smiles now, here's the journos from the Huffington Post and Lonely Planet :rolleyes:
    You're right. Nobody is safe in Cork city anymore.
    We need a curfew and the military should be on standby to take to the streets at a moments notice!

• Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭dantastic

A motorist has been stabbed in Cork after confronting a number of youths who may have thrown something at his car.

Unfortunately I think it will have to get much much worse until anything will be done.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Is that the fella with the black moustache and monobrow who walks very slowly and always has a can in his hand or the smallsh white haired guy aged about 60 who gos up to nearly everyone he meets and randomly insults them?

The second guy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭honerbright

dantastic wrote: »
    A motorist has been stabbed in Cork after confronting a number of youths who may have thrown something at his car.

Hope the guys OK.
    I get the 214 bus home from town and there's been a few incidents with smashed bus windows or the bus refusing to go down sarsfield Rd because of people throwing things at cars.