Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I come too

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

What is also exciting is my legs getting bigger! LOOKATMYQUADS

• Registered Users Posts: 24,603 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

bluewolf wrote: »
    What is also exciting is my legs getting bigger! LOOKATMYQUADS

It's time to invest in one of these.

That's hilarious!! I might actually! :D

I was all set to squat today and then i slept for 10 hours instead. So there you go...

Quadzzzzzzzzzz....

Yeah dying to lift, feeling rotten at the moment though so i guess sleep may have been the right choice.
    Tomorrow morning i hope!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭eclectichoney

1HRoZoy.jpg

Super Shoes of Squatting +5

Barbell Squat
    40 kg x 3 reps
    57.5 kg x 3 reps
    60 kg x 2 reps
    62.5 kg x 1 reps
    60 kg x 3 reps
    62.5 kg x 2 reps
    65 kg x 4 reps because why not :pac:

Barbell Bench Press
    35 kg x 3 reps
    paused

Barbell Squat
    45 kg x 5 reps
    45 kg x 3 reps
    paused
    still don't like these but they were easier

Close-Grip Barbell Bench Press
    35 kg x 5 reps

Stiff-Legged Barbell Deadlift
    50 kg x 10 reps 85
    50 kg x 10 reps (PR)
    PR my backside. wat?

Running (treadmill)
    00:30:00 | 4 km
    this was really hard today. gym was sweltering and i couldn't hit the zone at all. maybe my legs were tired from lifting too ?? I might try a long jog tomorrow like an hour or something. see how I feel

Squatting is awesome :D:D:D
    time to eat copious amounts of pate and study

Can I ask how close is your grip on the CG bench? I think mine is probably a bit wide...

Nice squatting - 65 x 4 :) I need to get me some of those shoes :pac:

I put my index finger just on the border of the rough / smooth bits I think

Til I can feel it's working different to normal bench grip

They are definitely magic shoes ...

Thanks - I'm the same kinda. I have pretty broad shoulders so that width feels comfortable. Have seen videos of people with very, very narrow grips so I guess it depends.

Shoulder width is about right, AFAIK.

Some people think going narrower loads the triceps better but anything I've read suggests it doesn't and ends up just putting unnecessary stress on wrists and/or elbows.

Way too groggy for gym today so I will go tomorrow morning

In the meantime I have progressed to being able to do 10-15s dead hang off the pull up bar unassisted so I thought I would try move on to the flex hangs as this yoke says it's next in the steps
    http://www.fitstream.com/exercises/flexed-arm-hang-a6040
    Uh, I managed about 2 seconds *with* the purple resistance band... so a good week or so of these I think :D

On the plus side my full push ups are getting a fair bit deeper

Slacked on these all week but 2 x 4s double underhand with the band
    yow

• Registered Users Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

Bluey what are your magic shoes?

You're smashing it, I'm so jealous with my piddly 30kg deadlift :P

Slacked on these all week but 2 x 4s double underhand with the band
    yow

Can I ask does the pull up bar you got need to be screwed/bolted to the door/wall or does it just fit over it? Am looking to get one but don't want one that will damage the wall. I know you can get some that just hang/fit over it but it seems like they probably aren't all that sturdy?

I got one off adverts for 30 euro, it hooks onto the doorframe. no screws or bolts into the wall or door. if you position it correctly it won't damage the wall. seems sturdy enough to me so far! really glad i got it.

my shoes are power perfects!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Bluey, when are ya starting MMA? :)

Weights are coming along great, how's the running coming?

After my exams i am still keeping it in mind! Haven't forgotten it!

Been slacking on the running. Again I'm hoping after the exams I'll have energy and time for it again as i miss it

Saw an update about being a noob if you can't plank for a minute so I did a plank for a minute
    Easier than I expected. How did that happen?

Flex hangs are now 6s with the band

Friday is study leave, straight to the gym then to de stress and then study

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

...are you sure your plank was a good one?

Serious Q.

Most people do em and look like outta work porn stars.

I wouldn't be surprisd if you could do one for a minute tho - since you can hold a good position with your squat and DL numbers your core must be doing something right.

Yeah it feels wrong if it isn't. I wasn't doing a downward dog don't worry :D

It was starting to slip at the very end though. I was expecting to slip and have to stop at 30s

today was crap on deadlifting
    suppose they can't all be good days sure
    just weak

Barbell Deadlift
    60 kg x 2 reps
    82.5 kg x 5 reps
    85 kg x 4 reps
    87.5 kg x 3 reps
    85 kg x 4 reps
    87.5 kg x 4 reps

left the 90 for later

Barbell Bench Press
    35 kg x 3 reps

Barbell Deadlift
    75 kg x 3 reps
    80 kg x 3 reps
    90 kg x 2 reps + F

would have broken my back trying to do deficits on a day like today so did normal ones

30 kg x 8 reps

Barbell Squat
    40 kg x 10 reps
    at this point i said fcuk it i'm going home

back to study

oh, flex hangs now 8s band assisted. i can feel things in my back. mad

better today!
    still tired but better

Barbell Bench Press
    32.5 kg x 5 reps
    32.5 kg x 7 reps
    35 kg x 5 reps
    35 kg x 4 reps
    35 kg x 3 reps

Barbell Deadlift
    70 kg x 5 reps

Barbell Bench Press
    30 kg x 10 reps
    30 kg x 8 reps

37.5 kg x 2 reps
    37.5 kg x 3 reps
    37.5 kg x 4 reps (PR)

these got way easier when i started bracing my back. or whatever i was doing. down up bam bam

Running (treadmill)
    00:50:00 | 6.5 km
    slowwww jog

they had HR sensors on the treadmills in this place so i had a go
    after the weights i was on 130 HR
    after half hour jog it was 186
    then after a min it was 150 then after another min it was back to 130
    "You have a good post-exercise heart rate if your recovery rate number, which measures your fitness, is between three and four"
    okay phew

the last 20 mins of the jog nearly killed me off

pew pew

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Good going Bluey! Well done on the PR.

today i had exam part 1 3.5 hours of fun and games
    ate rings around me and napped

then i went to oly. Yay!
    today i snatched 11kg and there were little plates on again so maybe 13 I don't know
    i got to progress to doing cleans from the floor. i'll guess they were 18
    no conditioning today thank god or i literally would have collapsed :)

but i'm really glad i went cos oly is lots of fun. and they play good music :)

hello it's me I came back
    I was pretty burnt out / shattered mentally and physically after the exams
    Yesterday I spent the day watching netflix and playing morrowind
    Then I did some foamrolling and mobility and flex hangs.
    I did 3 sets of 9s assisted. I think I can move on to trying unassisted this week

Today felt a bit borderline going to the gym but i said feck it no pressure see what happens
    turns out I am awesome

Barbell Squat
    40 kg x 3 reps
    55 kg x 5 reps
    57.5 kg x 4 reps
    60 kg x 3 reps
    57.5 kg x 5 reps
    60 kg x 4 reps
    62.5 kg x 3 reps

Barbell Bench Press
    35 kg x 3 reps
    paused

35 kg x 5 reps

^ i had to mix up the order instead of s/b/s/b cos once I left that bench I wasn't going to get near one again

Barbell Squat
    50 kg x 3 reps
    paused

I was laughing at the idea of doing paused on 50 at the start and today not only did I do them but they were grand :confused:
    I think I will keep progressing and do 55 next week. We'll see cos maybe the extra break of the second bench routine helped a lot
    I'm pretty sure my instructions are "if this is grand add weight"

Stiff-Legged Barbell Deadlift
    50 kg x 10 reps

I would have liked to do some jogging after but my legs had given up working at this stage. I was leaning over to get something in the shop afterwards and nearly keeled over entirely
    I'm so glad I went and it's helping the winding down for sure. Back to exhausted now though. 450g chicken + veg + morrowind

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

52.5, not 50.

Going to 55 is +10%. That's a huge jump.

Everything looks great tho.

Ah ok. I went 40 - 45 - 50 on those I think which is why I said it but you're right 52.5 will make more sense at this stage

• Registered Users Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭EmcD123

Morrowind wow...seriously,thats pretty awesome!

morrowind IS awesome :D:D

adding in that I went for the usual 4.4km walk with the doggy