Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I come too

• Registered Users Posts: 24,588 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I've never heard of it but Morrowind sounds like it's either some costume drama nonsense with Colin Firth in it or some Game Of Thrones guff.

But we'll dome on getting through the exams and the solid return to training :)

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

It's a game :D

But I like both of those things also.

Respect: lost :D

Those moments when you train and you realise you're smashing something you never thought you'd attempt...they're beautiful moments.

oly class. yay!
    I was in so much leg pain today i was hobbling around the place and getting funny looks :D so the start of class was a bit rocky cos I was afraid to do anything
    then we got going

I got to use the big girls bar!!!
    :D:D

I *think* these are the sets we did. we may have done more
    At least half done from the floor today including the heavy ones :D

Snatch
    13 kg x 3 reps
    15 kg x 3 reps
    18 kg x 1 reps
    18 kg x 1 reps (PR)

Clean and Jerk
    18 kg x 3 reps
    23 kg x 1 reps
    25 kg x 1 reps (PR)

oh we did front squats and shrugs and overhead squats also
    hurray

I was originally planning on deadlifting tomorrow but uhhhh i might just swim tomorrow and deadlift on weds ...
    pps , no conditioning. yesss. thank you :D

Swam about 24 lengths and lazed around and sauna and steam
    Still hobbling but feel better for it

Then my phone dropped out of the gym locker and broke the screen so it'll be a brisk lunchtime walk to finding repair shops... :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

bluewolf wrote: »
    oly class. yay!
    I was in so much leg pain today i was hobbling around the place and getting funny looks :D so the start of class was a bit rocky cos I was afraid to do anything
    then we got going

I got to use the big girls bar!!!
    :D:D

I *think* these are the sets we did. we may have done more
    At least half done from the floor today including the heavy ones :D

Snatch
    13 kg x 3 reps
    15 kg x 3 reps
    18 kg x 1 reps
    18 kg x 1 reps (PR)

Clean and Jerk
    18 kg x 3 reps
    23 kg x 1 reps
    25 kg x 1 reps (PR)

oh we did front squats and shrugs and overhead squats also
    hurray

I was originally planning on deadlifting tomorrow but uhhhh i might just swim tomorrow and deadlift on weds ...
    pps , no conditioning. yesss. thank you :D

You did great last night! Congrats on making the jump to the girls bar!! That's a big achievement..so be proud!!!

Barbell Deadlift
    60 kg x 3 reps
    85 kg x 4 reps
    87.5 kg x 3 reps
    90 kg x 2 reps
    87.5 kg x 4 reps
    90 kg x 3 reps
    92.5 kg x 2 reps

Barbell Bench Press
    35 kg x 3 reps
    35 kg x 6 reps

Close-Grip Barbell Bench Press
    30 kg x 12 reps
    30 kg x 8 reps

Barbell Squat
    40 kg x 10 reps

Everything was grand today
    Focused more on locking down everything during dl setup. And chest up head up. Felt rock solid today as a result.
    Focused on breathing on last squat set. Made the whole movement feel a lot more natural.
    So there's today's lessons from bluewolf :pac:
    Also phone repair willbe nearly the same cost as a new one ;(
    But I'm able to walk again :D

11s assisted flex hang. Woo!

Tried an unassisted one. My arms didn't even try, just went straight down

uhhhh I may need an intermediate band so ... or I'll just pretend i'm doing negatives

way too tired for a 6am + gym start this morning so i tried my weekend branch this evening
    busy but easily got everything i needed. it was great
    fellow squatting what looked like 140kg beside me. went over to tell him he's great and i was jealous, and we had a chat. probs thinks i'm crazy but hey, more compliments is good for the world

yes, i did skip the waves in the first half of the bench. it was easy and i was in a hurry
    ... i still much prefer heavier + fewer though :D

Barbell Bench Press
    35 kg x 9 reps
    37.5 kg x 4 reps
    37.5 kg x 3 reps
    37.5 kg x 2 reps

Barbell Deadlift
    70 kg x 3 reps
    80 kg x 3 reps

Barbell Bench Press
    30 kg x 15 reps
    30 kg x 10 reps
    30 kg x 7 reps

37.5 kg x 4 reps
    37.5 kg x 3 reps + F ROLL OF SHAME
    37.5 kg x 3 reps

Running (treadmill)
    00:05:00 |

Running (Intervals/Sprints)
    00:00:30 | 108.3 m | 13kph
    00:00:40 | 144.4 m | 13kph
    00:00:45 | 162.5 m | 13kph
    00:00:50 | 180.5 m | 13kph
    00:00:30 | 125 m | 15kph

Running (treadmill)
    00:05:00 |

Love sprint intervals

Supposed to go out tomorrow evening and I really ought to but I wanna squat
    someone cover for me

everyone seems to have been busy this weekend!
    i was off on my holidays and drove back just for oly. haha

Snatch
    17 kg x 2 reps
    19 kg x F
    17 kg x 2 reps
    19 kg x 1 reps (PR)

failed the first 19 spectacularly. fell on my backside from overhead. lol
    showed it who was boss second time

Clean and Jerk
    25 kg x 3 reps
    28 kg x 2 reps
    30 kg x 2 reps
    30 kg x 2 reps (PR)

elbows more UP
    we did overhead squats and shrugs and um i think there were front squats also and maybe snatches on the training bar that i forgot to log

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭gymfreak

failed the first 19 spectacularly. fell on my backside from overhead. lol
    showed it who was boss second time

First fall is always a shock...but you get very used to it!! Happens all the time!!! Well done today!

i am become quadzilla destroyer of worlds

I was shattered all week could barely get up for work nevermind gym which is unlike me then nearly comatose in the evenings! duno!
    anyway i felt up to gymming today

gave the front squats a go to practice "elbows UP" for the cleans

Front Barbell Squat
    40 kg x 3 reps (PR)

Barbell Squat
    57.5 kg x 4 reps
    60 kg x 3 reps
    62.5 kg x 2 reps
    60 kg x 4 reps
    62.5 kg x 3 reps
    67.5 kg x 4 reps (PR)

:D:D:D:D:D
    these were absolutely not good morninged up either
    ummm well maybe the last one was a tiny bit

Barbell Bench Press
    35 kg x 3 reps
    37.5 kg x 3 reps
    40 kg x 3 reps

paused

35 was easy so i said feck it let's go up then that was easy so let's go up again

Barbell Squat
    52.5 kg x 5 reps
    50 kg x 5 reps
    45 kg x 5 reps
    paused

dropped down to 45 to really pause longer

35 kg x 5 reps

00:00:30 | 108.3 m | sprint
    00:00:30 | 125 m | sprint
    00:00:40 | 155 m | sprint

it's funny 13kph nearly feels like running now not sprinting. i know i keep saying it but i would be curious to see what a c25k type program on 13 kph runs again would be like, i bet it'd be great
    might try fit that in somewhere sure

hurray

i did skip the SLDLs, it was bad and my hams will be sad about it. will definitely make it up

well no time like the present

Stiff-Legged Barbell Deadlift
    50 kg x 10 reps

w1d1 @ 13 kph
    00:01:00 | 216.7 m | run
    00:01:30 | 0 m | walk
    00:01:30 | 0 m | walk 5

fcuk me that was harder than i expected. and yet also not. i think it's cos i was just tired. no breathing kind of issues anyway
    I think i shall continue this experiment and see how far i get
    last week of lifting program coming up now so i'll have the most free time i will ever have ^^

time for afternoon tea!!

Oly class!!

Today I think the front squats paid off cos I remembered elbows UP and also JUMP for the CNJ and they went very well
    I think I remember just about everything we did. we did so many sets of everything :confused:
    was so much fun as usual

Overhead Barbell Squat
    15 kg x 3 reps

Snatch
    15 kg x 2 reps
    15 kg x 3 reps
    17 kg x 3 reps
    18 kg x 3 reps

Front Barbell Squat
    15 kg x 5 reps

Clean and Jerk
    15 kg x 3 reps
    18 kg x 3 reps
    20 kg x 3 reps
    25 kg x 3 reps
    25 kg x 2 reps

Goblet Squat (dumbbell)
    20 kg x 5 reps

C25k w1d2 at 13kph
    The experiment continues
    Thanks to rudimental for getting me through the last interval
    Covered 3km apparently

hello!

I think i twisted my forearm a bit somehow in oly :o It's only a twinge now and then. did gentle stretches & think it's ok. just posting as a reminder to do the wrist tape thing GF mentioned in the next class!

I was utterly shattered today and yesterday. I thought i would never move agaiiiiin.So I had a big sandwich and creatine and set off ... and kicked ass :confused::) maybe i should stop training fasted! :D

It's the last week of my program!!! This program has been my favourite one so far. I love how simple it is and I love the decreasing waves from a psych point of view. Much easier to get up and do the next set again when it's fewer reps. Even when it's heavier :pac:

Barbell Deadlift
    60 kg x 3 reps
    87.5 kg x 3 reps
    90 kg x 2 reps
    92.5 kg x 1 reps
    90 kg x 3 reps
    92.5 kg x 2 reps
    95 kg x 3 reps <- BOOM

Barbell Bench Press
    35 kg x 6 reps
    35 kg x 3 reps

5x3 snore

Stiff-Legged Barbell Deadlift
    50 kg x 10 reps

30 kg x 8 reps

ALL the squat racks were in use today so i couldn't squat :( i wore my special shoes for nothing! i will squat tomorrow maybe
    I will see how i feel about benching with the arm

here we are on the last day
    I'm fcuking shattered in general, i don't think it's the program i think it's everything :D i don't know how i got to the gym and having logged it here i have no idea how i did any of it tonight - in bits. skipped all the accessory stuff

i was halfway through the 40kg squats when it hit me that i am really going to need the full week to deload, so any hope of doing squat day on mon/tues is a non runner, so while i didn't have the squat day program with me i could take a fair guess at what it was

on the plus side, if i am in the state i'm in and can knock out squats near or on my max after all those 40s and the benching and so on, i'm excited about testing next week! :D
    next week is gonna be oly, foamrolling, swim and sauna and running i think

bye program you were my favourite !

Barbell Bench Press
    37.5 kg x 3 reps
    37.5 kg x 2 reps
    37.5 kg x 1 reps
    40 kg x 3 reps
    40 kg x 2 reps
    40 kg x 3 reps

Overhead Barbell Squat
    11 kg x 3 reps
    someone left an 11kg bar on the squat rack. did some OH squats for fun / warm up :D

Barbell Squat
    40 kg x 10 reps
    switched to program here

60 kg x 3 reps
    62.5 kg x 2 reps
    65 kg x 1 reps
    62.5 kg x 3 reps
    65 kg x 2 reps
    67.5 kg x 1 reps

c25k w1d3 @ 13kph
    cut one run in half, so did the last one at 15 kph to make up
    pps i love running at this speed.

"I'm so tired but I did all this"

Lost track of what we did in oly but this is the gist of it
    20 kg snatch felt good on the first one, finally got the pull right
    spent most of the class dizzy and unable to breathe properly - chest has been getting worse for weeks. will finally see a doc tomorrow
    sorry for being a grump during the class...

Overhead Barbell Squat
    7 kg x 3 reps

Snatch
    7 kg x 3 reps
    9 kg x 3 reps
    15 kg x 3 reps
    18 kg x 3 reps
    20 kg x 2 reps
    20 kg x 2 reps (PR)

Clean and Jerk
    15 kg x 2 reps
    20 kg x 2 reps
    25 kg x 2 reps

+ some evil split squats at the end

not a chest inf, had an xray this morning, bloods tomorrow, the MAIN thing is that it's not an inf or cold so i am ok to run. in my own opinion anyway ...
    could be iron def. despite the mountains of beef i eat

15 min slow jog
    +
    w2d1 of c25k @ 13kph. This week is 90s runs :(
    I only managed 80s ones this time so i did an extra 1min sprint at the end, 15 kph

testing day! yay!!

"so how do you warm up?"
    "lol"
    ":mad:"

squat 72.5
    bench 46
    deadlift 107.5

annoyed about the squat as i know i can do heavier but had a head and a form break down there so had to just call it. gr! next time! :)

deadlift form has improved a lot apparently, the upper body work between my flex hangs and oly has helped a lot
    bench is a big jump for me also

plus I introduced hanley to electroswing, lol

have my new program but won't start for a week or two!
    time to eat all the (non wheat) things

tried to go to the gym today
    in the heat and with a headache

20 min slow jog + 2 intervals before i gave up

sweltering gym again grrr

40 min slow jog / 5k

+

most of w2d2 this time, see below

13 kph: 60s, 60s, 75s
    11.5 kph: 90s, 90s, 90s

Absolutely sweltering horrible heat. Duno was the ac broken.

Will try next one thurs or fri morning hopefully cooler then

Hour slow jog / 7k

Did some benching for the craic

30kg 2x10
    35kg 2x5

yay oly!!

i snatched 23-24kg a good few times today :eek: and then 25kg once :eek:

CNJ went up from 30 to 35! and i cleaned 38kg too!! i totally had the 38 jerk but the plates fell off ;(

*all lifts today were above the knee

and all my brownies got scoffed :D:D

what a great day

i said i'd do a race in 3 weeks ... so went for a short outdoor jog tonight to get used to pacing myself etc
    got it spot on and didn't have to stop and thoroughly enjoyed it
    slow but sure that's me
    about 3.5 km in about 24 mins
    lovely evening

i said i'd do a race in 3 weeks ... so went for a short outdoor jog tonight to get used to pacing myself etc
    got it spot on and didn't have to stop and thoroughly enjoyed it
    slow but sure that's me
    about 3.5 km in about 24 mins
    lovely evening

Pacing can be hard to get a handle on. Last one I did I remember thinking "I've no idea what pace I'm doing". Only knew at the mile 1 marker :)

So...all tips welcome.

go as slow as fcukin possible... no, slower than that ... there you go
    that's my tips
    lol
    I have a song I know my footfall to at my slow pace on the treadmill as well, if that makes any sense, so if I'm in sync with that song I know I'm on track as well.
    Might help?

I have a song I know my footfall to at my slow pace on the treadmill as well, if that makes any sense, so if I'm in sync with that song I know I'm on track as well.
    Might help?

Ah, music! I haven't run with headphones in so long I forgot that one. Used have a great playlist. Great rpm for running but the music might well have been pants...

I don't think I could run without it!!
    My playlist this evening was a parov stelar megamix. Brilliant