Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I come too

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Hi all
    Had tonsilitis and things, off work, antibiotics, generally wishing for death... So i hadnt been to the gym in the last month

Trying to catch up a bit on the post comp volume training program

Feeling pretty weak!!
    I didn't manage all the reps i was supposed to but i sure as hell tried!

Front Barbell Squat
    20 kg x 4 reps
    35 kg x 7 reps

Barbell Squat
    40 kg x 2 reps
    45 kg x 4 reps this set was 1.5 squats. After that i had to go back to normal ones
    40 kg x 6 reps
    40 kg x 8 reps
    40 kg x 7 reps

Barbell Split Squat
    20 kg x 7 reps

Romanian Deadlift
    40 kg x 10 reps

• Registered Users Posts: 24,589 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I can barely read it for the dust! :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I'm learning there are more than one type of squat and deadlift :p
    Them's a lot of squats!

bluewolf wrote: »
    45 kg x 4 reps this set was 1.5 squats. After that i had to go back to normal ones

Why wopuld you do that to yourself the first day back?

Oh, the inhumanity!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Why wopuld you do that to yourself the first day back?

Oh, the inhumanity!

she does what she's told. It's why she's making such great progress :D

I'm learning there are more than one type of squat and deadlift :p
    Them's a lot of squats!

There's double pause and banded DLs on day 3 o.O
    I just looked up how to do banded DLs. That's just sick... Benefits look v good though

There's double pause and banded DLs on day 3 o.O
    I just looked up how to do banded DLs. That's just sick...

I'm 99% sure you've come up with the wrong banded Dl variant too. Post it up for me to see if you can.

I don't know if that is good or bad news lol

This is what i was looking at
    https://youtu.be/F6xPIZC6lhM

Looks like I'll have to learn how to do sumo DLs as well

Hanley wrote: »
    she does what she's told. It's why she's making such great progress :D

True.

Day 1, though???

YOU'RE A MONSTER, HANLEY.

I forgot to mention i registered for the next IPF open
    PRs not gonna set themselves :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,486 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Welcome back. That's some volume of squats!! :eek::eek:

Hope you're not planning on sitting down for the rest of the week! :pac:

I don't know if that is good or bad news lol

This is what i was looking at
    https://youtu.be/F6xPIZC6lhM

Looks like I'll have to learn how to do sumo DLs as well

Nope :)

This way: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dhzx0wVcWF0

you can put bands around wrist too if more comfortable

I can feel my lats contracting just watching that. Definitely need to get some of that going down.

Nice!

hi
    Well as expected I have been in agonising pain since Tuesday morning. My hobbling around resembles a lame penguin and there has been a lot of pointing and laughing. And weird looks from strangers wondering why I was shuffling along :pac: I've also nearly fallen over a few times
    Fun times :D:D

Dips - (assisted, purple band)
    8 reps
    6 reps
    4 reps
    Started off oh so easy and went downhill ...

Barbell Incline Bench Press
    25 kg x 9 reps (PR)
    25 kg x 8 reps

Close-Grip Barbell Bench Press
    25 kg x 9 reps

Elliptical Trainer
    00:10:00 | - very very gently to stretch out my legs a bit

One-Arm Dumbbell Row
    5 kg x 10 reps
    6 kg x 10 reps
    6 kg x 10 reps - ok i cheated a bit on the weight. 10kg next time, swearz

Did some hams and quads stretches in here, and then ...

Barbell Lunges
    20 kg x 5 reps
    20 kg x 5 reps (PR)

surprise #1: that i was physically able to do these at all. I was so set on skipping them today i didnt write them in my program for today. was supposed to be 10 apparently
    surprise #2: 20 is kinda light ...

So there we go.
    I'll be like this fella for the next few days I'd say

if-youre-happy-trex-458x458.jpg

Time to see if Scott Herman has a sumo DL video so I can swot up for saturday
    thanks for the banded DL vid up there hanley

"So, I felt a bit sore but I went and hit a couple of PRs anyway...just 'cause"

The lunge PR is cos I've never done the barbell ones before
    The incline one I have no idea what's going on, it must be a #reps PR

The girl who won in the 84 weight class in the nationals lifted just under 400 kg total o.O

Regardless, they're not light.

Bad news is your glutes won't like it for a while :D

I practised the sumo deadlifts with a little kettlebell and practised the banded DL yokes with just a band, before going to the gym today. Got the lats going. The banded DL yoke didn't work quite so well when I did it with the barbell though ... might do it with the empty bar next time

I like the sumos anyway glad I am learning them!

Sumo Deadlift
    20 kg x 2 reps
    40 kg x 2 reps
    55 kg x 1 reps
    60 kg x 8 reps
    60 kg x 8 reps (PR)

Sumo Deadlift, Double Paused
    40 kg x 8 reps

Barbell Deadlift, banded
    40 kg x 8 reps

Barbell Squat, 10-breath paused
    30 kg x 4 reps
    30 kg x 3 reps

The paused squats got a bit sad ... I'll try harder next time to hit the reps :pac:

Barbell Squat, 10-breath paused
    30 kg x 4 reps
    30 kg x 3 reps

The paused squats got a bit sad ... I'll try harder next time to hit the reps :pac:

Is that where you basically pause at the bottom and hang out there for a while (or 10 breaths :D)?
    There is an insane greg nukols video with omar isuf where he is just sitting in a squat with a heavy weight for like 2 minutes or something whilst he's recording the video and chatting away :eek::eek:

Yes and I think that's the one I saw when I was looking it up!! :eek:

Super exhausted and didn't wanna go today

Chins were top of the list but I can't do those so I will do some band assisted attempts or negatives in a while now

Bent Over Barbell Row
    20 kg x 5 reps
    30 kg x 8 reps
    25 kg x 9 reps

Bent Over Two-Dumbbell Row <- these were chest supported dumbbell rows, this is the closest I could log them as
    6 kg x 10 reps

Group A
    Standing Dumbbell Shoulder Press
    6 kg x 10 reps
    Stiff Leg Barbell Good Morning
    20 kg x 2 reps
    30 kg x 8 reps

First time doing good mornings! On purpose, like :pac: I think I got the hang of them

Elliptical Trainer
    00:25:00 |

I went on the xtrainer "for 5-10 mins" for a stretch / to try cheer myself up a bit
    after 5 mins: this sucks I wanna go home
    after 10 mins: THIS IS GREAT LET'S DO THIS YEAHHH!!!

So week 1 is over! I learned lots of new lifts. It's cool, I like it.
    Hopefully now that I have a week behind me and sort of know what I am doing, i'll be able to hit it hard :)

Super exhausted and didn't wanna go today

Chins were top of the list but I can't do those so I will do some band assisted attempts or negatives in a while now

Bent Over Barbell Row
    20 kg x 5 reps
    30 kg x 8 reps
    25 kg x 9 reps

Bent Over Two-Dumbbell Row <- these were chest supported dumbbell rows, this is the closest I could log them as
    6 kg x 10 reps

Group A
    Standing Dumbbell Shoulder Press
    6 kg x 10 reps
    Stiff Leg Barbell Good Morning
    20 kg x 2 reps
    30 kg x 8 reps

First time doing good mornings! On purpose, like :pac: I think I got the hang of them

Elliptical Trainer
    00:25:00 |

I went on the xtrainer "for 5-10 mins" for a stretch / to try cheer myself up a bit
    after 5 mins: this sucks I wanna go home
    after 10 mins: THIS IS GREAT LET'S DO THIS YEAHHH!!!

So week 1 is over! I learned lots of new lifts. It's cool, I like it.
    Hopefully now that I have a week behind me and sort of know what I am doing, i'll be able to hit it hard :)

Even though it sometimes seems a bit unfashionable round here... Yay for cardio! Sometimes, anyway :) :pac:

Strength phase program!!!
    Cos I was sick and missed 4 weeks, I missed most of the volume one ... instructed to move over to the next one with the rest of the lads as it's timed competition-wise.
    New program yay :D

Barbell Deadlift
    60 kg x 3 reps
    70 kg x 2 reps
    80 kg x 2 reps

Rack Deadlift, from 20kg bumper plate yokes
    82.5 kg x 2 reps
    82.5 kg x 2 reps (PR)

Rack Deadlift, snatch grip
    60 kg x 4 reps

hookgrip? more like OWgrip

Front Barbell Squat
    35 kg x 8 reps

Elliptical Trainer
    00:11:00
    bitta stretching

Ok I have to remember to do some negatives as well shortly

Barbell Bench Press
    20 kg x 8 reps
    25 kg x 5 reps
    32.5 kg x 3 reps

2xAMRAP:
    25 kg x 17 reps
    25 kg x 13 reps

Barbell Bench Press (Spoto)
    27.5 kg x 6 reps

Group A
    Lying Barbell Triceps Extension (skullcrushers)
    5 kg x 12 reps
    5 kg x 10 reps
    7.5 kg x 8 reps
    7.5 kg x 6 reps
    10 kg x 5 reps (PR)
    First time ever doing these. Started with empty bar so i wouldn't actually crush my skull. Wasn't sure whether to use dumbbells or wiggly bar till i saw another lad doing them with the bar so i did too :p
    don't know how much the bar weighs so i'm guessing 5kg which is what i logged above

Arnold Dumbbell Press
    4 kg x 12 reps
    4 kg x 12 reps (PR)

Group B
    Dumbbell Flyes
    6 kg x 10 reps

Bent Over Barbell Row
    17.5 kg x 10 reps
    20 kg x 10 reps

Poor arms
    *flail

I'm super efficient today!
    Had a session with Hanley and learned how to low bar squat!!!
    Did up to a triple on 60. I think I have the hang of it, I'll practice anyway
    Learned how to do back raises as well and have notes on other things I can sub in the program.
    Super excited to attack it on Saturday now :cool::cool::cool:

Ah here, you are sick and run down and not lifting for the best part of a month and then you just knock out a handy triple back squat at 60kg :eek::eek: #allthequads

He tricked me into it if it's any consolation :pac: :D:D

Let's just do one.

...and another one.

...and one more.

Is how it went.

Ok yesterday Saturday 12/03

Barbell Squat, low bar
    20 kg x 3 reps
    35 kg x 3 reps
    45 kg x 3 reps

Barbell Squat, high bar
    50 kg x 5 reps
    Supposed to be 2 sets. I got completely confused and forgot how to do HB squats and gave up. I'll warm up HB ones next time

Barbell Squat, Paused, low bar
    35 kg x 6 reps

Romanian Deadlift
    20 kg x 10 reps

Barbell Deadlift (EMOM)
    50 kg x 3 reps
    65 kg x 2 reps

Seated Leg Curl
    55 kg x 10 reps
    50 kg x 10 reps

Body Weight Glute Hamstring Raise
    10 reps
    10 reps
    10 reps (PR)

Elliptical Trainer
    00:10:00 | just for a stretch

and Today

Barbell Bench Press
    20 kg x 8 reps
    30 kg x 6 reps
    32.5 kg x 5 reps
    35 kg x 3 reps

Barbell Bench Press, amraps
    30 kg x 8 reps

Barbell Incline Bench Press, paused
    25 kg x 5 reps

Barbell Bench Press, double spoto
    20 kg x 10 reps
    20 kg x 8 reps
    22.5 kg x 6 reps
    22.5 kg x 5 reps

Dumbbell 2-Arm Triceps Extension (DB skullcrushers)
    3 kg x 12 reps
    3 kg x 12 reps (PR)

Dumbbell OHP
    5 kg x 12 reps

couldn't get near a lat machine
    I wasn't too unhappy about it at that stage anyway

Completely exhausted and passing out after all that, food time
    Whatever it takes to get my bench up sure :D