Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I come too

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Barbell Squat, LB
    40 kg x 5 reps
    50 kg x 4 reps
    60 kg x 2 reps
    70 kg x 1 reps
    75 kg x 1 reps

Barbell Squat, HB
    20 kg x 6 reps
    40 kg x 5 reps
    50 kg x 4 reps
    60 kg x 3 reps

Barbell Bench Press
    25 kg x 9 reps

Today's squats were making sure we are setting up properly at 95%, and not doing things like what I used to do with walking around half the platform with the weight on my back and tiring myself out before finally deciding to squat. Just unrack, hold for a sec, then step back into position
    I've been nailing it since it was pointed out to me last time and continued to do so tonight
    Everything was grand. Even 75. ermagerd

HB squats are still sad

Hopefully the humidity will end soon :eek::eek:

Edit to add a self note: happy with the LB warm up exercises & sets. Did a lot of stretching my arms and was untightened by the time I got near 70

Barbell Bench Press
    20 kg x 8 reps
    30 kg x 6 reps
    40 kg x 2 reps
    42.5 kg x 1 reps

Barbell Bench Press, 3s pause
    40 kg x 3 reps

Romanian Deadlift
    20 kg x 10 reps

Barbell Deadlift
    60 kg x 3 reps
    Lat Pulldown
    21 kg x 12 reps
    28 kg x 12 reps

More setup work today, this time benching
    things touching bench that are supposed to, feet flat, stop and make sure bar is motionless on chest as if for cues, etc
    Didn't warm up as much as I wanted to - i wanted a 35 in there - and ended up doing the paused bench on 40 because plates kept disappearing...
    Still, it was all easy enough anyway
    Deadlift stuff tomorrow which I'm not super looking forward to, then rest, then comp prep day on sat :eek: :D

Yesterday's workout had an average bpm of 120 and today's was 109
    lols

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Someone was paying attention to the IPF group :)

bluewolf vs the deadlift!
    tonight's showdown!!!

Romanian Deadlift
    20 kg x 10 reps

Barbell Deadlift
    40 kg x 7 reps
    60 kg x 3 reps
    75 kg x 2 reps
    90 kg x 1 reps
    97.5 kg x 1 reps
    105 kg x 1 reps

Barbell Deadlift
    70 kg x 3 reps

Barbell Squat
    40 kg x 3 reps

Bent Over Barbell Row
    20 kg x 8 reps

Hang Clean
    20 kg x 3 reps
    30 kg x 1 reps
    35 kg x 1 reps
    40 kg x 1 reps

today I ...
    warmed up at lighter weights (like last time's comp)
    brought my feet a teensy bit wider
    brought my hips a teensy bit lower
    double checked core was engaged
    shoulders back lats down chest out

I think it helped
    The 105 didn't fly up now but there was never any question of getting it up (that's what he said lols)
    Considering that's day #4 in a row which I'm not used to and I'm soooo tired I think it went well

Based on this week I'd venture 75 / 45 / 105 as openers for next week. I also hit those as maxes last time so there'd be no surprises as to what I can in comp
    We'll see on saturday anyway!
    Rest time :eek::)
    Might work on getting more than like 7 hours sleep

• Registered Users Posts: 5,486 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Nice deads :)

Good luck with the prep for next week!

Might work on getting more than like 7 hours sleep
    If by "more than 7" i meant 6, then yes ...

Comp prep day!
    Too lazy to log properly

-squat form was all over the place
    -got depressed til H poitned out I did that last time then got it together in comp
    -worked up to 72.5, grand, opening on that
    -notes: feet wider, sit back more

-bench was piss easy at 42.5 so i'm opening on 45 and we think i can hit 50 but anyway i know i can do 45 in my sleep

-I am sick to the teeth of DLs
    -opening on 102.5
    - it looks a lot smoother on video than it feels. looked like a totally casual pick it up thing lol
    -notes: feet narrower, point straight ahead

Brought a lot of gf cupcakes last time and I'll be doing that this time ... and porridge ... and sandwiches...
    lol

afk stuffing face

Some of the lads were testing today. Jaysus those numbers

Supposed to work out yest
    couldnt move. was asleep by 915
    still exhausted

today:
    worked up to 37.5kg bench 3x1
    worked up to 65kg squat 3x1
    feet wider, back straighter

lower back sore, didn't deadlift
    supposed to be 2 more workouts this week but at this stage if i still feel crap tomorrow i might just do one of them

core stuff before bed

holy core doms, batman!
    Not helped by singing teacher deciding today was another jabby tummy day. I asked if should get a lifting belt for singing lessons. I think she was seriously considering it...

Did some more tonight, core rolling mob
    Last workout tomorrow

Worked up to:
    squat
    40 2x1
    50 x1
    Feet wider, pretended i was waiting for commands, etc
    Bit paranoid about my back not being straight enough for the start

bench
    30 3x1
    commands again and a bit of a pause
    tried not to drop the bar too fast

DL
    60 3x1
    feet narrower and pointing straight
    had to "catch" myself setting up each time as i kept automatically going back to the wider pointy outy stance
    Sure that's what this session was for I suppose!

did one more empty bar squat to do feet again

Xtrainer: 10 mins gentle

That's it now I suppose. have the gear ready to go

Best of luck wolfy :)

I have been fcukin exhausted all day and living on coffee and sweets and it was sooo long and i cant move and it was AMAZING!!! god i forgot how absolutely lovely everyone is.

Final numbers sq/bench/dl 82.5 (+5) / 47.5 (+2.5) / 115 (+5)
    I have no idea how i hit them and what's more they were all easy with more left in the tank (except i failed the 50 bench, i mean the s and dl were)
    Can't believe i nearly chickened out with a lower third dl attempt :D

Wheeeee

• Registered Users Posts: 24,590 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Congrats. Brilliant numbers. And room to take down bigger numbers!

Maybe you'll back yourself more next time :)

I think I will have to!
    The others really pushed hard on their third attempts I might do that at Athlone

haha I can officially squat > bw now
    finally...

Wow serious PBs there! Congrats :) You'll get that 50 bench the next time too I'd say. Great numbers.

I'm devo you didn't open on 115kg tbh.

120+ in athlone and then something bigger in RevFit at the DL comp

I'm a bit amazed how it all went - we all heard how much bitching and moaning i was doing about deadlifts the weeks before hand
    I'm DYING to hit 120+ at athlone

May be out of the country for the revfit one, i'll double check dates

bluewolf wrote: »
    I'm a bit amazed how it all went - we all heard how much bitching and moaning i was doing about deadlifts the weeks before hand
    I'm DYING to hit 120+ at athlone

May be out of the country for the revfit one, i'll double check dates

It was the same with JP - deadlifts just went REALLY well for everyone this cycle

He missed 182 last time, crushed it this time and did it confidently enough he went for 190+!

Deload week ahh
    2 weeks even
    I was startin to get antsy

Front Barbell Squat
    20 kg x 5 reps
    30 kg x 4 reps
    35 kg x 5 reps

Barbell Bench Press, feet up
    20 kg x 6 reps
    30 kg x 6 reps

Lat Pulldown
    21 kg x 10 reps
    Group A
    Dumbbell Bicep Curl
    6 kg x 12 reps
    Lying Dumbbell Tricep Extension
    5 kg x 12 reps
    6 kg x 12 reps

Was it not 8s on bench?

Ah flip i must have read the rpe 6 and written 6
    I woulda done 8 if i'd written it down correctly ><

Subbed the skulls for the cable pushdown thingy as there's only one and every person in the weights area is always on it and I read it's for tris, hope that's ok
    although apparently that was 15s and not 12s
    lol
    I'll write the next one properly

Well that was a bit of a flop
    I got another bout of tonsillitis
    Back on antibios.

While I wasn't working out I was doing some core & mob

Romanian Deadlift
    20 kg x 9 reps
    25 kg x 9 reps
    Today I was paying attention to my upper back as well ... shoulders back etc. So this was a bit of upper back burn as well
    I think it's been a bit weaker lately or something

Close-Grip Barbell Bench Press
    30 kg x 8 reps

tricep burrrrrn

Barbell Lunges
    20 kg x 9 reps
    25 kg x 9 reps
    25 kg x 9 reps (PR)
    20 kg x 9 reps

lads that's some serious glute burn. I should do these more often

Dumbbell Bicep Curl
    6 kg x 12 reps
    5 kg x 12 reps
    One-Arm Dumbbell Row
    6 kg x 15 reps
    5 kg x 15 reps
    Reverse Flyes
    2 kg x 10 reps
    3 kg x 10 reps

I hate reverse flyes but I hate roundy shoulders even more

That was fun!
    Back on saturday hopefully

Barbell Squat, paused on the way down
    40 kg x 3 reps
    50 kg x 5 reps
    40 kg x 5 reps
    ow

Barbell Deadlift
    60 kg x 2 reps
    ow

Bent Over Barbell Row
    20 kg x 12 reps

Group A
    Dumbbell Floor Press
    6 kg x 12 reps
    6 kg x 8 reps
    Push-Up
    6 reps
    2 reps
    2 reps
    2 reps

the 6 reps was half-push ups, the 2 reps were nose to floor ones
    i can do a few when i'm not supersetting with other arm things... most i could manage at a time today was 2 though

Elliptical Trainer
    00:30:00

Today was day 1 of our volume month
    My hip was a bit stiff/sore before I sorted. Ah well it'll stretch out.
    It did not stretch out. And I tried.
    It started off painful on my warm up set and got worse and worse with more weight (and even no weight) so I had to call it off in case I was doing actual damage. Walking driving etc everything hurts now

Epsom bath, ibup, walk tomorrow, deep breath, try again Thursday

Squats got as far as ...
    40 x3
    50 x2
    60 x1
    65 x1

:(

Still twingey all day :mad:
    Did a bunch of foam rolling and stretching.
    Plan B for tomorrow is day 2's workout which seems to be mostly upper body
    Went for a walk today

Sure we'll see tomorrow

Do you know what's great?
    ibuprofen is great

Barbell Squat
    40 kg x 3 reps
    50 kg x 2 reps
    60 kg x 5 reps

65 kg x 3 reps

Barbell Squat paused on the way down, HB
    35 kg x 10 reps
    35 kg x 8 reps --->my note here says "VOM!!!!!"
    35 kg x 10 reps

Dumbbell Split Squat
    10 kg x 7 reps (PR) this was actually using the bar but i got confused so i swapped to DB rfe

9 kg x 7 reps
    9 kg x 6 reps

Barbell Bench Press, feet up
    30 kg x 10 reps

12rm? more like 10rm

Seated Leg Curl
    35 kg x 10 reps

probs a bit light but there you go
    Elliptical Trainer
    00:15:00 | gently

re: CGBP
    Doesn't the program say do a 12RM and then do 3 more sets of 8-10 reps?

Aghh
    i thought it was a comment about the 3 sets being at 12rm
    Not deliberately

Do 1 12RM, then do 3 sets of 8-10 reps at that 12RM weight :)

Today I am tired and cranky and my sinuses are trying to kill me and escape

double checked program before i left, had the same 12rm comment issue, added in

Barbell Bench Press
    20 kg x 8 reps
    30 kg x 5 reps
    40 kg x 5 reps
    42.5 kg x 3 reps

Barbell Bench Press, double pause
    30 kg x 10 reps
    30 kg x 8 reps
    25 kg x 2 reps
    25 kg x 10 reps

Dips - assisted purple band
    5 reps
    4 reps
    5 reps
    Couldn't make it to 8 :confused:
    I was totally rocking these a few weeks ago

Stiff-Legged Barbell Deadlift
    20 kg x 6 reps
    30 kg x 12 reps
    40 kg x 12 reps
    40 kg x 8 reps
    I don't think 40 is my 12rm but I was confused enough so went with it
    are you supposed to do these from the floor. I usually start from standing and go down pretty far but not to the floor

Lying Barbell Triceps Extension
    7.5 kg x 5 reps
    10 kg x 8 reps
    10 kg x 8 reps (PR)
    calling the wiggly bar 7.5kg

Elliptical Trainer
    00:37:00 | moderate