Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I come too

• Registered Users Posts: 24,591 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

bluewolf wrote: »
    story time ...
    I hate loading bars on the ground so i usually put the bar on the lowest rack and put on the 20kg plates and then put it on the ground and go from there, same for unloading it
    today the power rack was in use so i used the squat rack, loaded up the 50kg, put it on my shoulders and walked it out. then tried to lower it halfway between dropping and lowering it.
    the bruise on my left quad is magnificent

That can only have been as spectacularly awkward as it sounds :D

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

I don't really know what i was thinking
    Lol
    I suppose i was trying to catch it as though I'd just finished a clean and was going to do another from standing
    Lesson learned, only do it from the rack and don't be so lazy

• Registered Users Posts: 5,486 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Ouch! A new meaning to the word DOMS.

Onto the T minus 3 weeks program now

Barbell Squat
    20 kg x 3 reps
    40 kg x 3 reps
    50 kg x 2 reps
    60 kg x 1 reps
    70 kg x 1 reps

75 kg x 3 reps

Huh, surprisingly fine. Found a core cue while doing those DLs on sat that seems to work out well
    Wayyyy better than whatever day it was I couldn't amrap 72.5!!

Barbell Squat, HB
    20 kg x 3 reps
    40 kg x 2 reps
    50 kg x 1 reps
    60 kg x 3 reps

lols i hate hb

Barbell Bench Press
    25 kg x 9 reps

that took half an hour

time for some fun

Clean and Jerk
    20 kg x 2 reps
    25 kg x 2 reps
    30 kg x 2 reps
    35 kg x 2 reps

30+ from the ground

Elliptical Trainer
    00:15:00 | 2.4km

I may be back to whingeing again next time, but between tonight and saturday's workout, I am feeling strong at the moment

Least you know you can do the heavier stuff more comfortably than you thought. Shi*ty days happen...but then it comes together.

Feel rotten the last few days and run down so avoided the gym
    Taking tomorrow off for study also so i should be ok to fit workout #4 in there
    Tiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiired

today i merged days 2 & 3 which i know is a bad habit and wasnt planned

Barbell Bench Press
    20 kg x 8 reps
    30 kg x 3 reps
    40 kg x 1 reps
    45 kg x 3 reps
    45 kg x 2 reps

hard enough but then my 1rm is 47.5 lol

Barbell Bench Press, 3s pause
    35 kg x 3 reps

Barbell Deadlift
    60 kg x 3 reps
    75 kg x 2 reps
    90 kg x 1 reps
    102.5 kg x 3 reps

surprisingly grand. i duno how that works where i'm wrecked and can't move and then stroll into the gym and be all 102.5 for reps no bother
    lol
    didn't have to psych myself up between sets like last week either

block pulls (forgot to log those??)
    60kg 2x3

Sumo Deadlift
    60 kg x 3 reps
    70 kg x 3 reps

Bent Over Barbell Row
    20 kg x 8 reps
    i didn't write down what reps i was supposed to do on these so i guessed 3x8, boom i got it right

Elliptical Trainer
    00:19:30 | 3km

then my legs fell off

total time 1h 10

I feel 100% beaten up
    took today off to study and gym :pac:

Barbell Squat
    20 kg x 3 reps
    40 kg x 3 reps
    55 kg x 2 reps
    70 kg x 1 reps

Barbell Bench Press
    20 kg x 8 reps
    30 kg x 3 reps
    42.5 kg x 1 reps

Romanian Deadlift
    20 kg x 10 reps
    Barbell Deadlift
    60 kg x 3 reps
    75 kg x 2 reps
    90 kg x 1 reps
    100 kg x 1 reps

Clean
    20 kg x 3 reps
    25 kg x 3 reps
    30 kg x 3 reps

Elliptical Trainer
    00:40:00 | slowly enough

the walk back to the changing room was a bit wobbly :pac:

Levels of do not want remain high
    I had a 2 hour nap after work last night ;s

Barbell Squat
    20 kg x 3 reps
    40 kg x 3 reps
    55 kg x 2 reps
    70 kg x 1 reps

77.5 kg x 1 reps

Kinda had it in my head that I'd like to open on 77.5 next week. I might do. 82.5 was max last time so maybe 77.5/82.5/whatever

There was talk of doing openers on sat but I'm not sure what's happening

Barbell Squat, HB
    20 kg x 3 reps
    40 kg x 2 reps
    60 kg x 3 reps

Barbell Bench Press
    20 kg x 3 reps
    30 kg x 3 reps

Elliptical Trainer
    00:30:00 | 4.5km

Openers all set now

prev maxes were: 82.5/47.5/115
    so openers are going to be: 77.5/47.5/110

47.5 was super easy :cool: The others were grand as well. Got a bit of feedback. Have to widen my squat stance a bit as usual. Deadlift I'm really super happy with my setup.
    Weight is still the same as yesterday (despite all the sweets...) and 2kg lighter than last comp
    By my scales anyway

everyone at revfit is so nice. I have to just move to the northside
    lol

time to eat all the things

Looks like some PRs gon' get smashed on the platform!

i slept for 11 hours on saturday night

Barbell Squat
    20 kg x 3 reps
    40 kg x 3 reps
    55 kg x 2 reps
    65 kg x 3 reps
    I forgot the entire point of doing 3 singles instead of a triple because the 65s felt so good and my stance was wider etc. I'll remember on weds. durr

Romanian Deadlift
    20 kg x 10 reps
    Barbell Deadlift
    60 kg x 2 reps
    75 kg x 1 reps
    90 kg x 1 reps

me before gym: DLs are so exciting I wonder what I can lift on saturday I wonder will it be this or this
    me in gym: DLs are stupid i'm going home

Barbell Bench Press
    20 kg x 8 reps
    30 kg x 3 reps
    40 kg x 1 reps
    i pretended i was doing commands here

Elliptical Trainer
    00:30:00 | 5km

afk ded
    my legs are super achey i'll do even more foamrolling and maybe leave cardio til after saturday i duno

final session before saturday

squat
    20 x3
    40 3x1

bench
    20 x5
    35 3x1

RDL 20 x8
    DL 60 3x1

Did my set ups, did my commands, etc

Good luck on saturday bluey! #magicdeadlifts

Beat of luck tomorrow!

Thanks guys!

Well!
    I was exhausted as usual this morning. I failed my squat opener. I failed attempt #2. Both on depth?? I think i was just freaked out cos depth hasn't been an issue this year at all.I passed the third one and didn't bomb out the whole day! So no squat pr.
    Bench opener was easy. 50 i fought hard for and i was there with it halfway up for AGES but i just couldn't do it either time.
    By that stage i was like ok bad day sure.

Deadlifts felt heavy. Was nervous. Went for 120. Got it. That's 1.5x bw! I actually nearly burst into tears walking off the platform i was so relieved i got a 5kg pr :D:D the can of monster i chugged may have contributed to that ha ha.

Lesson there i think is go lighter on opener if I'm squatting in the morning... It was pretty different to last time when i got to weigh in in the morning and eat copious amounts of food til 2pm.

It was a great day and everyone was so lovely as usual and I'm happy now :)

I have returned
    Didn't get to do my usual tuesday session cos i had to do a 3 hour mock exam after work. zzzzzz

jaysus lads the heat.

Group A
    Barbell Squat
    20 kg x 3 reps paused way down
    40 kg x 5 reps
    today's squats were VERY DEEP.

Front Dumbbell Raise
    4 kg x 10 reps
    3 kg x 10 reps

Group B
    Seated Dumbbell Shoulder Press
    5 kg x 12 reps
    Lying Dumbbell Tricep Extension
    5 kg x 12 reps

Elliptical Trainer
    00:30:00 | 4.8km

Bench wider grip
    20 x 8
    30 3x5

Bb lunges
    20 2x10

Db flyes 4 3x10
    Dumbbell skulls 4 3x10

Pushups 2x4

Elliptical trainer 5km 30m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Doin' real well Bluey!

Good job.

Barbell Squat
    20 kg x 3 reps
    40 kg x 8 reps
    Squats were VERY DEEP.

I was thinking of doing RDLs or sumos next but then the area cleared out and I had my squat shoes on anyway soooo ...
    each set was : (clean shrug x2 / clean / fr sq / jerk) x 2
    I think I did it 6 times
    It sure got the ol HR up :D

Group A
    Clean Pull
    20 kg x 4 reps
    Clean
    20 kg x 2 reps
    Front Barbell Squat
    20 kg x 2 reps
    Jerk
    20 kg x 2 reps

Group B
    Push Press
    20 kg x 3 reps
    Standing Barbell Shoulder Press (OHP)
    20 kg x 3 reps

I didn't realise I could ohp the bar. 3rd rep on each was haaaard. I was doing them alternating pp/ohp/pp/ohp etc.
    I suppose this means I can't get away with OHPing like 3kg anymore ...

Elliptical Trainer
    00:20:00 | 3km
    Too tired to go the 30 mins :o

I suppose this means I can't get away with OHPing like 3kg anymore ...

I have never tried OHPing with a bar tbh.... I have zero shoulders to the point where my arms are actually pretty much stuck directly onto my upper chest, so if you find a spare pair anywhere let me know :D

What a week ... work study gym work study gym
    things going wrong AND the atm swallowed my card this morning, lame
    On the plus side my new runners arrived

Barbell Squat
    40 kg x 5 reps
    50 kg x 4 reps

20 kg x 5 reps
    cos I can

Group A
    5 kg x 10 reps
    Dumbbell Flyes
    5 kg x 10 reps

Elliptical Trainer
    00:36:00 | 6km
    I duno how I managed that
    Runners of Speed +5
    They're very bright but cool

What a week ... work study gym work study gym
    things going wrong AND the atm swallowed my card this morning, lame
    On the plus side my new runners arrived

Barbell Squat
    40 kg x 5 reps
    50 kg x 4 reps

20 kg x 5 reps
    cos I can

Group A
    5 kg x 10 reps
    Dumbbell Flyes
    5 kg x 10 reps

Elliptical Trainer
    00:36:00 | 6km
    I duno how I managed that
    Runners of Speed +5
    They're very bright but cool

What runners dya get? I got these recently and they are BAE. More girly fashion talk on the fitness forum, I say! :p
    http://images3.nike.com/is/image/DotCom/PDP_HERO/WM-NIKE-FREE-TRANSFORM-FLYKNIT-833410_500_D_PREM.jpg

Wow i like those!
    I got ones that looked a lovely blue but ended up with a different version. I don't know why they posted a different colour and I've only just copped it cos my order has the original colour.

I got runways to di gait analysis before and it's always asics gt 2000 so i got those again but the newest ones

Supposed to be
    http://therunningoutlet.co.uk/images/made/96b9deaf9d53bbf6/asics-womens-gt2000-v4-t656n-4050-back_480_480_80_themessite_themesrunning-outletimagessmall-watermark.png_0_0_50_l_t_20_20.jpg

Got
    https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0828/8299/products/T656N_7807_f_l_primary_LR_large_b7dce8d5-01e8-4a63-8014-58396a167e4b_1024x1024.jpg?v=1468670154

Very Fancy :) Back when I used to run (:eek::eek::eek:) I always wore Asics, found them great for that side of things alright. I'm one of those underpronator types. I actually have a weird habit of checking out the pronation of people walking in front of me....:o

I wouldn't even know how to look for that. I think I'm an over pron person from what i remember.

All i need now is some cool space leggings

Why that managed to make me think of the song Space Man, I don't know but now it's on repeat in my head.

So thanks.

:(

I always wanted you to goooo
    Into spaaace maaan

Everything is crazy
    work crazy, exam coming up on thurs, generally losing the plot!!

study break

Barbell Squat
    20 kg x 3 reps
    40 kg x 8 reps
    50 kg x 8 reps

20 kg x 4 reps
    Push Press
    20 kg x 4 reps

Clean
    20 kg x 8 reps

Lost more weight but it's probs muscle at this stage
    wobbly legs now

oh also i can just about do an assisted pull up using both my resistance bands now so i've been doing a few of those

Good luck with the exam bluey!

Exams are bullsh*t.

How have you not learned that?!?!?! :pac:

Oh, and good luck with it!