Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I come too

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Ha ha that's funny

She said I'm super duper tense on my RHS as well. There were knots in my neck

• Registered Users Posts: 24,591 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

bluewolf wrote: »
    Ha ha that's funny

She said I'm super duper tense on my RHS as well. There were knots in my neck

I told her doing my hamstrings wasn't necessary, that they were fine.

Nope.

Not bad....but felt great after.

Must go again. ..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭EmcD123

I told her doing my hamstrings wasn't necessary, that they were fine.

Nope.

Not bad....but felt great after.

Must go again. ..

I got dry needling done on my quads last time I went to the physio, the needles had to be ripped out when i starting hyperventilating, it was not a good time

Thursday 1st Dec

w6d3

Barbell Squat, toes
    20 kg x 5 reps
    27.5 kg x 5 reps
    35 kg x 5 reps

Barbell Squat
    50 kg x 6 reps

Barbell Incline Bench Press
    20 kg x 5 reps
    27.5 kg x 9 reps

Romanian Deadlift
    20 kg x 5 reps
    Barbell Deadlift, paused off floor
    45 kg x 9 reps

I don't remember how any of that went but I do remember the drive there was a nightmare cos the fog that night was SOOOO BAAAAAD
    i was terrified
    ha ha

I was on hols on the weekend and I did actually look for a nearby gym but it didn't work out. So no sunday session. i did w7d1 tonight anyway
    I did 20k steps a day while away and ate a lot. meat on a stick. fries. roasted nuts. more meat on a stick. wurst. mulled cider.
    lol

w7d1

Romanian Deadlift
    20 kg x 5 reps

Barbell Deadlift, 1+2
    each rep is 1 + 2

45 kg x 4 reps
    40 kg x 4 reps

i dont like these anymore

Barbell Bench Press, 3s pause
    20 kg x 5 reps
    27.5 kg x 6 reps
    30 kg x 6 reps

27.5 was too easy then i checked back and i was doing them on 30 in week 2 so switched up

Barbell Squat, toes
    20 kg x 5 reps
    27.5 kg x 5 reps
    35 kg x 5 reps

Barbell Squat, paused
    40 kg x 6 reps

supposed to be 9 reps but I skimped out

Barbell Squat, LB
    20 kg x 5 reps
    40 kg x 5 reps
    I haven't done low bar in a while so I decided to ease into it a bit tonight
    It felt funny
    I think I'm a lot more upright than I was

Machine Seated Row
    21 kg x 12 reps

Elliptical Trainer
    00:16:00

meat on a stick. fries. roasted nuts. more meat on a stick. wurst. mulled cider.

Package deal to heaven?

Found out last night I failed that exam I was going nuts for a couple months ago. Laaaame.
    Found out this morning I failed by 3 marks and they had upped the pass mark :mad: At least the hard work went somewhere

Did nooooooot wanna go to gym today

w7d2

Barbell Squat, toes
    20 kg x 5 reps
    35 kg x 5 reps
    45 kg x 5 reps
    Barbell Squat, HB
    52 kg x 5 reps
    Barbell Squat, LB
    20 kg x 5 reps
    30 kg x 5 reps
    40 kg x 5 reps
    LB not on program

Wide-Grip Barbell Bench Press
    20 kg x 5 reps
    32.5 kg x 10 reps
    32.5 kg x 10 reps (PR)

Romanian Deadlift
    20 kg x 5 reps

Sumo Deadlift
    60 kg x 8 reps

Elliptical Trainer
    00:10:00 | 1.6km

Completely forgot about my machine rows which was not on purpose.

Fitbot has said my last workout hit a lifetime milestone of 6,000 deadlift reps logged

tired & grumpy & went off program
    Probs a good thing next week is deload
    there's an in house comp next week I said I'd do though I felt useless today so we'll see

Barbell Squat, toes
    20 kg x 5 reps
    30 kg x 5 reps
    40 kg x 5 reps

Barbell Squat, LB
    30 kg x 5 reps
    50 kg x 3 reps
    60 kg x 2 reps
    65 kg x 1 reps
    70 kg x 1 reps

Barbell Bench Press
    20 kg x 8 reps
    30 kg x 5 reps
    35 kg x 3 reps
    40 kg x 2 reps
    45 kg x 1 reps

Romanian Deadlift
    20 kg x 5 reps

Barbell Deadlift
    60 kg x 5 reps
    75 kg x 3 reps
    90 kg x 2 reps
    100 kg x 1 reps

Elliptical Trainer
    00:24:00 | 4km

• Registered Users Posts: 5,486 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Chin up bluey! :)

One hundred kay gee - nice DLing comrade!

week 8 deload

Barbell Squat, toes
    20 kg x 5 reps
    30 kg x 5 reps
    40 kg x 5 reps

Barbell Squat, HB
    45 kg x 2 reps
    52.5 kg x 2 reps

Wide-Grip Barbell Bench Press
    20 kg x 5 reps
    30 kg x 8 reps

Romanian Deadlift
    20 kg x 5 reps
    Barbell Deadlift
    45 kg x 6 reps

I don't know where the bars went ... Stole one off a bench to squat. Brought it back to bench to bench. Brought it over to the rack to DL. Felt like I was carting it all over the place. lol
    Time taken NOT including stretching, toe squats, or very first squat set, 15 mins

Elliptical Trainer
    00:35:00 | 5.75 km

I got the zombies run app!
    I put it on the wrong distance setting but it does work for the xtrainer. It was funny and interesting and I'll be doing it again for sure

Between all that and a brisk 50 min walk at lunchtime I'm super workouts today

I have a thing on thursday night and I'm not sure if i'll make it to gym tomorrow, we'll see

o/
    Been sick in bed the last few days like a total zombie. Sinuses & a cold.

Hanley day today!
    bw = 79kg
    All the toe elevated squats have paid off massively apparently my squat is so much better in form and even I could see on the video we did that it looked better. Still trying to GM the heavy weights when they get hard so in the peaking phase I have to remember to just grind them with proper form and not take the easy way out. Form form form! We worked up to 77.5.
    Oh and self note my LB squat felt wobbly the other week because I was doing it way too low. Just a little lower than the HB no messin
    I have the video anyway so I can see from today where it was

Bench I failed the 47.5 which was surprised at :confused: I suppose I did have zero energy. I did fail it the same way i've been failing the 50s though so we think it's elbows too far out and bar path. There's just zero leverage left when i get halfway up and stuck

By the time we got to DLs I was totally worn out. Worked up to 107.5 which wasn't as easy as I would have liked but grand. no roundy back

Those are looking like possible openers for Leinster but we'll do openers the week before it again.

Really happy my squat form has improved and happy that today went so well considering I could barely stand for long even yesterday ha ha

We might mix it up with a belt in 2017 after the comp and maybe even working up sumos a bit heavier

Xmas food shopping tonight. Can't wait for banoffee...

I always find energy shot to sh*t pretty quickly after being off sick. It's a case of wondering how much you'll get done before you lose the strength to even open clips.

Yeah would second that - hidden fatigue can still be a big factor even once you're feeling "better". Ye did well to even turn up sure!

today was to work on form
    also maybe work off hula hoops

toe squats
    20 x3
    30 x3
    40 x3
    last week we paused at the bottom then sank a bit further so i did that today

LB squats
    today i wanted to make sure to grind up and use quads instead of GMing up when heavier
    50 x3
    60 3x3
    Weight was definitely grand

Bench
    ring finger on the rings
    Today was to make sure my elbows kept in to see if that helped the leverage issue when the weight is heavier, cos the strength is definitely there
    It sure did
    20 x5
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 3x3

RDL
    20 x6

DL
    apparently position is my issue here once i start the lift... which makes sense since i dont think about it at all usually
    so today I did
    60 x3
    80 x3
    90 x3
    100 2x3
    I didn't do a third set cos i was tired and didnt feel like it
    lol
    still dreaming of a 130kg DL

xtrainer 15 mins fast enough

No program yet so still working on form things

toe squats
    20 x5
    30 x5
    40 x3

LB squats
    50 x3
    60 x2
    65 3x3
    Definitely managed to keep grinding up instead of shooting the hips. yay

bench
    20 x5
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 5x3

Kept elbows from flaring and it made a difference
    Still finding 40 heavy ish

RDL
    20 x5
    Sumo
    60 x3
    75 3x3

I really didn't wanna DL today so that was a compromise

machine seated rows
    21 3x12

Grand.

I duno how I have managed to only put on half a kg over xmas. But I won't complain.
    I ordered the paleo meal deliveries again for 5 days from next week. They're so tasty and so handy, esp as I'll be so busy from next week ><

Today's levels of do not want were very high
    Wrecked tired and trying to fend off SuperCold from attacking

Toe squats
    20 x5
    30 x5
    40 x3

LB squats
    50 x3
    60 x3
    65 x2
    70 2x2
    65 x1

The 70s felt absolutely horrendous. I duno is it that I'm tired, is it cos I'm grinding up instead of taking the easy way out so it feels weird.
    How am I going to open on 75 in 3 weeks
    Wahhh

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2
    42.5 x5

Yeah bench. take that. I'm the boss

Front Squat
    20 x5
    30 x5
    35 x5
    40 x5

Page 2,how awful.

Anyway latest update is I haven't trained since due to illness. Off work, on antibiotics. Blood pressure scarily higher than usual.

As a result I'm pulling out of the leinster open next week. It would be a bad idea especially as this is going on so long and I haven't a hope of picking up an empty bar right now.
    Frustrating after all the excitement and build up but there will be others and we'll test PRs separately at some point

Good decision.

It's one thing having missed out on a chunk of training because of illness but to be still sick 9 days out, there's nothing to be gained from trying to lift at it.

Rest up and get well soon.

Get well soon - you're dead right as disappointing as it must be :( Marathon not a sprint and all that jazz :D :P

• Registered Users Posts: 7,146 ✭✭✭COH

Set backs = Come backs :)

Beep beep I'm a gym
    Still not 100% at all but was going cracked not lifting so went for super light session today!
    I love gym

toe squats
    20 x5
    30 x5
    35 x5

LB squats
    40 3x5

RDL
    20 x8

Sumo
    60 3x5

Bench
    20 x8
    30 3x5

Seated row machine of mystery
    21 3x12

dumbbell skulls
    4 2x10

Great stuff
    Place was maaaad busy. I had to wait til after warm up stretches til a squat rack came free :p
    They have a big new monkey bar looking thing in there as well with all sorts of things coming out of it
    looks great craic :D

Cardio is cleaning the layer of dust off here! :)

Good to see you back in your spiritual home :D

Yay - you're back! :)

Also, good luck with the DOMS :eek::pac:

Back again. Man i was shattered the last couple days, like twelve hours sleep then needing an aul nap
    Also sumo doms lol

I'm gonna get my very first belt soon hanley is helping :cool:
    Plus i think we're starting the next program next week for the next comp. Yay

toe squats
    20 x5
    30 x5
    40 x5

LB squats
    50 2x5 + 1x4

RDL
    20 x8

Sumo
    60 3x5

Bench
    20 x8
    30 1x5 + 2x8

Seated row machine of mystery
    21 3x10

dumbbell skulls
    4 2x10

Xtrainer 15 mins super slow. Kept hr to around 140-150. Building it up

Switching to sumo properly or just using it as a variation for training?

Yeah I duno.
    We said in our post LO plans I might switch over.
    I haven't tested heavy sumo since I was first learning to do it. Everything was easy up to about 100kg and then suddenly I couldn't lift it after that.

I find it a lot easier than conventional and nicer to do so if I'm ever tired or lazy I just do it instead. Which is why I've been doing it this week
    I reckon there's less ROM required so it might end up easier, I'll see whenever we test it heavy next

Yeah I duno.
    We said in our post LO plans I might switch over.
    I haven't tested heavy sumo since I was first learning to do it. Everything was easy up to about 100kg and then suddenly I couldn't lift it after that.

I find it a lot easier than conventional and nicer to do so if I'm ever tired or lazy I just do it instead. Which is why I've been doing it this week
    I reckon there's less ROM required so it might end up easier, I'll see whenever we test it heavy next

Looking at doing the ABS Open at the start of April since you were a long way down the prep road before being sick?

Nah we're gonna hold out for the may one in the club. I have nasty exams mid April anyway so may suits me better

Same as that.

Well, except for having exams....and a club :)

Aw man I did not wanna go today at all. I think it took half an hour to convince myself to leave the electric blanky
    Then I forgot my gym towel :rolleyes:

toe squats
    20 x5
    30 x5
    40 x5

LB squats
    50 5x5
    easy enough thank goodness

bench
    20 x8
    30 5x8
    my note here said: serious huff puff going on