Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I come too

• Registered Users Posts: 5,486 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    All I can see happening me there is the bench flipping over :)

In fairness, the benches in my gym are nailed to the floor otherwise I'd be the same!

Another advantage of the glute bridge version is that it is also more difficult to inadvertently make eye contact whilst doing them :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,788 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

In fairness, the benches in my gym are nailed to the floor otherwise I'd be the same!

Another advantage of the glute bridge version is that it is also more difficult to inadvertently make eye contact whilst doing them :D

Yes but when you do, it's something that's not easily forgotten...

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

That's a barbell glute bridge I think, with a hip thrust you can still use your hands to help hold the bar in place and stop it moving
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zp26q4BY5HE

That's one of the videos I watched in prep :D
    I'll try it next time

Today: dat doms doe
    I think the others are starting into programming again this week - I think I need another week of accessory only

I am pain,
    everything is pain,
    pain.

MSR
    28 3x8
    Note: stop doing 28, incr to 35

Front sq
    20 x5
    30 2x5

Assisted dips, black band
    3x5
    Grand

Back raises
    x5
    +15 2x8

Rev flyes
    3 3x8

Lat pd
    35 3x8
    Note: stop doing 28

Xtrainer 35 mins

bluewolf wrote: »
    I am pain,
    everything is pain,
    pain.

MSR
    28 3x8
    Note: stop doing 28, incr to 35

Front sq
    20 x5
    30 2x5

3x5
    Grand

Back raises
    x5
    +15 2x8

Rev flyes
    3 3x8

Lat pd
    35 3x8
    Note: stop doing 28

Xtrainer 35 mins

Your intro sounds like something Liam neeson will be saying in the trailers to Taken 4

Taken 4: This time they came for his gainz

• Registered Users Posts: 24,591 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Taken 4: This time they turned up the volume

Taken 4 : Pain

Woke up on weds or thurs morning as tired as when I went to bed so couldn't move for gym
    Was at a party/first camping trip last night so to say I am wrecked today would be an understatement. Zombie mode

Single leg RDL
    20 2x8 each leg

Toe squat
    20 x5
    30 x3
    Squat
    40 3x3

Bench
    20 x8
    30 3x3
    -superset-
    3 x6
    kinda surprised how easy they were. Hopefully unassisted dips aren't too far away

Forward lunges
    20 2x8

Lat pd
    35 3x8

MSR
    35 3x7
    couldn't manage 8 here

OHP machine
    15 x3
    25 x7
    30 2x8

Haven't done the shoulder press machine in a very long time so had to suss out where I was at

Tried a makeshift abs roller with a baby bar but it was too awkward. Do need to fit in core work 1x week now to start with

Then the caffeine & bcaas wore off and I was back to zombie mode
    *hoping* to fit in cardio tomorrow

Did ya try those hip thrusts yet and compare them to the version I do?

No they were on the list for yesterday but couldn't make it to em
    Will try this week

Yesterday evening :
    Did a few core bits. Also went mad and ordered an abs wheel

This morning :
    Xtrainer 40 mins. It claims i did 5.5 miles. I think it got confused with miles and km?

Went back to my morning gym. Ahh the xtrainers are all mad fancy yokes now. Touchscreens. Figured out 8 mins in it was set to level 5 which explained why it seemed harder than usual. I need to read up a bit about the different functions
    There's running machines as well like Xtrainers but strides and stuff
    Cool

Morning:
    swim & sauna
    also a little lie down on the pool loungers

Evening:
    Single leg RDLs
    20 x8
    Toe squats
    20 x5
    30 x5
    40 x3
    Squats
    45 3x5

Bench
    20 x8
    30 3x6
    Gave up on trying to sit up & lie down between sets so just lay on the bench :pac: Srs core ow

Rev lunges
    20 2x8
    Skulls
    7 2x10
    -superset-
    Flyes
    7 2x10
    Lat pd
    35 2x5
    Rev flyes
    2 x10
    3 x8

Wrecked tired. Still gradually building up volume

Xtrainer
    26 mins / 4km

Think I got a second wind there

SLRDL
    20 x8
    Toe sq
    20 x5
    30 x3
    40 x3
    Squat
    50 4x5

Bench 1/3
    20 x8
    30 4x5
    -superset-
    3x5

Bench was pause 1s on chest, pause 3s halfway up. Roughly where my sticking point is. And maaaaaaaaaaaaaan it was tough. Arms shakin, triceps dyin. So I'mma keep doing it

Bench
    30 2x8

SLRDLs
    20 x8
    30 x8
    -superset-
    Forward lunges
    20 2x8

MSR
    35 3x7

OHP machine
    25 3x7
    Why was I able to do 30 on sunday? different machine can't make that much diff
    who knows

Time taken - 55mins

Xtrainer
    21 mins / 3km
    I had absolutely zero energy for xtrainer but with some music it's a nice chill out time so I got on to do 5-10 mins then I just kept going cos it's great

srs tricep doms

Different machines can make a big enough difference to weights you can do.

Once they're as hard as needs to be is what counts

How can our weights be real if our machines aren't real

Do we even lift?

Too ded to lift on Sunday

today:
    SL RDL
    20 x8
    30 x8

Toe sq
    20 x5
    30 x3
    40 x3

Squat
    47.5 x3
    52.5 7x5

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 7x5

Back raises
    +0 x5
    +15 3x10

Lat pd
    35 3x5

Flyes
    7 2x10
    -ss-
    Skulls
    7 2x8
    -ss-
    Rev flyes
    3 2x10

time: 63 mins

Was after 10pm at that stage so intervals time

Treadmill intervals
    1st interval 60s, 10th interval 40s, 2-9th = 30s
    Recovery times (walking) ~60s
    10/12/13x3/14x5 KPH
    Total time : 15 mins

Can't really call it sprinting .. I suppose I should up to 15+ next time considering I was barely breathing hard
    Fitbit autologged it as "aerobics" but most of the HR zone was fat burn not cardio so I guess it agrees I wasn't going flat out
    I don't think I'm up to Alf's old days of 14/12 though :D

Morning:
    Swim. I remembered to count today and it was only 22 lengths. Was nice though

Evening:

Toe squat
    20 x5
    30 x5
    40 x3

Squat
    42.5 4x10

Bench 1/3
    20 x8
    32.5 4x5

my poor tris

Bench
    32.5 x10
    30 3x10
    -ss-
    2x5 + 1x4.5
    I fell over on the last one. The band whacked me so loudly people turned around. Morto

SL RDL
    30 3x8
    -ss-
    Rev lunges
    20 3x8

So tired at that stage I had to start taking breaks between each leg on both exercises

OHP machine
    20 2x8

Definitely light but whatevs

Time taken: 55 mins

Slept so badly last night, today was a struggle
    good stuff though
    Gonna bench 60kg through pure sheer force, I'm tellin ya

Single leg RDL
    20 x8
    Toe squat
    20 x5
    30 x5
    40 x3

Squat
    47.5 x3
    52.5 7x5

Reps moved v v easily. Bump up to 57.5 next week then +2.5 from there

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 7x5

Back raises
    +0 x8
    +15 3x10

Lat pd
    35 3x5
    Forward lunges
    20 2x10
    Stop being a wuss and go heavier
    Flyes
    7 2x10
    Skulls
    bar x8
    bar+5 2x8
    Don't know what that bar is. Guess ~7kg

Rev flyes
    3 2x10

Remember to bend over more - don't think it was hitting properly

Time: 1h25

Xtrainer
    32 min / 4.6km

I drank a lot of prosecco last night. A lot. I went to eddie rockets today. A milkshake is 1,000 calories. So I had half of one and some chicken.
    I'm 100% ded

Mentioned to hanley I wanted to test in august. Looks like there will be in house testing sometime then. I don't really wanna do a comp til our one in November. Anyway looks like timelines match up which is cool

Zact same reason I signed up for the comp in August. It was going to coincide with testing anyway.

Yeah I remembered you were doing it, I think one of the lads is as well

You had a good comp in Cork though, that's the difference :)

37 mins xtrainer
    No idea about distance as it's on the new machines

Single leg RDL
    20 x8

Toe sq
    20 x5
    30 x5
    40 x3

Squat
    45 x2
    50 x1
    57.5 7x5
    Note 1: do these effing squats ever effing end
    Note 2: Weight's pretty light tho

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    37.5 7x5
    -ss-
    dips, black band

v heavy

Rev lunges + single leg RDL
    30 2x10
    Right hip suddenly in a lot of pain and tight so stopped. No leg assistance work for a week. Should roll it. Probs doing the rev lunges at a wonky angle tbh

Lats
    35 3x8
    MSR
    35 2x5

Time: 1h08

Woke up tired. didn't get any better. workout = 2 caffeine tablets, vitargo, bcaa, creatine

Note 1: do these effing squats ever effing end

That is a horrible feeling. Especially when you're feeling it and you're not even halfway through the sets.

Got home and fell asleep yesterday. Gym tonight instead. Upper body only.

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    Bench 1/3
    32.5 4x5

Bench
    32.5 4x10
    Struggled past 8 reps

Dips - one set of 5 and gave up

Skulls
    Bar x8
    Bar+5 3x8
    not convinced i was doing it right today

Ohp
    25 2x8
    don't like that ohp machine

Lats 35 3x6
    35 is hard :( increasing one rep at a time

Flyes 7 3x10
    Rev flyes 3 3x10
    Doing rev flyes better than i was

Abs!
    Leg extensions 2x10
    -ss-
    Leg raises 2x5

Took an hour haha

I'm usually tired reading your workout and then the last line is something like "in and out in 19 minutes" and I'm "wat?".

Haha
    I was kind to myself with the breaks today!

Was away for the weekend. Ate & drank a load of sh!te. Felt sh!te today. Also exhausted as all I wanted, and attempted to do, was sleep all weekend.
    Today's theme was going to be "something is better than nothing".

SL RDL
    20 x8
    Toe sq
    20 x5
    30 x5
    40 x3
    Sq
    50 x1
    57.5 6x5
    "I might do a few reps around 50". And then that. No, I have no idea either... it was really light. Bounced up and down. Should have done a last set but was happy getting that far.
    Time taken for all of that was 21 mins

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    37.5 7x5

I won't call 37.5 light at all but still grand.
    Overall time total was 38 mins. No accessory work today because lol not a chance.

Xtrainer
    31 mins as slow as humanly possible / 4km
    No idea how I did that either

I think the moral of today's story is stop thinking & just do it