Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I come too

• Registered Users Posts: 24,591 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I found the caffeine tablets to be useless anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Aw they definitely kick in for me. I only drink one coffee in the morning so i don't overdose too much. I think

bluewolf wrote: »
    Aw they definitely kick in for me. I only drink one coffee in the morning so i don't overdose too much. I think

I got them to give them to try for comps or whatever and got zero from them.

Definitely get more of a kick from coffee on its own.

Will they have to break your jaw and reset it. Happened to a friend.

Coffee makes my tummy sad so i cant really have more than one.

Your one was on about that and saying it was very effective on paper but it's major surgery. My singing teacher would love it I'm sure, she's been on about how my tongue is blocking my airways for ages and i thought she was crazy.
    I'd say it's tonsils out anyway and go from there

Coffee makes my tummy sad so i cant really have more than one.

Your one was on about that and saying it was very effective on paper but it's major surgery. My singing teacher would love it I'm sure, she's been on about how my tongue is blocking my airways for ages and i thought she was crazy.
    I'd say it's tonsils out anyway and go from there

I was really just joking about the jaw thing...just to see if it might freak you out :pac:

Maybe a tonguectomy?

25/08

scaps & shoulder dislocates

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x1
    45 8x4

First 4 sets: jaysus mary and joseph
    second 4 sets: oh that's how i tighten my back when i've the bar unracked. this is okay

cgbp
    30 2x10
    jm press
    20 x8
    first time doing it. obsessing over my tris at the moment because they are totally the cause of everything wrong. maybe not. anyway i gave these a go. you wouldn't wanna miss a rep or you'll break your nose but they're quite effective on the tris. They're good for moving heavier weights
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B5dWDNaG0bw
    I didn't listen to anything he said and just copied the movement tbh

RDL
    20 x8
    Sumo dls
    70 x2
    80 6x3
    felt funny like i had to get used to them again

xtrainer
    20 mins

hollow holds 3x10s
    I didn't actually time them but they felt like they were going on forever so probably 10s.
    just home now. myself and 2 other women the only ones in the gym when i was leaving. sad cases >>

• Registered Users Posts: 17,548 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

JM press looks interesting. I'm looking at various bench assistance exercises to jump into after my meet and now have yet another one to consider. Feck sake.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,486 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Never heard of that JM press - looks like I do not have the co-ordination to pull that off without an accident :D

JM press looks interesting. I'm looking at various bench assistance exercises to jump into after my meet and now have yet another one to consider. Feck sake.

I didn't hear the audio on that yoochoob video on the train so I didn't hear if this was clarified but it looks like a sort of close-grip/skullcrusher hybrid.

That's it exactly

This weekend was full of 2-3 hour naps. State of me

Toe sq
    20 x5
    30 x3
    40 x2
    Squat
    50 x2
    belt
    60 4x4

Was moving very slowly & badly today. just no energy. I guess the caffeine & choc hadn't kicked in yet

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2
    45 10 x3

Some guy came over after my first bench set.
    Are you not doing your weights.
    I have 9 sets left, I'm taking a break.
    Oh. I've been watching you the last few weeks.
    You've been watching me.
    Yeah I'm amazed at how much you're lifting. What got you into weights? Most girls are into dolls and cooking.
    Sorry what was that?
    I said most girls are into dolls and cooking. Haha.
    Ha. Yeah, I don't think that's true.
    - after that we got to chatting a bit then I said I better get back to it.
    He seemed nice enough but it was strange & not used to people in gym talking to me beyond "are you using this?" !

Skulls & flyes
    6 5x10

Lunges
    20 x5
    30 3x10

Time: 91 mins.
    Took a LOT of breaks til about halfway through bench , then I finally started waking up a bit.
    I'm enjoying the bench program, being under the slightly heavier weights so often is making me set up and brace better which can only be good.

I'm away from weds next week but I've bought 2 day passes for thurs & fri for a gym nearby-ish, so I should still be on course for my 4x week setup

'Dolls and cooking'.

That's one for the ages.

"I've been watching you the last few weeks" :eek::eek::eek:

Maybe you have now reached the coveted level of "digital influencer" from your boards / gram fame :P

Bunch of core & pushups stuff last night

Today:
    scaps & shoulder dislocates
    Bench
    20 x8
    40 6x6
    Graaaaaaand. Really bracing properly now and pulling the back tight which is great. Watched the video back again, bam bam

Was planning to squat first but no racks
    Was also planning more bench warm ups but whatevs

SL RDL
    20 x8
    Toe squat
    20 x5
    30 x5
    40 x3
    Squat
    50 x2
    belt
    62.5 7x5
    also grand. thank you belt i love you belt

skulls & flyes
    6 3x10
    serious tricep pump going on today. I'll be flexing in mirrors next

Xtrainer
    25 mins

holidays tomorrow woohoo!

skulls & flyes
    6 3x10
    serious tricep pump going on today. I'll be flexing in mirrors next

What you'll actually find yourself doing is slowing down going by windows where there's a good reflection and light is good and softly flexing.

And 'mirin.

Apparently.

May or may not be doing that in the gym changing room already
    Like. Can't confirm or deny

May or may not be doing that in the gym changing room already
    Like. Can't confirm or deny

You overheard yourself quietly say "Dayum", didn't you?!?

This morning i went to the gym near where we're staying. Asked a woman in changing rooms do i go upstairs to the gym as i wasn't sure. She said yes then mentioned well there is another room but mostly for men. Does it have heavy weights? Yes. Great that's where I'm going.
    Couldn't find this mysterious room so ended up making do in the main area for squat and half bench. All 15kg bars which were so weird. Bench was v awkward rack was too high or too low.
    Went for a wander to explore and found the mysterious room. Loads of proper racks and benches and a platform!
    It said no chalk though :mad:

31 08

Sl rdl
    20 x8
    Toe sq
    20 x5
    30 x5
    40 x3
    Hb squat
    50 x1
    57.5 4x9
    Absolute hell

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x1
    45 3x5
    Ran away...
    42.5 4x5

Couple c&js @ 30 when I found the platform. Went searching for 15kg bars as they'd loads upstairs but no joy so no snatch attempts.

Pause from ground dl
    65 3x5

Lat pd 30 4x12

Few hollow hols and extensions

Msr was weird. It went kinda crossways. Kinda gave up then finally asked at the desk did they have anything else similar. Lady showed me a cable machine looks like a rowing machine with weight. For upper back.
    Was perfect!

Cable row machine
    20 x8
    30 2x8

1hr total

Supposed to go tomorrow am booked in we'll see
    Can't really sumo without chalk unless it's all singles

Love love love seated cable row <3

SL RDL
    20 x8
    Toe squat
    20 x5
    30 x5
    40 x3
    Squat
    50 x2
    60 x1
    belt
    67.5 4x4
    Went v deep to practice
    no more borderline PRs plz

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    40 x2
    45 x1
    50 10 x3
    Bracing after I start = thumbs up. Like alf said, starting point is not a race

RDL
    20 x8
    DL conv
    60 x3
    80 x2
    92.5 1x3
    82.5 6x3

Lunges
    20 x10
    30 2x10

Flyes & skulls
    6 5x10

1hr40mins

xtrainer
    48 mins / 7.55 km

Everything was fine today as it should be considering I stuffed my face all week. I missed day 3 while on hols so brought the deadlifts in today.
    Slowly starting to jump in on the programming, so I've switched back to comp DL as per the program. Went rogue again for a while while focusing on bench. Next week will be the last 4x week for me so I'll probably fully jump in then. Also because I need to seriously bring the studying up several notches and cba working out a program during that

Last night: couple rounds of push ups & core
    only a couple tho

Today:
    SL RDL
    20 x8
    Toe sq
    20 x5
    30 x5
    40 x3
    Squat
    50 x2
    60 x1
    belt
    65 7x5

Took & posted a video of first set on 65. Lovely and bouncy. a little TOO bouncy as my heels seem to have been lifting up :mad::mad: Thankfully I caught it straight away and corrected for the rest of the sets.
    Freaking out about it but I can't imagine it's a habit. My calf muscles were extra tight during stretches so I'll do more of that too

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    40 x2
    45 6x6
    ow

Skulls & flyes
    7 3x10 (3x8 on the skulls)

time 1hr 15

Xtrainer
    15 mins 2.5km

don't like only doing 15 mins but was getting late and they were clearing up

Used vitargo again first time in a while- really is good workout fuel

SL RDL
    20 x8
    Toe sq, slower
    20 x5
    30 x5
    40 x3
    Got a good stretch out of them today
    Left ankle, side of ankle, felt funny
    HB Squats
    50 x2
    belt
    60 3x9 + 5
    Couldn't even manage 4x9 like. wuss

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    40 x3
    47.5 6x5
    45 x5
    Roll of shame risk was increasing at the end and it was like nearly 10pm so I dropped it a bit
    I suppose I should remember 47.5 was my 1rm earlier this year haha

RDL
    20 x8
    Rack pulls from plates
    50 x3
    60 4x5
    dem hams doe

Lat pd
    28 3x10
    MSR
    28 3x10

81 mins

Xtrainer
    20 mins / 3.25 km

My protein porridge arrived so detoured on the way home to get it. Then ran into shops to get some muesli and milk as my post carbs. Was really looking forward to muesli cos i love it. Got home 10 mins ago and looked at it... it's PORRIDGE
    How did I miss that
    facepalm

Porridge >> Muesli tbh :P

What protein porridge do you get? I am so lo-fi I just do the scoop of whey with 45g of oats in a plastic zip-loc bag thingy.

Porridge >> Muesli tbh :P

What protein porridge do you get? I am so lo-fi I just do the scoop of whey with 45g of oats in a plastic zip-loc bag thingy.

These ones !
    https://www.giveitsomeoomf.com/collections/protein-oats

cart them into work, just add boiling water. No weighing and measuring and the flavours are awesome. Literally cba with any more effort :D

Oh they look fab - great ingredients too (not loads of added rubbish). Might try them out. I reckon you probably could even re-use the tubs a few times (thinking of the trees :D)

Yeah the sugar content is reasonably low compared to what you see in other brands. I recommend the golden syrup or ginger ones. I love the chocolate too but the first few times i didn't
    Ps if you or anyone else reading this wants to try them, they say let it stand a minute before serving. It's more like 10-15 mins. Then it's thoroughly set and good consistency

Sounds good - I actually weirdly prefer porridge cold than hot anyway #freak

I'm a convert to cold porridge.

Or rather I'll have it either way.

I usually just mix a scoop of whey with porridge. Not exactly much effort.

Supposed to be last night but couldn't move for exhaustion

09 09
    Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    40 x3
    45 x1
    50 8x4
    Went back and checked - got 50 as my new 1rm exactly 4 months ago. Mad

Rdl
    20x8
    Dl conv
    60 x3
    80 x2
    90 x1
    100 x3
    90 5x3
    Forgot i had hamstrings

skulls & flyes
    7 3x10

Xtrainer 30 min 4km

Found out the guys are doing deload next week. Perfect timing. Last session of sm jr bench tomorrow o/

• Registered Users Posts: 17,548 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

How you finding the body doing smolov jr? Curious, as I've heard of people having issues with injuries due to overtraining while doing it and regular smolov