Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I come too

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

lol i should have put in the quotation marks
    tesco 'free from' paella
    free from gluten and dairy

• Registered Users Posts: 24,591 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

bluewolf wrote: »
    lol i should have put in the quotation marks
    tesco 'free from' paella
    free from gluten and dairy

I could see a packet with 'paella' on it and nothing in it once you peel off the cover :D

or every food in the whole world except paella!!

if your hips are sore and you know it, ROLL YOUR QUADS

Basketball was cancelled but no point wasting having gym gear with me so

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    40 x3
    47.5 2x4
    45 5x5

Rdl
    20 x8
    Sumo
    60 3x3
    Tried to make it more stable. No cons tho

Lat pd
    35 3x10

40 mins in total
    HR apparently averaged at 90 for the session. Haha. Nice and light
    Except the bench

• Registered Users Posts: 17,548 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I'm reading Eddie Hall's book at the moment and he also has sleep apnea and wears a cpap. And you know the way he deadlifted 500kg? Well, what's taking you to long to lift half a ton?

May not hit 500kg anytime soon but i am gonna test again before xmas
    If I remember my bloody shoes

May not hit 500kg anytime soon but i am gonna test again before xmas
    If I remember my bloody shoes

Eddie did it without shoes.

There are no excuses in the jungle.

Toe Squat
    20 x8
    30 x5
    40 x3 hipshipships
    Squat
    50 x2
    57.5 4x3
    Programmed 7x5 but hips bad so did it v slowly. Kept back tight, worked well. Texted physio straight away so i am booked in for Monday

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2 easy
    47.5 8x4
    Super hard. Super weak today:(
    Today i learned how to squeeze my shoulders as well as scaps.
    I nearly left after 2 working sets. Then i thought, how much do i really want a better bench. So there we are

Pec machine
    7 x3
    21 3x10

I think symmetric strength really wasn't lying about it being my worst muscle group. I forsee a lot of this machine in my future. It was soooo weird like i never worked it before despite the flyes

I have squats on the menu tomorrow but i will leave them and just do bench and dl

• Registered Users Posts: 12,788 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

What’s a hip ships hips?

It's my note i put into my notepad and i just copy pasted
    Whingeing about how they were sore

Hips just really tight or did you hurt something?

I'd say they're strained from being tight because my quads were too tight because i was too much of a gob****e to foam roll after the comp and emergency foam rolling and hip stretching in the last week isn't enough.
    I swear swear swear i will foam roll more

They'll be grand and i needed a sports massage anyway but getting him to confirm there's nothing wrong will be good too

I'd say they're strained from being tight because my quads were too tight because i was too much of a gob****e to foam roll after the comp and emergency foam rolling and hip stretching in the last week isn't enough.
    I swear swear swear i will foam roll more

They'll be grand and i needed a sports massage anyway but getting him to confirm there's nothing wrong will be good too

Been there. It was a world of hurt getting them worked on but it made a big difference.

But a world of hurt.

bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2
    45 x1
    50 10 x3

v tough

rdl
    20 x8
    sumo
    60 x3
    80 x2
    110 x1
    90 5x3

forgot shoes, used runners. felt fine

skulls
    7kg 3x8

3 sets of 10 or 10 sets of 3?

10 sets of 3

10 sets of 3 written correctly

braced myself
    went into physio
    quads fine
    itb fine (was not expecting that, isn't it the law it always has to be sore)
    hams tight
    glutes FCUKING OWWWWW

'do you roll them'
    no. is this a thing. omg.
    so apparently i should line up a foam roller same direction as leg and kinda sit on it. also get a sliotar. i have one. jesus
    he also wrote down i have to do a 'psoas stretch' and tried to describe it but i was like ??? so he said youtube it
    seems to be this
    https://youtu.be/6mjBaLVlQWw?t=117

that's so mad. anyway i'm loosened up and apparently in good shape . he was like 'you sounded like you were expecting a torture session on your quads'. i totally was
    yay

Haha, yeah glutes are unpleasant.

"Oh. Another tight spot. Hold on while i put my elbow onto it and lean on it with all my weight".

The piriformis is something that needs a bit of TLC too.

Just an aside, but Id have thought they might show a stretch rather than say "youtube it".

i think i wasn't following it too well and i wanted a massage & confirmation i'm not broken rather than a stretch demo so i didnt mind
    i'm actually glad he wrote it down for me i like looking these things up and learning about them

he did say he wasn't even using his elbow and i was already squawking haha
    i guess it means im doing something right form wise if theyre in bits

bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2
    45 6x6

tough at start but then got easier. tightened shoulders. think that happened last time with getting easier too

rdl
    20 x8
    and hip stretches
    sumo, paused from ground
    70 3x5

skulls
    7 3x8
    should have been 8 maybe but dumbbells were all over the place

pec machine
    21 3x8

i think my right arm is ready for 28 but my left isn't

feeling good

Woke up with my mask off. Somehow. Tired and sluggish today

07 12

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5 xm
    35 x3
    40 x1
    47.5 6x5 + 2
    Leg drive IS REAL

Paused bench, 3s
    30 3x5

Rest day would have been ideal before sj day2 but here we are

• Registered Users Posts: 17,548 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

47.5 6x5 + 2

Jaysus.

That was your PR a short while ago?

Woke up with my mask off. Somehow.

Maybe you'd beem dreaming about the big reveal to Luke....

Jaysus.

That was your PR a short while ago?

at the start of the year yeah!! haha i was beating myself up about the last set and all thanks for the perspective :D:D

hahah i went back to see when i first broke past 47.5kg
    found this from FEB :
    Today I wanted to know what heavy sumo felt like as I haven't done heavy ones since last August I don't think. No big deal, just was curios
    After 6+ weeks of very inconsistent/no training and at the bottom of a strength dip is now the time to test anything? No...
    Did i anyway? yes...

Romanian Deadlift
    20 kg x 8 reps

Sumo Deadlift
    60 kg x 5 reps
    80 kg x 3 reps
    90 kg x 1 reps
    100 kg x 1 reps (PR)
    I think this is actually a sumo PR. It was either 100 or 102.5 I couldn't shift off the ground last time we checked due to lack of hip drive. It was pretty easy. Chest up!
    110 kg x F
    lols got this about 2 cm up and dropped it. Couldn't brace my core at all at all. Felt like lack of core bracing was due to leg position. I'm sure there were other things I was doing wrong. Hips seemed grand though. I'd say it'd be grand enough with training. Curiosity satisfied

haha now i can do 135 and maybe 140 10 months later
    Bench

20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x3
    47.5 (=100%) x5
    lols new 5rm
    video in the usual spot
    "that looks like a warm up set"

that's from april!!!!
    omg

Perspective is a marvellous thing.

I was chatting one of the lads in the gym - back when i could do proper powerlifter rests between sets - and he showed me a screenshot of his goals from 2 years previously. He was already 100kg higher than his deadlift goal!

I try to look at my log books after a 'bad' session to remind myself that just cos a session is bad, I'm miles ahead of where I used to be.

#confucius

did rolling and stretching before leaving today
    hip was happy, didn't feel it at ALL til the end

note for squat program i left myself was 'do something'

sl rdl
    20 x8

toe squat
    20 x5
    30 x3
    40 x3

squat
    50 x2
    60 x1
    belt
    70 x1
    80 x1 note here 'rocking that lat tightness'
    85 x1
    90 x1

grand... on another day i would have kept going as i was feeling strong. hip was starting to niggle a teeny bit at the end though so no point messin with it
    had to laugh at my 'ah i wont do anything serious today just go up to 90' as if 92 wasn't my 1rm a few months ago

bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2
    45 x1
    50 7x4 + 3

tough... the easiest set by far was the one i recorded. maybe i should record them all

lat pulldown
    omg i actually got near one
    28 3x10

pec machine
    21 3x10

xtrainer
    30 mins

literally sat in bed playing sims most of the day or watching netflix so i figured some cardio/movement was in order :pac:

didn't wanna go but feeling strong today

Was it yourself or Nicolas cage that was doing those half skull crusher/bench type excersises. I was mistakenly calling them j curls so I can’t find anything on them