Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I come too

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

bluewolf wrote: »
    Single leg RDL

20 x8 el

Toe Squat
    20 x5
    30 x5
    40 x3

Squat
    50 x2
    60 x2
    65 x1
    *belt*******
    70 x1
    75 x1
    80 x1
    85 x1 (+2.5 PR)
    90 x1 (+7.5 PR)

This time last year
    :pac::pac:

Back to the weird cold sinus thing at the weekend. I don't think i could have gymmed if you paid me. And we all know i love lifting

Anyway I'd said I would try Monday night soccer so i went. I scored 1 goal and saved 2 and spent the rest of the time flailing. :D i never really played it much before.
    It was great craic and I'm going to go on Mondays... Numbers depending
    Everything i try seems to get cancelled so fingers crossed :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 24,591 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

You might be signed by Bluewolfsburg.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭j@utis

Oi there! It's been a week! How's that competition prep going?

Cold sapped all my energy, just couldn't move!
    Feeling much better today and went to soccer, so it's back to business tomorrow.
    I was super looking forward to the following week's session after how the 90kgs went, but given the break and july coming up, coach has changed things up to scale it back for another peak

• Registered Users Posts: 5,486 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Where are you playing the soccerball? Liverpool could have done with ye the other night tbh!

Haha. Himself had the lads over to watch it and i was busily ignoring it with the xbox!
    I play it in work.
    Apparently tag and squash are the big sports in work atm though. I might have to give in and get squash lessons eventually. It all sounds very serious business though. I was always useless at tennis

Squash is the business. More fun than tennis cos you don't need to be as accurate so you can smash the ball harder.

Therapy.

Today went as well as expected given the break ie not at all :D

29 05

Toe sq
    20 x5
    40 x3
    Sq
    50 x1
    62.5 x1
    Program:

A) Squat - Comp: 1x1 @ 6RPE, 3x4 @ 80-82% = 80kg
    Reality:
    70x1
    80 x2
    70 x 4, 2

Hips were in ribbons because sommmmebody didn't foam roll the last coulple weeks
    It was me :(
    Did some just now

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    40 x1
    Program :
    B) Bench - Mid-Grip: 4x5 @ 80-82%
    =45kg
    Reality:
    45x 4,4
    40x 4,4

C) Chest Supported Row: 32 reps total
    28kg x 9,9,7, 7

D) Seated Face Pull: 3x10
    Machines were busy and i was tired anyway

Basketball was not cancelled this week and we even got a new person \o/
    I didn't get winded like usual
    I think i did get a blister though :pac:

edit: got a reminder that the cork comp was this time last year! when i was still on my quest for 100kg squat haha
    good stuff

Things i would rather have been doing on a bh fri: ANYTHING

01 06

Day 2:

A) Bench - Comp:
    20 x8
    30 x5
    40 x1
    45 x1
    Program: 1x1 @ 7RPE, 4x3 -5%
    50kg x1
    47.5kg 4x3
    47.5 was v v heavy today
    I recorded the 50. Was fine albeit wobbly, noticed on the rewatch that my heels came up a bit. Prob cos i was in runners not squats

Rdl 20 x8x
    B) Deadlift - Comp:
    60 x3
    90 x2
    100 x1
    107.5 x1
    115x1

Program : 1x1@ 7RPE, 10x1 -5%
    122.5 x1
    115 x1
    105 4x1
    Cannae do it

C) Lat (or Band) Pulldown: 32 reps total
    28kg 2x16

15 mins Xtrainer

Not great, not terrible. Getting back into it sure.
    Staaaaarving this week

Friend renewed his gym membership and wanted to try the Trip(spin class with the screens) so i went too and dragged along the OH.

Lads were there after going oh yeah the standy bits were great fora break and i was like ??? What planet are you on
    I think i need to remember to increase the resistance more and go slower

Friend renewed his membership and wanted to try the Trip so i went too and dragged along the OH
    Lads were there after going oh yeah the standy bits were great fora break and i was like ??? What planet are you on
    I think i need to remember to increase the resistance more and go slower

Google Translate won't even work on this.

I did a spin class and it was hard

Ah. It read like you were still on a trip...

I haven't summoned the courage yet to try the spin class out in our gym. It's been over 2 years now but that darkened mysterious room still frightens me :D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,788 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

I’d only do a spin class if I lost a bet

03 06

Day 3:

A) program: Squat - Comp: 1x1 @7 RPE, 3x5 -10%

Sl rdl
    20 x8

Toe sq
    20 x5
    40 x3

Squat
    50 x2
    60 x1
    70 x1
    80 x1
    Grand but wont go heavier
    Then - 10% 3x5:
    70 3x5
    Recorded set 3

B) program: Bench - Comp: 4x6 @ 70-75%
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x2
    42.5 4x6
    Recorded set 2

Nearly sat down and cried at this stage at not being done

C) program; Deadlift - Pause (off floor): 4x5 @ 7RPE
    Rdl
    20 x8
    Deadlift
    60 x3
    80x2
    80 4x2 Paused
    Couldn't even

20 mins xtrainer

Just tired and hot and humid today. Whinge whinge moan
    I should show this to anyone who thinks motivation is a thing lol

05 06

Day 1:

A) Squat - Comp: 1x1 @ 7RPE, 3x4 @ 82-84%

Sl rdl
    20 x8
    Toe sq
    20 x5
    40 x3

Squat
    50 x2
    60 x1
    70 x1
    77.5 x1

85 x1 fine, bit slow on ascent
    80 x
    First set easier than expected... Second set terrible... Third set fine

B) Bench - Mid-Grip: 4x5 @ 82-84%
    20 x8
    30 x5
    40 x2
    45 4x5

I thought i was adding in comp style pauses as instructed but then i watched the video back...

C) Chest Supported Row: 32 reps total
    28kg 2x16

D) Face Pull: 3x10
    15kg 3x10
    Totally got the hang of these! Boom!

Instagram like from Hani Jazayrli as well! Wtf

Is that a famous person? I got another big name like recently as well. And someone messaged me asking about if i am sponsored by supplements
    Hilarious

• Registered Users Posts: 12,788 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Is that a famous person? I got another big name like recently as well. And someone messaged me asking about if i am sponsored by supplements
    Hilarious

http://thestrengthathlete.com/hani-bio/

Coooooool

What's your Instagram handle?

Hilarious

You should check out The Strength Athlete Podcast - he's probably the main contributor on that. I just like his thoughts on coaching.

Basketball 🏀

08 06

Bench - Comp 1x1 8 RPE
    4x3 -5%

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    40 x3
    45 x1
    50 x1
    55 x1

47.5 x4 because i am numbers good,
    3, 3, 3

Deadlift - Comp 1x1 7.5 RPE
    10x1 -5%
    Literally dreading this all day

Rdl
    20 x8
    60 x3
    DL
    80x2
    100 x1
    110 x1 x this was defo rpe 7.5 today

100 8x1

Dropping weight to 100kg was the only way i was gona get close to 10x1 because i hate loads of deadlifts

Lat Pulldown
    *32 8 RPE
    35kg 4x8

15 mins xtrainer

Does the bench setup look ok? I did a super arch this time but not sure how much contact i need

I tried the stairmaster for a min bbut it was weird

No issues with contact from what I saw.

Spinning class.
    Omg i didnt know you are supposed to shift your weight side to side til today. Game changer. I did all the standing intervals no problem, increased resistance like a pro
    Woo!

I saw my favourite bench was parked off in a corner. Told the guy after they can't get rid of it because it's my favourite bench. He promised the new ones are even better. Hopefully... I can't really use a couple of the current ones because they are high and wide so i cant really get my feet flat.
    Poor guy. Apparently he was out last night, teaching a spinning class this morning, then listening to me faff on at him about my favourite bench. Haha

Today i was serious business and determined to attack those squats!

squat program: 4x5 @ 7 rpe
    sl rdl
    20 x8
    Toe squat
    20 x5
    40 x3
    Squat
    50 x2
    60 x2
    70 x1

80 2x4
    70 3x4

i couldn't manage 4x5 so i did 5x4. i was squatting a bit too slowly i think because i was totally trying to keep my feet down. i went a bit faster at the end and they were much easier

bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    40 4x6
    I watched back the video and of course my head pause isn't a real life pause so i made sure to do a proper 'wait for the [imaginary] cue' bit on the subsequent ones

paused deadlifts
    no

Had a blinding headache and my right quad was screaming at me so i left it there. deadlifts can bite my shiny metal ass anyway!

foam rolling is up next...

i made some sausage and egg and onion breakfast muffins, hopefully they turn out nice. they were supposed to have broccoli also but i forgot about it so it went into the slow cooker with the dinners instead