Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I come too

• Registered Users Posts: 24,591 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Next up: bluewolf tells us all about Fran.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Who's Fran

bluewolf wrote: »
    Who's Fran

You'll know soon enough.

Coach has added a section to the program where i must log what rpe the final set was. The rpe given to me is what the first set should be

31 07

Squat - High Bar 4x10 7 RPE
    20 x8
    40 x3
    50kg 4x10

So sore but weight fine this week thankfully
    Rpe 8-8.5 at end
    Hard to tell the difference between "could have done more" and "REALLY didnt want to do more"

Bench - Incline DB 4x12 7 RPE
    10kg
    Rpe 9.5 left arm. 8.5-9 right arm

Horiz. Row 4x10 8 RPE
    Msr machine
    25kg

Passed the assisted pull up machine as its my morning gym so:
    40kg assisted pull ups
    3x8

All good. Expect to be hobbling again in a while

Metafit class
    RIP bluewolf
    In fairness considering how unfit i am i did way better than expected, got thru basically all of the exercises except the last ones. Even on the burpees.
    Did not even attempt the kneeling prisoner jumps. You can eff off with those

I was promised terrible doms after that class but all good. Mild shoulder doms. Unfortunately also not mild pain in right shoulder. Ibuprofen thumbs up

Double session today because I'll be honest i was too hungover to gym yesterday

1a Squat - High Bar Box 4x7 6 RPE
    20 x3
    30 x2
    35 x2
    40 4x7

6-7 rpe

Bench higher than i thought, need an alt for box squats. V easy

Ss
    1b Bench - DB 4x10 7 RPE
    10kg
    Too easy go heavier next time

2 Deadlift - Opposite Stance (sumo) 4x8 7 RPE
    60 x3
    70 4x8

3 Bench - Feet-up 4x6 7 RPE
    20 x5
    30 x2
    35 4x6
    Shoulder ow

4a Reverse Lunge 4x12 7 RPE
    20 4x12

Ss

4b DB SLDL 4x12 7 RPE
    10 4x12

30 mins Xtrainer

4b DB SLDL 4x12 7 RPE

Reads like something I'd text when I'm hammered...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,486 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Those feet up but not on the bench benches would not end well for me - could see myself toppling off the bench given my lack of balance. I think I would need a very low weight - like the bar on its own :o

Same goes for seal rows which I have been trying the past couple of times - the bench is clearly designed for people who are about 8 foot tall and I practically need a ladder to get up on it, and then I feel like I might topple off at any time. I was not built like a seal.

Got my videos there from the open. I see now i must have failed the deadlift as the bar went down slightly on the way up. What a struggle it was!
    Squat looked easy :cool:

Single leg RDL
    20 x8
    Toe squat
    20 x5
    30 x5
    40 x3

Squat
    50 x2
    60 x2
    *belt*
    70 x1 Note: unless caffeine kicks in soon this is not going to be a max out day
    75 x1
    82.5 x1
    87.5 x1
    92.5 x1
    100 x1 (+5kg PR)
    OMG OMG I GUESS THE CAFFEINE KICKED IN LOL
    TRIPLE DIGIT SQUAT CLUB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 4x4

Bunch of other stuff I forgot to do.
    I was freaking out about the depth a bit because it's borderline imo but omg I squatted 100kg
    Long way from the days where I was banned from barbell squatting for 3 months when I first started training with Hanley because my mobility was so non existent.
    and now here we are.
    omg.

thanks facebook for the memory - triple digit squat club a year ago today :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭j@utis

Are your DL & bench videos on insta too? I can only see the squat - looks so easy!

j@utis wrote: »
    Are your DL & bench videos on insta too? I can only see the squat - looks so easy!

Ye scroll right they're all in the same post

I must be blind (truth is that I don't use Instagram very often).

j@utis wrote: »
    I must be blind (truth is that I don't use Instagram very often).
    It took me a while to cop what those little dots under a post were about

They should be red dots...

Too soon :(

Too soon :(

Lol, I wasn't talking about yours cos I didn't see it yet!

But if it was dickish, I apologise.

Still though, if it's a missed lift, it's a good gag :p

Haha i thought u were slagging me so i was joking back!
    The bench & dl ones i posted were fails :D

I love how you shake your head when benching "nope, not gonna happen, save me!!!"

My dexa was supposed to be today but i am smothered with a cold and couldn't face an hour drive each way. So today i am just enjoying a day off, in between snuffling.

09 08

Squat - High Bar
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x 10, 8
    50 x 8, 5, 5
    breathing dodgy :(

Bench - Incline DB
    10 4x12

My left arm nearly fell off again but slightly less so than last week

ohp machine while waiting for msr:
    14kg 2x12

Msr
    23kg 4x12

No cardio. Might do a walk later

Tried the staff gym today for the first time. Nice and quiet as i hoped

10 08

Bench - Feet-up
    20 x5
    30 x2
    37.5 4x6

Reverse Lunge
    25 4x12

I didnt want to take up the only rack setting up lunges so i got some c&j practice :D

DB SLDL
    15 4x12

Vrt. Pulldown/Row
    "setting 4" 4x10
    Couldn't find weight specifics. If i had to guess I'd say around 36kg though i suppose could be 40. Could also be 32 hahaha

Jelly legs!!

No cardio thx. Although sets of 12 counts anyway.

I went on that walk yesterday also

oh my god i could not walk the last 2 days. hamstring DOMS is insane!!!
    got laughed at a lot :p

HB box squat
    20 x5
    45 4x7

still on the too-high bench but i'm still getting better at it

-ss-

DB bench
    15 x 10, 7
    12.5 2x10

15 was v hard and wobbly. 12.5 was grand. :confused::confused:

Sumo
    60 x3
    70 4x8

still keeping the weight light while i get used to it. i havent done them in so long they still feel kinda weird.

xtrainer
    30 mins

then i passed the bicep machine and who doesn't want bigger biceps??

bicep machine
    18kg 3x8

18kg was probs my upper limit there

HB squat
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 2x10
    50 x10
    55 x10

RPE 11. THAT'S RIGHT, 11

Bench incline db
    10 4x12

easier this week. move on to 12.5 next time

skulls
    5kg x12
    5kg x6
    6kg x6
    6kg 2x12

too easy stilll... back to 7 or 8

MSR
    machine busy
    cable machine busy
    everything busy
    went home

Had tutorial today so a nice 20 min walk before and after

Do you find HB feels very different to LB/normal?

No leaning forward and more in my quads. maybe.
    I'm mostly too busy crying about the number of reps to be honest with you though
    was hitting glutes more than expected - i think the box squat work is kicking in

Now i've ended up reading this:
    https://www.strongerbyscience.com/squats-are-not-hip-dominant-or-knee-dominant-3/
    1) If you’re prone to turn your squat into a good morning, these findings throw another potential culprit into the mix – your glutes. Since they can contribute to knee extension via the rectus femoris, if you’re unable to produce enough knee extension torque to come up out of the bottom of a squat without your back angle relative to the ground decreasing (hips rising faster than the bar), they could potentially be to blame.

lols

• Registered Users Posts: 8,471 ✭✭✭7 Seconds...

Hello everyone! A little birdie told me I had a thread named after me, :D but it was actually me who stole my username from this thread:cool:. I couldn't think of a username the day I joined, this thread popped up on the home page & I tried it & it worked.

Anyway Dtp1979 reminded me again of this thread, so I just thought I'd pop by and say Hi! :)

Hello everyone! A little birdie told me I had a thread named after me, :D but it was actually me who stole my username from this thread:cool:. I couldn't think of a username the day I joined, this thread popped up on the home page & I tried it & it worked.

Anyway Dtp1979 reminded me again of this thread, so I just thought I'd pop by and say Hi! :)

ah no way i thought you were just coincidentally a simpsons fan! i'm an inspiration, i like it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,486 ✭✭✭caviardreams

ah no way i thought you were just coincidentally a simpsons fan! i'm an inspiration, i like it :D

Royalties, wha??

Can I come too... that's 10 cent per post due to Bluewolf :D Or is it the other way around?? Jaysus this is too confusing...

Is now the time to finally admit, that it slightly annoys me on a semi-regular basis that there is no ? at the end of Can I come too bluey.... sorry :o:o