Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I come too

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Back in the game! Pew pew! Bit of a cough be grand
    Coach reckons given the mess of the last while i am better restarting this block which makes sense

05 12

Squat - Comp
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x2
    70 x1

80 3x6
    First set easy
    Last set awful

Squat - High Bar
    50 2x7

Bench - Comp
    20 x5
    30 x3
    35 x2
    42.5 4x6

Bench - Feet-up
    30 3x8

20 mins xtrainer

I was home late and nearly didn't go but the gym is warm and home was not sooo :p

07 12

Deadlift - Comp
    60 x3
    80x2
    90 x1
    100 x1

110 1x1 6 RPE
    yea easy

92.5 4x6 71%

Bench - Close Grip
    20 x8
    30 4x5 7 rpe
    I did 7 reps in the first set cos i was confused. But it's 7 rpe not 7 rep

Split Squat
    3x8
    No

Row - Lat Pulldown
    40 3x8
    Tricep Pushdowns
    27 3x12

09 12

Squat - Comp
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x2
    70 x1
    80 x1

90 x1
    ye grand. Panicked and got disoriented with the mirror and where to look so it felt like i sat at the bottom for ages. Supposed to be rpe6 but i don't think it was!

82.5 4x4

Bench - Comp
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2
    45 x1

50 x1
    45 5x4

Bench - DB Flat
    15 3x6 7 RPE
    I did 7 reps on set 1

Core - Aleknas
    +5kg x12
    + 2.5kg 2x12
    Apparently i havent done these since September oops

25 mins xtrainer. Flew by!

thursday 13/12

Had the day off but was wrecked from work then freaked out FREAKED OUT about exam results at 6pm. there was a question worth like 25% and i blanked on it and the pass mark is usually 60% sooo the numbers don't add up. i went to the gym well before the results.

TURNS OUT I PASSED BOTH OF THEM LOLWTF BEST WEEK EVER

anyway the point is i nearly didn't go and i was in a heap
    so it was a 'showing up is a victory' day

Squat
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x2
    70 x1
    82.5 3x3 (instead of 3x6)

Bench
    20 x5
    30 x3
    35 x2
    42.5 4x6 down from 45

Deadlift
    60 x3
    80 x2
    90 x1
    100 x1
    112.5 x not today
    95 x not today

85 2x6

CGBP
    32.5 4x5
    superset
    Feet up bench
    32.5 2x8

Squat
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x2
    70 x1
    80 x1

92.5 x1
    grand but too much of a jump from 80

85 2x4
    80 2x4

nearly wasn't coming back up on some of them. i loosened my belt. i don't think i like it. back to being squished

HB squat
    52.5 2x7
    at least something is easy :p

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2
    45 x1

52.5 x1
    52.5 x2 i forgot what i was doing and didnt change the plates
    47.5 4x4 down from 5x4 because i think the 52.5 counts

DB bench
    17.5 3x6

Aleknas
    +2.5 3x12

missed a load of accessory work.
    i also noticed i ate a lot more protein last week and the lifts were easier
    lol

Holidays. I need all the sleep

19 12

Squat - Comp
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x2
    70 x1
    77.5 x1

85 3x6 4, 4, 4
    Rpe over 9000
    Supposed to be sets of 6. Better than sets of 3 last week i guess

Squat - High Bar
    52.5 2x7

Bench - Comp
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2

45 4x6
    Rpe 10

Bench - Feet-up
    35 3x8
    Okay

Row - Horiz Cable
    23 3x8
    Okay

Xtrainer 10min. I didn't want to do any at all so i compromised brisk 10m

21 12

Deadlift - Comp
    60 x3
    80x2
    90 x1
    100 x1

112.5 x1
    95 4x6
    Did them PROPERLY
    Ow

Bench - Close Grip
    20 x8 x
    32.5 4x5
    Easy

Split Squat
    10 3x8
    Grand actually

Row - Lat Pulldown
    40 3x8

Hamstring curls while waiting for lat
    36kg or something
    3x8

Tricep Pushdowns
    27 3x12

Xtrainer 40 mins. Slow - > brisk
    It said i did 4.5 miles after 30 mins which is a lie but I'll record it for consistency. Maybe it's really km as the pace I was doing makes sense for it

Pre xmas post prosecco... I was not right

23 12

Squat - Comp
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x2
    70 x1
    77.5 x1
    85 x1 flew up

92.5 x1 i wrote 90 but forgot and did 92.5
    Didnt flew up

82.5 4x4
    Grand

Bench - Comp
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2
    47.5x1

52.5 x1
    50 5x4
    Dropped to 45 3x4

Bench - DB Flat
    17.5 3x6

Felt better after than before... Or during

27 12
    Decided to kinda go off program and do whatever... Kinda ended up looking like day 3 workout anyway
    Good change after the sheer amount of banoffee

Sl rdl x8

Squat
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x2
    70 x2
    80 x1
    87.5 x1 grand
    95 x1
    grand probs easier than the 92.5 last week duno about depth

100 x1 grand - depth ok and heels stayed down
    Woo! I started mentally freaking out again so i had to do the thing where i lie to myself and pretend it's only 90kg and super easy.
    Duno what rpe it looks like? 7.5?

80 2x5

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2
    45 x1

50 x 6, 6, 6
    Benching really is a whole body exercise

Tricpe pd
    22kg 3x12
    too easy but the machine wasn't cooperating so i was afraid to change it

Hamstring machine
    41kg 3x12

Xtrainer 20mins

Last time was low gravity and this time was high gravity. 3am going to bed these days doesn't help

Since last one was close to day 3, I decided to plough on and do day 2 today and I'll do day 1 next time

29 12

Deadlift - Comp
    60 x3
    80x2
    90 x1
    100 x1
    107.5 x1

115 x1 x
    97.5 4x6

Bench - Close Grip
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 4x5 too easy i think

Split Squat
    10 3x8
    -ss-
    Db bench
    17.5 3x6

Row - Lat Pulldown
    40 3x8

Tricep Pushdowns
    27 3x12

31 12

Squat - Comp
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x2
    70 x1
    80 x1

87.5 3x6
    Probably ok due to all the chocolate
    Split the last set into 2x3

Squat - High Bar
    52.5 2x7

Bench - Comp
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2

47.5 4x6

Bench - Feet-up
    35 3x8

Xtrainer 20 mins ramped up the intensity a bit

Happy new year!!!
    Here's to PRs in 2019

Lunchtime session today

02 01

Rdl
    20 x8
    Deadlift - Comp
    60 x3
    80 x2
    90 x1
    100 x1

115 1x1
    100 4x6

Back very sore after squats i think. Serious need of some stretching and foam rolling. I remember this happened before when i was going mad doing smolov squats

Bench - Close Grip
    20 x8
    30 x5
    37.5 4x5

Split Squat
    Not today

Row - Lat Pulldown
    35 3x8
    Different machine

Tricep Pushdowns
    Couldn't get near cable

I signed up for a pilates class very near me. Starts next week. I'll get core and stretching then I'd say. Haven't done pilates in ages

Yesterday i went for a walkies (i went for a few over the last while tbh) and did a bunch of foam rolling and stretching

06 01

Squat
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x2
    70 x1
    80 x1

90 x1
    85 4x4
    Today I remembered to pull my lats down as WELL as brace my core. i kicked ass.

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2

50 5x4
    I didn't do the heavy single because 50 was so heavy i got a shock.
    on re-reading this, it appears i totally forgot to do the 45kg warm up. hurr durr

DB Bench
    17.5 1x9 + 2x6
    I was supposed to do 3x6 but i forgot how many

Xtrainer
    30 mins, briskish
    I threw some opera arias on and the time totally flew by. at least im not totally unfit!
    I put on a few kg over the xmas so i am trying to step it up a bit to get rid of it :rolleyes:

I went to look at a couple of gyms that are very local to me today instead of my 30min drive one. One of them had one rack and a single barbell with no knurling in the middle... nah. The other is a proper lifting type one, tiny, has 2 racks and a bench though. Texted them to say i wanna sign up and try it for a month.
    Also since soccer is always cancelled and courses start soon ... i signed up for a self defense class starting in a few weeks...

• Registered Users Posts: 24,591 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

bluewolf wrote: »
    Yesterday i went for a walkies (i went for a few over the last while tbh)

Been then since before Mark Rippetoe made them a thing, yeah

• Registered Users Posts: 5,486 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Also since soccer is always cancelled and courses start soon ... i signed up for a self defense class starting in a few weeks...

Just carry one of them 19kg "foam rollers" around with ye - be grand :pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,788 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

i signed up for a self defense class starting in a few weeks...

Just warn whatever poor soul you’re paired with, that you might be a little stronger than they’re expecting.

i signed up for a self defense class starting in a few weeks...

Ooh...missed that. You'll enjoy those. Used to teach them and got a great buzz out of it cos everyone enjoyed learning stuff like that. And I did myself back in the day when I first moved to The Dublin.

I did some jiu jitsu classes in college, way back when. I was terrible at it but i could still do a shoulder throw I'd say :D
    I've been dying to do a class in something like it since forever so this place being handy and at a good time is great.
    I remember someone suggesting a women only class and i was like are you kidding, girls can be dangerous as fcuk. Throw you across the room and apologise nicely

So we’re all former martial artists that have moved on to lifting heavy stuff?

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    So we’re all former martial artists that have moved on to lifting heavy stuff?

When I moved to Dublin from my small town, I had to learn something to be able to defend myself from all the larcenists and whatnot. So I did taekwondo for a long time. As you do.

I did karate for years, then moved on to MMA for 6/7 years. My Back was in tatters from it. Saw a guy deadlift 40kg back then, and thought he was a lunatic. How times change.

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    I did karate for years, then moved on to MMA for 6/7 years. My Back was in tatters from it. Saw a guy deadlift 40kg back then, and thought he was a lunatic. How times change.

I remember watching a bit squat 60kg...a bog plate each side.

"One day", I said.

Remember that like it was last week.

Bluewolf, might be time to change the thread title to something about nostalgia :)

Aw lads i was only thinking today about the time i saw another girl in the gym squat 60kg and i was soooo like i wish i could do that

Dtp that sounds very serious! Years of it! I only did a few classes really :D

Ye new thread title "can i remember too"

Aw lads i was only thinking today about the time i saw another girl in the gym squat 60kg and i was soooo like i wish i could do that

Ye new thread title "can i remember too"

It was tough going. Back in the day, when I could recover from injuries it was great. But being twisted in a looball in Brazilian jujitsu, or wrestling, took its toll on my back though. Looking back now, my back was weak, so that probably lead to a lot of injuries. Far too old to be going back to getting punched in the face now. I’d much rather have a deadlift kick my ass now

I think he's from Laois. Most Saturday nights there's some form of fighting so you need to be adept ;)

Thurs/fri/sat

50 mins of lifting burns about the same as 30 mins xtrainer according to my fitbit

We're finished block 3 but this week i am to keep going and we'll start something new next week

Squat
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x2
    70 x1
    80 x1

87.5 x 6,5,5
    i feel like i'm getting better at these. finally...

HB squat
    52.5 2x7

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2

45 4x6
    started on 47.5 actually but my left arm was twingey after the squatting... i'm setting up and bracing slowly and carefully for the squats but whatever way i'm doing it is awkward on my left arm. I do feel like my shoulders are a bit stiff despite the shoulder dislocates. i also don't really have to have my hands as close as they are when squatting as long as my elbows are close

Feet up bench
    35 3x8

Ham curls
    40 3x8

MSR
    23 3x8

The hamstring curls aren't on the program but it's nice to do them on the way to the MSRs

oh i forgot to log 30mins xtrainer yesterday. 5 "miles"

Hour and a bit of basketball. Haven't played since... Oct? Sept? Useless at shooting, loads of very near misses and a few shots.
    Didnt die from the running. Yuss

RDL
    20 x8
    Deadlift
    60 x3
    80 x2
    90 x1
    100 x1

115 x1
    100 4x6