Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I come too

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Thank god we've never done push ups... not what i'm here for like :D

today:
    lots of walkies (tutorial today)
    +

Squat
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x2
    70 x1
    80 x1

85 3x6

tore through warmups bc the lad on saturday said closing at 9 weekdays. it did not close at 9. now i know. my form was dire and my depth wasn't quite there for half the reps. i'd be embarrassed if anyone i knew saw me :pac:
    there is no knurling in the middle of any of the barbells. i noticed it doesn't really roll up my back unless my form goes bad, like if i am leaning forward AND my elbows aren't staying tight. so maybe it's a good thing...

Squat - 2ct pause
    50 2x7

ded

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2

47.5 4x6
    hard today

Bench - feet up
    35 3x8

Was using the local gym again. Sooooo handy being done and home at 9pm instead of 11pm???
    There was a guy deadlifting in front of me and he was using the smaller black plates... eh... this brand!
    https://www.flexequipment.com.au/standard-rubber-weight-plates-2.5kg-20-kg

which i'm fairly certain the 20kg are smaller diameter than the normal ones... so i might go to westwood for deadlifting still

PS fitbit have sent out a replacement band
    PPS my bluetooth scales arrived. i don't believe any of the fancy measurements except my weight but it'll be handy to see over time. it is synced up with my fitbit and the app i got with it. also you can just use it without syncing anything to anyone

• Registered Users Posts: 12,788 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

bluewolf wrote: »
    Thank god we've never done push ups... not what i'm here for like :D

today:
    lots of walkies (tutorial today)
    +

Squat
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x2
    70 x1
    80 x1

85 3x6

tore through warmups bc the lad on saturday said closing at 9 weekdays. it did not close at 9. now i know. my form was dire and my depth wasn't quite there for half the reps. i'd be embarrassed if anyone i knew saw me :pac:
    there is no knurling in the middle of any of the barbells. i noticed it doesn't really roll up my back unless my form goes bad, like if i am leaning forward AND my elbows aren't staying tight. so maybe it's a good thing...

Squat - 2ct pause
    50 2x7

ded

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2

47.5 4x6
    hard today

Bench - feet up
    35 3x8

Was using the local gym again. Sooooo handy being done and home at 9pm instead of 11pm???
    There was a guy deadlifting in front of me and he was using the smaller black plates... eh... this brand!
    https://www.flexequipment.com.au/standard-rubber-weight-plates-2.5kg-20-kg

which i'm fairly certain the 20kg are smaller diameter than the normal ones... so i might go to westwood for deadlifting still

PS fitbit have sent out a replacement band

They’re the ones I use mostly. Yea they’re about 20mm less

deficit deadlifts :D

• Registered Users Posts: 17,548 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Maybe it was intentional? I've used 15kg plates to do deficits before. Does that gym have anything to stand on for real deficits?

It possibly does that i haven't seen yet. 99% certain no other plates. If i ever find someone in charge I'll ask

In my place, all 20’s are that size, except for two larger standard size. So I use the smaller for deficit lifts

I am busy the next few evenings, and i would rather deadlift after squat day than squat after deadlift day, so:
    (morning gym today @ lunchtime, normal plates)

23 01

Deadlift - Comp
    60 x3
    80x2
    100 x1
    110 x1
    120 1x1 7 RPE
    105 4x5 -12%

Got my setup perfect on the first rep of last set - super easier, weight flew up. Need to keep that up!

Bench - Close Grip
    20 x8
    30 5x4

dropped weight from 35 this week since benching last night and it was harder

Leg Press - Single Leg
    20kg 4x9 7 RPE

Weird leg press! The one in my evening gym is fixed seat, push the plate. morning gym one is fixed plate, push the seat...
    Dropped the weight right down, it was weird

Tricep Pushdowns
    3x10 17

I actually need a nap now

Basketball👍

I think we can safely say 2 nights on the prosecco had me in a total heap
    dropped the squats back today

Squat
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x2
    70 x1
    80 x1
    90 x1

95 x1
    probs a bit less than rpe 7

85 5x3
    coach said if im dying on the last set then take 4min+ rests. so i did. they helped tons but i was still dying on the last set

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2
    45 x1

52.5 x1 rpe 7
    47.5 6x3 okay - longer rests again

Xtrainer
    30 mins
    it was a weird one - kinda on a slope. i got into it though and 30 mins flew by

30 mins xtrainer calorie burn = 60 min weights calorie burn :pac:

Had some kind of flu the past while.
    Under instructions to stick with rpe 5 today and see what is happening

Squat
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x2

70 3x5
    probs heavier than should have been

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5

35 4x8

DB bench
    12.5 3x10

MSR
    22.5 3x10

Decided to walk up today so that was 20 mins each way.
    skipped the xtrainer. i'll do it on sunday

all good but worn out a bit easily. hopefully another recovery session on sunday and i'll be back to normal?? maybe?

Squat
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x3

70 3x5
    haaaaardddddd

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5

35 4x8
    okay

Deadlift
    60 x3

80 3x7
    okay i guess

DB bench
    12.5 3x10

xtrainer
    45 mins

13 02
    attempting to pick up block 4 week 3 again
    local gym was overrun with people so went to the further one

Squat
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x2
    70 x1

77.5 3x6
    - should have been 87.
    very wobbly. hard. didnt get around to foam rolling so my hip was absolutely screaming which didn't help
    so lame that i can't squat the same :mad:

Squat - 2 count pause
    50 2x7

left this note on my log: FOAM ROLL FFS

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    40 x2
    45 x1

50 x6
    45 3x6
    - should have been 50 4x6

Feet up bench
    35 3x8

Xtrainer
    45 mins

Basketball

• Registered Users Posts: 24,591 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Basketball

You should go to the Literature forum...there's a thread called 'A story in six words.

You could probably win it.

I was in a bad humour after it. There's a newish guy who doesn't know what team means, never passes the ball and even more rarely to me. Everyone is fed up with him. Some of the lads told him to cop on but sucks the fun out of things

Played sawker with a guy like that. He was really good but he was a massive asshóle and winning started being less enjoyable.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,486 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Played sawker with a guy like that. He was really good but he was a massive asshóle and winning started being less enjoyable.

Ronaldo or Hazard?

I think he thought he was better than both...he probably would only have passed to either of those two.

15 02

Squat
    20 x5
    30 x3
    55 x2

70 3x3
    not on the program but i feel like i needed the extra help

Deadlift
    60 x3
    80 x2
    100 x1
    110 x1

120 x1
    knees out of way pls
    not as easy as i would have liked but i dont think 120 ever is these days. at least i seem to be recovered on deadlifts

100 4x5

Close grip bench
    20 x8
    30 x5

35 5x4
    i did 1x8 and 3x4 because i forgot what i was doing

Leg press - single leg
    30 x5
    42 x5
    50 3x9

Tricep pushdowns
    27 3x10

Xtrainer
    47 mins...then gym closing time
    then i was on 19,500 steps so i dragged himself out for a walk. at like 23:15.
    22,000 steps

Finally i am pretty sure i got the wrong pronation runners... getting blisters on inside of my heels :mad: or maybe they are just dodgy runners

Today-

pilates
    that's the end of the course now :( i think there is another one being run in a week or so. question is whether to go for it or go back to spinning.

might try get to a xtrainer today also. there is a step challenge a bunch of us are doing and i'm behind from when i was laid up with flu so be good to catch up

Today-

pilates
    that's the end of the course now :( i think there is another one being run in a week or so. question is whether to go for it or go back to spinning.
    Do you hate yourself THAT much, that you’d even consider spinning?

I love the spinning... Just not the drive there :(

Squat
    20 x5
    40 x3
    55 x2
    70 x1
    80 x1
    87.5 x1

95 x1

85 4x4

approx 10s of foamrolling before i ran out the door just about got me through... hobbling after

Bench
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2
    45 x1

52.5 x1
    47.5 x4
    45 4x4

Soccer! Lots of fun

do
    not
    want

Squat
    20 x5
    suddenly realised i forgot to foam roll. made use of crappy squishy gym ones to just about get through
    40 x3
    55 x2
    70 x1
    80 x1
    loaded up 85. thought about it. unloaded it
    80 3x6

probs could have gone 82.5 at least but better to err on the lower side and get the reps in

Squat - 2count pause
    50 x3 - had to stop. ow ow ow

Bench
    on the lame bench that it's harder to set up on
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2
    45 x1

50 x 6,5
    47.5 x 6,6

Feet up bench
    40 2x8

Facepulls
    22 3x8
    supposed to be 3x6 but i keep forgetting

xtrainer
    22 mins

#kantkope

Why do most gyms that even bother to have a roller have the WORST rollers ever made?

It's like they bought them from a Transition Year mini-company for CSR.

22 02

Deadlift - Comp
    60 x3
    90 x2
    100 x1
    110 x1
    117.5 x 1

102.5 4x5
    Horrible

Bench - Close Grip
    20 x8
    30 x5
    37.5 5x4

Leg Press - Single Leg
    50 3x9

Did msr since t pd last time
    23 3x10

Was wrecked tired - had a sleep in

24 02

Squat - Comp
    20 x5
    40 x4
    55 x2
    70 x1
    80 x1
    87.5 x1
    95 x1

102.5 x1
    Panicked and went shallow tho Hanley said thumbs up

85 4x4
    Come on, hip
    Stopped at 3. Extra extra foam rolling required

Bench - Comp
    20 x8
    30 x5
    35 x3
    40 x2
    47.5 x1

55 x1 easy??

5x4 @ 88%
    50 5x4

Row - Seated Cable Face Pull
    3x15
    No

Core
    No

2 tired 2 cardio

study lift eat repeat
    did some extra foamrolling but i think weeks of neglect will take more time unfortunately.

block 5! 3 week strength, 2 week peak, TEST

Squat
    20 x8
    40 x4
    55 x3
    70 x2
    80 x1

87.5 4x4
    quite manageable

Squat 2ct pause
    50 x5

hip said no on set 2