Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I must have heard and read it wrong, but it sounds like all the rights are exclusive to Sky now ?
    Could just be televisual rights.
    Sure people can listen to it on Radio1? Y'know like Liveline..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

This bit about the Irish abroad is a bit of a red herring. This shouldn't be the reason that the contract is given to Sky. RTE & TV3 could stream it on the web for anyone in the world to see a game surely?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

And yet people are blaming Sky for this situation.

The money hungry GAA really are Teflon. The amount of money that goes into the black hole that is that organisation is sxary and yet no one seems to care.

Well if you look at some of the new facilities and pitches in clubs all over the country it isn't that big a hole. A huge percentage of the money goes all the way down to grass roots but people don't want to believe that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

So before we pay you 250k grand, Joe, the country has to earn 500k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

o my jaysus

was he saying that because Sky are now going to show the matches that its going to be the middle of the night in Australia:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,270 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I must have heard and read it wrong, but it sounds like all the rights are exclusive to Sky now ?

Oh yes. Every single live GAA game is on Sky sports now. RTE have no championship games and TG4 will not have club games or Sunday league games anymore. Or that's what these fools seem to be thinking anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Wow, did you come up with that one yourself caller ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

i can't wait for the first person to bring up illegal streaming of Sky Sports...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Ha! Looks like that caller agrees with me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

As someone who loathes many sports and in particular the GAA I welcome the reduced number of matches on the national broadcast service. I look forward to all games only being shown on Sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

foreiners in de GAA never!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,011 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

He's been practicing this speech for hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

Events for junkies?? :eek:

snubbleste wrote: »
    Could just be televisual rights.
    Sure people can listen to it on Radio1? Y'know like Liveline..

I was being facetious !

Bloody fordeners, going over to Engerland and playing their sports.

LOL, does he think English players aren't fordeners ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

JM Skipton wrote: »
    Well if you look at some of the new facilities and pitches in clubs all over the country it isn't that big a hole. A huge percentage of the money goes all the way down to grass roots but people don't want to believe that

You mean the money that's usually sourced using local fundraising?

What about the millions that Croker takes in from matches concerts etc? What about the TV rights money? What about commercial sponsorship money?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,526 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

"All foreigners", Mr GAA

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

It killed me when the heineken cup moved to sky, I much preferred the commentary on rte, I feel their pain. Sometimes the flash Harry of sky is annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

and still he has to read it! :rolleyes:

It's a typewritten A4 page..Comic Sans font

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭kitsy13

This fella was on primetime last night..exact same speech !!

Yakuza wrote: »
    Ha! Looks like that caller agrees with me :)

You must be very proud that caller agreed with you:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭LandonRicketts

You could compare the GAA to a circus that doesn't pay its performers. Don't think any of these callers heard of the internet. Christ!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Really, forced to go to the pub? Forced??!!

You would wonder if there was an inquiry into the GAA like there was into the charitable organizations would we be in for a few shocks i wonder....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

BPKS wrote: »
    TG4 have lost no rights you clown.

TG4 have actually gained.

They've got the coverage of minor games.

This was one of the most predictable Livelines ever.

Its got feckall to do with ould lads up mountains who can't see the games and everything to do with continuing RTÉ's strop over losing out to a foreign competitor.

Where were all these callers 20 years ago when RTÉ were only showing 8 games a year?

25 minute advertorial for
    sky-sports-logo.gif

pc7 wrote: »
    It killed me when the heineken cup moved to sky, I much preferred the commentary on rte, I feel their pain. Sometimes the flash Harry of sky is annoying.

I had a post typed up - but this what I wanted to say!

God almighty - watching a 0-0 draw on Sky is hell - they make every match sound like a World Cup final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Ireland late 2014 , after the deal between Sky and the GAA

3926b50186602bff557b1fae8fdd62cccfcd31353aac3d09b958239214d1db49

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭NickD

Joe sounds really angry about this............is it wrong that angry Joe kinda turns me on?

I'm so angry I had to call you Joe

Former GAA players lining up to be pundits on Sky and make mega bucks...
    *edit, practising in front of the mirror not to say "dya know" 10 times in a sentence

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

You mean the money that's usually sourced using local fundraising?

What about the millions that Croker takes in from matches concerts etc? What about the TV rights money? What about commercial sponsorship money?

A lot of the big developments in clubs around the country were part funded from local sources and part funded by GAA grants and in some cases the national lottery. These grants are available because of sponsorship concerts etc also where do you think the money comes from to pay all the GPOs around the country

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

signostic wrote: »
    You would wonder if there was an inquiry into the GAA like there was into the charitable organizations would we be in for a few shocks i wonder....

I've been saying that for years. They take in millions and spend sweet **** all in the long run.

scargill wrote: »
    God almighty - watching a 0-0 draw on Sky is hell -

Whereas watching a 0-0 game on other stations is usually more entertaining :D

€160 tv licence is also a huge amount of money

• Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭curioser

The players' intellectual property rights - careful there, lots of the players would end up having to pay to play!

Were Crokes consulted about this ? Fook off Joe.

snubbleste wrote: »
    €160 tv licence is also a huge amount of money

And unlike Sky it is obligatory.

TV3 GAA Fixtures 2012

3/6/2012 Dublin v Louth/Westmeath, Leinster Football quarter-final

1/7/2012 Dublin/Louth/Westmeath v Wexford/Longford/Laois, Leinster Football semi-final

8/7/2012 Munster Football Final

7/7/2012 Hurling Phase 2 Qualifier, Possible

14/7/2012 Hurling Phase 3 / Football Round 2 Qualifier, Possible

15/7/2012 Connacht Football Final

21/7/2012 Football Round 3 Qualifier, Possible

22/7/2012 Ulster Football Final USFC

28/7/2012 All Ireland Football Round 4 Qualifier

29/7/2012 All Ireland Hurling Quarter Final TBC

4/8/2012 All Ireland Football Quarter Final TBC

Sky are getting another 3 games per year. One more football quarter final and a few qualifiers. Big deal, move on for Christ sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

I've been saying that for years. They take in millions and spend sweet **** all in the long run.

http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/1/0302141105-gaa-annual-accounts-2013-published/

Knock yourself out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Jesus calm down Joe. It's Kilmacud not Real Madrid.

someone might answer this - I haven't heard either way. Will RTE be able to use SKY games in their Sunday Game highlights?

Joes next campaign, not a alone should old people (who Joes seems to think are all technologically illiterate and poor) get their tv licences for free, they now should get a Sky Sports subscription so they don't feel lonely.

You heard it here first.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Surely if 'the isolated' have to go to the pub to watch the game, that's a good thing?

Joes next campaign, not a alone should old people (who Joes seems to think are all technologically illiterate and poor) get their tv licences for free, they now should get a Sky Sports subscription so they don't feel lonely. You heard it here first.
    and also a mail order bride

breaking news "woman in Cavan still waiting for a wheelchair from the HSE signs up for Sky GAA deal"

"Dia Duit Joe"

I already know I'm going to hate her.

"My husband and I"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,526 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

"We have 5 Sons", well why did you have some many feckin kids then???!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Dublin_Mom

She might be able to afford it if she hadnt been hell bent on repopulating the earth with her 5 sons....