Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,950 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Ah, I see the milk of human kindness is flowing as sweetly as ever, on here.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

First caller seemed legit to me.

Now as for this one.....................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

Property rights. Disgraceful Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,159 ✭✭✭bigroad

Its me house now.

Jesus Christ.

"Is there anything else we should know?" ..

She's probably living with the father but not declaring it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

Deneka ?? what did she do to her parents to deserve a name like that..:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,060 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Why do you always feel listening to callers on LL that they aren't telling us the whole truth?

lucylu wrote: »
    Deneka ?? what did she do to her parents to deserve a name like that..:eek:
    Danica.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭ooter

She's probably living with the father but not declaring it.

The first caller?
    She said she was married and living with the husband/father.
    Don't know why the prtb aren't getting involved..

So to speak.

Hello?

ooter wrote: »
    The first caller?

Nah the second one whose partner "isnt around".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,281 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Unfortunately this is the culture that prevails in a significant proportion of the population. Have a few children, get onto a housing list, get your council house, get your social welfare (and medical card, back to school allowance, no school fees, no exam fees etc etc.).

I have seen so much of it in the last 15 years to make me realise it will be nigh on impossible to change. And why would somebody from that background bother to try raise themselves out of the generational merry go round that exists when it seems so easy to do this rather than break your balls with study, getting a job, going for promotion, renting, getting a mortgage, getting a car YOURSELF and so on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

Couldn't John just get another Ras house then again for another 10 years

'Cos they are entitled to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

"... I didn't mind... but I did though" :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

ooter wrote: »
    The first caller?

She also said that he's been unemployed for the past two years. And they have a 4 month old. Excellent planning. Also she said that she has been on the housing list for 7 years as she put herself on it after she had her first child.

The second one saying her "children are entitled to a home" made my blood boil.

What's an apartflat?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Children are entitled to a bit of responsibility and cop on from their parents too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

She also said that he's been unemployed for the past two years. And they have a 4 month old.................

.....not entirely unemployed then.....?

500 smoke alarms!!

• Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭curioser

The second one saying her "children are entitled to a home" made my blood boil.

They are entitled to a home - they are also entitled to proper parents - and she isn't one!

I work in the area of social housing and what I see all the time is the circle of dependable on the state. A lot of our tenant's kids put their names on the council list as soon as they are old enough-they don't even try to better their lives. It's that attitude towards social housing that needs to be looked at.

So, this one is in breach of the regulations and is openly admitting it on the national airwaves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

To be fair the entitlement culture exists elsewhere, the only difference is in the likes of the UK, it's brought up and criticised by politicians and the media.

Not so in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,195 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Joe has just described a bedsit I used to live in years ago.....

I always suspected there was another motive behind the banning of bedsits.

Health & Safety is a bluff.

Meathlass wrote: »
    So, this one is in breach of the regulations and is openly admitting it on the national airwaves!

She's highlighting the stupidity and heavy handedness of the regulations.

That sounds like a misreading of the RTA to be honest unless Danica opted out of Part 4 and went on a Fixed Term lease.

Good heavens, the PRTB is useless? Imagine that!

Doesn't the RTÉ quango have a PR company aswell Joe?

Sylum Seekers.

Here we go !

Doesn't the RTÉ quango have a PR company aswell Joe?

RTÉ isn't a quango but yeah, they probably do have a PR company or three on their books.

Well this call deteriorated rapidlly.

Get on with it missus.

• Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭curioser

That RAS scheme is a disgrace, councils rent houses in private housing estates and put their skanger clients in them. As more of these f****rs move in, owner-occupiers try to sell up, usually to potential landlords who are happy to rent to councils for RAS as they are guaranteed the rental income. Similar to the "block-busting" that happened in cities like Bradford and Wolverhampton in the 60's and 70's.

This woman has a point. There'll be massive social consequences from this situation

I've cooked things on an iron in a hotel room! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭jetfiremuck

Ffs. What was it like in slovakia where she came from.....

I wouldn't mind living in one.

I'm not trying to be smart. Really. I don't think it's the same as living on the street/hostel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,159 ✭✭✭bigroad

curioser wrote: »
    That RAS scheme is a disgrace, councils rent houses in private housing estates and put their skanger clients in them. As more of these f****rs move in, owner-occupiers try to sell up, usually to potential landlords who are happy to rent to councils for RAS as they are guaranteed the rental income. Similar to the "block-busting" that happened in cities like Bradford and Wolverhampton in the 60's and 70's.
    I know of one quiet nice housing estate where this happened.Skangers in ,Decent people had to sell up at a loss just to get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

sudzs wrote: »
    I've cooked things on an iron in a hotel room! :D

I think I may have occupied that room after you........you shudda seen the state of me shirt.......:D

Nothing wrong with a bedsit that a pee bucket in the corner can't fix.

I wonder does she have to go outside her ground floor flat to get to her bathroom?

I wonder are the aul'wans gonna be complaining about Manilow aswell?

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I think I may have occupied that room after you........you shudda seen the state of me shirt.......:D

Ah, Cheese.

I wonder are the aul'wans gonna be complaining about Manilow aswell?

I've been complaining about Manilow for years.

them young ones!