Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

man playing the bagpipes is not a gentleman :D

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭zeds alive

lazza14 wrote: »
    How so ?

IS it based on the area you are from ? or the fact that they don't have a job ?

what gives you the entitlement to a free house ?

Well what's the alternative? pay rent allowance for them for the rest of their lives? Social housing has its well documented merits, I have my own place and a good job, but I grew up on a council estate and my mam&dad would never have been able to give a a good start in life if it wasn't for social housing. The fact they could actually get a house and not be stuck living 8 to a 2 bedroom house, benefited them and society more.
    Even in Holland where I currently work I am entitled to a government subsidized house after a period of 10 years, faster if I have kids with my partner. Ireland cherry picks the elements of Europe it wants to replicate in Ireland, the approach to housing its citizens doesn't seem to be one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

pc7 wrote: »
    I never wanted to be a landlord its just how things worked out (met himself got married, couldn't sell my place), it can be a real nightmare. Not every landlord is a slum tenement landlord. I had a RA tenant and he was really clean and I always tried to work with him, sometimes if the rent was late he'd let me know and I'd accept it (at christmas or that). Then he said there was a problem but the social were dealing with it, every week he'd give me an update that it was being sorted blah blah blah so I let it run and then he rang he'd left the country and taken the RA with him, I was raging with myself. Felt a real fool, will never take RA again as I wasn't able to get a deposit to even cover things that were take like the tv or that. He'd been my tenant for 4 years.

not a great idea to mess with the RA...................chucky or law :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,281 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Was in the car listening today.

I was driving on a quiet country road and ended up having to lay on the hooter for about 5 seconds to get rid of the anger of listening to the voice of Entitlement Ireland, Elizabeth.

So I apologise for any cattle in North Cork who I startled - but they can blame Elizabeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭comewatmay

zeds alive wrote: »
    Well what's the alternative? pay rent allowance for them for the rest of their lives? Social housing has its well documented merits, I have my own place and a good job, but I grew up on a council estate and my mam&dad would never have been able to give a a good start in life if it wasn't for social housing. The fact they could actually get a house and not be stuck living 8 to a 2 bedroom house, benefited them and society more.
    Even in Holland where I currently work I am entitled to a government subsidized house after a period of 10 years, faster if I have kids with my partner. Ireland cherry picks the elements of Europe it wants to replicate in Ireland, the approach to housing its citizens doesn't seem to be one of them.

The sense of entitlement of some people is a joke.

It's not up to the Irish government to provide houses for its citizens.

It's the governments job to provide jobs for citizens and attract investment in jobs.

That way the citizens can look after their own accommodation needs and not rely on a 'free' house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

pc7 wrote: »
    They learn the bagpipes in the army? Death to all insurgents by ear bleeding.

Play me Alan's Snackbar :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

so Shatter is 'ENTITLED' to a €70,000 severance payment :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,060 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Politicians and football managers, the only jobs where you get paid off for being useless, the rest of us would just get sacked if rubbish at our jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,069 ✭✭✭✭neris

neris wrote: »
    because their entitled

feck sake i was taking the piss and being sarcastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Listening to Newstalk yesterday, to a young woman with cancer, who is losing her medical card at the end of May, something which shouldn't even be questioned, then I switch to Joe only to listen to a bunch of freeloaders and scroungers insisting they should be handed a free house.
    They obviously already have the medical card etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭wingnut

Obviously nobody proofing the Podcasts ;)

BoL3F8kIgAAtA8d.jpg:large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,950 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

signostic wrote: »
    man playing the bagpipes is not a gentleman :D

A gentleman is one who might know how to play the accordian /bagpipes /hurdy-gurdy but will never admit it in polite company.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Miley Cyrus displaying her cervix Joe, it's a disgrace etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭lazza14

zeds alive wrote: »

Very good points here, the problem is people abuse it, if it's used as an assistance then great, problem is people want it as standard.

5 days and counting to the Liveline with outraged parents giving out about one direction concerts.

"It wasn't like that Joe when I took my kids to see the movie in the cinema".

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

BPKS wrote: »
    5 days and counting to the Liveline with outraged parents giving out about one direction concerts.

"It wasn't like that Joe when I took my kids to see the movie in the cinema".

I can hear the callers now
    * Falling down drunk Joe
    * Pissing in my letter box Joe
    * You think pissing is bad, they took a dump on my little dog Joe
    * My little son/daughter couldn't see the stage Joe
    * The sound was crap Joe, they were singing all the songs in English!
    * We've been eating cornflakes and water Joe to go to this concert, disgrace Joe
    * Wouldn't change the communion so we could go Joe

and on and on and on, we should do a new bingo board just for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,060 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

You forgot:

- cost of merchandise
    - crowd crushes outside/inside
    - cost of food
    - parking
    - too noisy
    - too short/too long
    - too erotic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

My daughter is going to this concert so i will get the main complaints posted early Saturday morning

*Had to drive home in the dark Joe (like the woman complaining when the hurling final replay was fixed for Saturday evening)
    *The queue for the toilet Joe
    *The language Joe
    *My 12 year old daughter wasn't left on the pitch Joe, we never knew when we bought the tickets Joe
    *The rain Joe

joe ringing out again for a scoop

An advertorial for an eatery in Dublin
    We have popular people, we have a terrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Shatter-watch? Am I listening to Mooney.....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

Alan Shatter eats lunch shocker!

some of those photographers really are the dregs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

He's off public duty at the moment missus! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

What's this about ?

sudzs wrote: »
    He's off public duty at the moment missus! :rolleyes:
    Well he's still a TD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭baldbear

Where did she say her restaurant is so the stalkers can head in ?

Shove your camera up your hole Mark.

"...I did him.....":eek:

So she rang up to get a free ad complaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

Is this worthy of air time?

Clearly.

No, but it it's OK for Lavelahn,:confused:

Whats going on here then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

Joe did a similar call with Sharon Ní Bheoláin a few weeks ago.

I don't like paps, but they're entitled (as is anyone) to take pictures in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

photographer: "you know what I'm like"

Did he have a run in with Joe I wonder??

Joe need have no fear of getting photographed at lunch.......a very wide-angle lens would be required!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

"did you do what he told you to?"

what , go fuk himself joe? jays i thought that was only a euphemism !

:D:D:D

I'd say Shatter is just hoping the One Direction concerts will hurry up so everybody can forget about the €70k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭baldbear

sudzs wrote: »
    photographer: "you know what I'm like"

Did he have a run in with Joe I wonder??
    Id say they have a understanding because Joe was friendly enough with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

I'm disappointed with the show Joe, Can i get some money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Sligo Quay

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    I don't like paps, .
    I love them, because they show up the likes of Shatter, so Shatter is upset, who gives a dam, I certainly don't.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,195 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

He should take the severance payment and give it to charity.

Rehab springs to mind

hardship???:rolleyes::mad:

Shatter should get his money provided it's paid by Howlin!

Mary Hanafin on line 2 to explain all her pensions, disappointment money and her appointment to State boards

Sligo Quay wrote: »
    I love them, because they show up the likes of Shatter, so Shatter is upset, who gives a dam, I certainly don't.

Oh, I don't give a toss about Shatter, or most others who court the publicity and then whinge about it, but some paps are total pains in the hole and need a good kicking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

It's not going to lose any more votes than what his party already has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Sligo Quay

People are homeless, and this waster of an ex minister gets 70K ans still has a TD job, ''disgusting''