Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Pity some tenants can't be fined for being utter shytes.

Absolutely, the whole thing is a nightmare.

• Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Funnyonion79

She mightn't be out of the woods yet, especially after going on national radio to brag about breaking the law.

Think the tenants have 6 months to go to the PRTB....hope this was more than 6 months ago....

I'd say she knows this though - it sounds like she know the rules and she knows what she did was illegal but was unfortunately left with no choice.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

How has she 5 properties and no pension, smell of BS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

Well she should sell it now - I believe properties in Dublin are selling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

is the property in Ballyer? :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

BPKS wrote: »
    Its much better that Shatters €70k (taxpayers money) goes directly to Jack and Jill rather than back into the system where it could go into the black hole that is the HSE.
    He's having a parting shot at his frenemies in government there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,953 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

pc7 wrote: »
    Absolutely, the whole thing is a nightmare.

I totally sympathise with the ostensible raison d'etre for the PRTB, in that some landlords are utter shytes with ratholes most rats would turn their noses up at, but there are plenty of decent ones and they get tarred with the same brush. Similarly on the tenants' side.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I've no issues with what Shatter has done, but Joe of course tries to put his own derogatory slant on it off course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Big C

are we all now ment to think alan ****ter is great ?

Big C wrote: »
    Yes. Shatter is a smart fellow.

well, he's taken the wind outta Joe's sails anyway :pac:

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I've no issues with what Shatter has done, but Joe of course tries to put his own derogatory slant on it off course.
    If only Joe had mooted the idea - he's kicking himself now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

Don`t understand, Shatter gets 70k, donates it, surely he would still have to pay the tax on it..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Not great, but very clever, with what hes done with the money, still his involvement in the whole garda debacle was ludicrous.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I don't see anything wrong with what he has done. Jack and Jill are probably the most deserving charity out there.!

Duffy in his comfort zone now :P

Hitchens wrote: »
    Duffy in his comfort zone now :P

Yep cruise control for the next 5 minutes....

Does Shatter get a tax refund for donating to charity? I'm not up-to-date on the legislation

signostic wrote: »
    Don`t understand, Shatter gets 70k, donates it, surely he would still have to pay the tax on it..

A charitable donation would get the charity the full amount, I think, and isn't there a kickback from the Revenue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

BPKS wrote: »
    Its much better that Shatters €70k (taxpayers money) goes directly to Jack and Jill rather than back into the system where it could go into the black hole that is the HSE.

Better check that Shatter isn't on the board of J&J.

the producer must have coughed in Joe's ear there

Canned applause for ould Derek there!!!!

All I can ever think of when I hear Aspergers is the Ass burgers episode of South Park.

Jaysus, that mooney ad.......I'm having a Tom Crean moment!

• Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭curioser

Production team frantically trying to get Jonathan Irwin on line - an old friend of the show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

signostic wrote: »

It's tax free.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Jaysus, that mooney ad.......I'm having a Tom Crean moment!

I'm gone off Moll as well now! :)

Jaysus, wouldn't want to meet her on the wrong side of the road.

Joe wants to know, was one of the kids sick, i bet, for her reason for moving back!!!

I'm gone off Moll as well now! :)

Sounds awful like Father Ted, from the advert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Mooney Tunes Mooney Tunes

Joe frantically trying to get her personal details..........!

Gosh its hard understand his accent

2nd hand corr............................Jim?

A second-hand Corr?........Andrea?

• Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭curioser

And now for a history lesson - I returned to Ireland in 1990.

The last number of callers have all had terrible accents

2nd hand corr............................Jim?

Great minds think alike.:D

All that is missing is a West Brit one now lol

This is the Central Scrutinizer - looking at your car insurance.

curioser wrote: »
    And now for a history lesson - I returned to Ireland in 1990.

"Punts" i tell ya!!!! :p

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Great warped minds think alike.:D
    fyp :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

In parts of Australia, WA and VIC, you don't have to have insurance

Third party insurance is part of the road tax - you have to have your car taxed

Oh dont mention cancer please, Joe will get frisky!!!

Welcome back to Ripoff, or vek off back to Oz.

More cancer?

ho ho, Joe doesn't like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,069 ✭✭✭✭neris

just tuned in, this lad been waffling the last 75 minutes?? sounds like duffy cant get him to shut up

"Another days discussion", cant wait for the One Direction riots.....(allegely!!!)

Ryanair coughed up a refund? The wind must have been blowing strange that day.