Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭NickD

I have a few points to make.
    UGH, this is going to take FOREVER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,451 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Take that now Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Bah, what's the problem with a kid not watching some Neanderthals thump the living sh1te out of each other a ball?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Little Tommy playing out on the road.

Probably playing soccerball too the litte scroat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

45 minutes advertorial:
    sky_sports.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Exploding and he mentions New York, as if the poor locals had enough of those things!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Yeah Joe, just hang on a bloody sec would ya, d'ya think this is your show or something !!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Uh oh get rid of this guy quick!!!!!!!

Pocatello Idaho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

snubbleste wrote: »
    45 minutes advertorial:
    sky_sports.jpg

wasted on me ... will not subscribe

If mentions exploding one more time, the FEDs are going be hawling his a** in..ahem!!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,197 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Why don't a few neighbours or family members all club together and pay for a sky sports subscription in one of the houses so that THEY DON'T HAVE TO GO TO THE PUB.

Back in 1962, my parents were the first in the neighbourhood to get a television and on all Ireland Sundays all the neighbours called around and watched the matches so THAT THEY DIDN'T HAVE TO GO TO THE PUB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭NickD

withless wrote: »
    Uh oh get rid of this guy quick!!!!!!!

As soon as he pauses for a breath and it'll be a bad phone line, cut him off

lucylu wrote: »
    wasted on me ... will not subscribe
    I don't have a television.
    All this is completely bemusing

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Gas thing is, I'd say this deal is worth peanuts to the GAA, when compared with the ludicrous amounts of wedge involved in the Sky deal with the Premiership.

Wow, for once Joe doesn't let an oul dear go off on a mad story that happened 50 years ago, he usually loves those type of things.

"A lovely little story", and Joe cuts her off, only good thing he has done so far...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

ThisRegard wrote: »
    While wearing the jerseys and tracksuits.

Today is the epitome of Liveline, outraged people who don't actually know what they're outraged about.

Maybe even protesting.
    protests-against-the-stat-005.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Irish people abroad have been watching GAA matches over the internet for years!

It's patronising to suggest Sky are "bringing GAA to the Irish abroad", or helping the Oirish grow their sport.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

So let me get this straight not one single person in a rural area has Sky Sports? evidence please caller!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Stop painting all older people as helpless woman.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I'm getting really pissed off now with people in rural areas playing the victim here and saying they can't get SKY Soprts.

Utter bollox.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭Dargull

Ah I wanted to hear the story about Gainey and Guiney up on their bikes 50 years ago!! :(

Joe does not have SkySports

Again with the stupid old country people. I now realise that the oul bog man from Ireland is not a stereotype perpetuated by Hollywood in the 40s and 50s, but it originated from the Irish themselves and it's still being done today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

lets have a whip around ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

The culchies had no technical difficulties getting Saorview digital boxes, but they know nothing of this Internet thing that has been around for two decades.

On the Joe Metre that's a sign he has been hit hard in the recession and can't afford his property tax.

This guy is also a bachelor oap and listening
    the-real-reason-rupert-murdoch-flipped-out-over-sopa-and-google-on-twitter.jpg

Lapin wrote: »
    I'm getting really pissed off now with people in rural areas playing the victim here and saying they can't get SKY Soprts.

Utter bollox.

Yep and especially the way that one was saying that theres elderly people living in the countryside. To a person outside of our country, must be thinking we have the oldest rural geriatric dwellers in the world!!!!:p

While I agree that Sky have got only 14 games. Most of them are not crowd pullers.

But, they have 2 exclusive quarter-finals, if that's going to come back and haunt the GAA from the counties involved in the Sky screened match. (particularly Dublin v Kerry).

signostic wrote: »
    lets have a whip around ;)

A whip sounds soooo much better (Joe might even enjoy it) :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Joe doesn't have it. But I bet Claddaghgreen Ltd had it installed in his house.

if that's going to come back and haunt the GAA from the counties involved in the Sky screened match. (particularly Dublin v Kerry).

Not those in Dublin anyway, it's only people outside the pale that can't Sky Sports apparently.

You came from the rural Ireland of the 1940s caller, I would certainly hope the GAA are well out of touch of that era by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Old Father Time on Line 1

Joes going to go to town on Tom, poor Tom doesn't know what he's letting himself in for by going against Joe.

Go on Tom!

and
    "yeah well anyway"
    he got cut off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Imagine you did have Sky, and on quarter final day there's a knock on the door and it's Joe Duffy and the three twins.. :(

There you go, Joe wouldn't even debate the point with Tom, just makes his usual smart comment before hanging up on him. No surprises there.

How many people in Ireland have Sky Sports?

Not Sky! Sky Sports. A few hundred thousand?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

After hearing today's callers I now know that Rural Ireland IS really like this
    hqdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Dont watch the ugly game

but i look forward to how professional Sky will present it

Did he say it's 3 grand for Sky ?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

Joe takes a couple of thousand of those license fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

BPKS wrote: »
    When I was young only the all Ireland semi finals and finals were on TV. And if I wasn't at them I did watch them religiously.

RTE never bothered thinking that maybe people would want to watch anything other than big-ticket games. TG4 realised this, and it's because of them that we have televised colleges, league, women's, club, etc. games

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Did he say it's 3 grand for Sky ?!?
    Yep - that's for commercial premises.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Lol, ad for Sky.

A Sky advert!

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭LandonRicketts

ha! first ad on after the break is for sky!