Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,011 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

If Julio, One Direction and Garth Brooks did a tour together, we'd be bankrupt in hours.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

If Julio, One Direction and Garth Brooks did a tour together, we'd be bankrupt in hours.
    Don't forget Mary Byrne and Neil Diamond :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

BPKS wrote: »
    I know of plenty of families who live in their council houses, dont work, get their back to school allowance, have 42" flat screens, go on foreign holidays and wont pay water charges.

And there was plenty of Johnny Builders and Mary Beuticians who took out huge mortages, went on a sun holiday, a ski holiday and a city break every year for 6 or 7 years who now cant afford to feed their families. And I'll end up paying for their water charges and LPT.

To be fair I think both our points are based on anecdotal evidence.
    It's the government's job to weed out those taking the absolute piss and this families who have genuinely fallen on hard times and need help from social welfare.
    It won't be done of course but I would have to agree with your thinking in that if those screwing welfare were weeded out it would significantly decrease the social welfare bill.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

In one mate, spot on. SF and corporation tax gives me the shivers. Hope they have the dole nice and cushy by then, because a lot more of us will be on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

pc7 wrote: »
    Don't forget Mary Byrne and Neil Diamond :D

Are they an item.......?:D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Do I hear a plug, where is Aubrey!

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Are they an item.......?:D

Buy one get the other free!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

This guy can rival Audrey for self-plugging. Gwaan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

He has a new way of stopping thieves... He talks to them until either the police arrives or one of them dies..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,576 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

How many weeks does this fella think are in a year :eek:

Free advertising here......?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Yakuza wrote: »
    This guy can rival Audrey for self-plugging. Gwaan!

More like the Roddy Collins world of self plugging!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

common thread today....Neil Diamond, Mary Byrne ...jammers - Bob Marley?

I don't need a car tracking device.......I'll see the smoke!

At this rate it'll be time for the next election before this count is finished.....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

Mooney....blue tit catastrophe

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

signostic wrote: »

I blame Labour! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

signostic wrote: »
    did Mooney's tits go tits up? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

*sigh* I know we all like PBH but it's much better craic when Joe's on. :o

Oh God bit depressing for a sunny afternoon, just read a lovely story on the Sindo of quads arriving safely. Think I'll be tuning out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Joe will be going mad that he's missing this. It ticks all his misery boxes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Well this is boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

sudzs wrote: »

Yep, too depressing for a beautiful day - I'm out enjoy the sunshine

Awful story, but as regards funding, I think that should be privately funded from now on. A few grand from a local council is all you can hope for really, up to local people to fund the rest.

I know I know I know I KNOW I KNOW... :D

There's no show like a Joe show.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Just tuned in and the first words I heard were 'causes of death' followed by what sounded like a wishlist of Liveline diseases.

I was sure Joe was back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭lazza14

Philip ?

isn't this Miles ??

lazza14 wrote: »
    Philip ?

isn't this Miles ??

It's his nephew. Keep it in the family.

€3500 for his tools.??.. he could buy replacements in Lidl for €3.50

No Gardai involved?

Not for market "rogue" traders :p

No Gardai involved?

No, they were Travellers I think... but I guess you couldnt be certain they werent guards these days.

He's got twins in Cape Town? Joe would've been on to that like a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Is this guy on the radio boasting about how he bought back his robbed tools for €570.00?? A tool is right !!

Seems like Sgt McCabe was right about the Guards.......?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

He seriously bought back his own TOOLS?

Well then he deserves to get done!

He's enabling the criminals, not getting one over on them.

I despair.

Knackers.

They did a right job allright on those 2 elderly gentleman, typical of Irelands finest not turning up to stop them!!!

Valium by Cirque du Soleil?

I think we all need a valium.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭Joe Duffy..

Jaysus, thank God I'm off, this weather, and eating me loop de loop.

Yah.....but you missed the storythe dead babies in the septic tank......so not all good then?

Don't worry, i'll crank up de misery when I come back.

How's your Wibbly Wobbly Wonder, Joe?

I would've thought he prefers brunch in Clontorf.

How's your Wibbly Wobbly Wonder, Joe?

Not too bad Harry, de show is not the same without me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Joe strikes me as more of a Magnum man.

That's a load of coddle !

file:///C:/Users/AT/Desktop/br.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,200 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i gave it a miss today and went for a tango twister