Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Registered Users Posts: 8,195 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

To get on the Liveline today, your name has to be Tommy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭shroom007

and back to the banks bloody hell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,069 ✭✭✭✭neris

maybe its time to switch back to niall boylan. yawn

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

I too am terrified of progress.

Things being made easier is the worst thing ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I wish Joe would come back :o

i went to the bank and wasnt waited on hand and foot

Bank cranks

he wanted to go into a bank to say good morning??? no wonder they put up glass walls in bank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

I too am terrified of progress.

Things being made easier is the worst thing ever.

But is it easier? I often go into my local PTSB and they have two machines for lodgements/withdrawals and quite often they breakdown, then someone has to fix it - why not put that person on the counter as a Teller

I've had a bank account for over two decades and have never once paid bank charges beyond the duty on my credit and debit card.

How are all these people having to pay them?

If you do online banking, you can print off a statement of your account to your own printer at home - can't ask for better service than that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

One on one........are we talking durty here?

and philip now i have to push buttons on my phone i cant turn the dial around to ring the number

Uh oh, reasonable caller on the line.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

That was offensive
    "I'm sure there is a hole in the side of a cliff in which you could live"

go live in a cliff ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha
    nice one

FFS, if he doesn't use the machine in the bank, he's hardly going to be banking online.

I can imagine that when the car was invented, people said they didn't like driving..
    Get used to it folks.

this caller bang on. fred flintstone can go feed his dionsaur after he gets of his phone

We did not have online banking in 1999...did we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Is that alan hughes?

This patronising caller is a twat.

"I don't trust online banking" and he won't use an ATM.

What decade is it.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

snubbleste wrote: »

Businesses could have I'm sure.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

moaning and groaning is what de live lahhhhhhnnnnn is all about caller.

That was offensive
    "I'm sure there is a hole in the side of a cliff in which you could live

thats the quote of the year on liveline. though joe would have gotten very upset . "you cant say that you cant say that"

don't mention the coins jaysus only on a tuesday phillip

think so. defo had it in 2000

So many "used to be"s.

Banks are a business.....they offer a service......if you don't like it, don't use it......simple?

when I opened my account when i was 16 there was a gorgeous looking woman behind the counter, she not so hot now, bloody banks

and philip these automobiles are terrible. my horse is scared ****less on the road now when im on the two week trek down to dublin for the 8th of december

shroom007 wrote: »
    when I opened my account when i was 16 there was a gorgeous looking woman behind the counter, she not so hot now, bloody banks

Maybe you are not so hot now either.....:D

Does your brain just fly out of your head on your 55th birthday?

Seems like most people lose the ability to simply read at least.

Fair play to PBH for getting bored and moving on.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Banks are a business.....they offer a service......if you don't like it, don't use it......simple?

Trouble is you have to use it. All wages get paid into accounts, as well as a lot of social welfare payments - and the banks can increase charges at a whim and don't increase services - I can imagine if you visited a branch regularly, it would be very frustrating - online banking is the way to go

Ah FFS! Not more feckin adoption stories. We've reached saturation point :mad:

Auuughh. This again :(

AK333 wrote: »
    Trouble is you have to use it. All wages get paid into accounts, as well as a lot of social welfare payments - and the banks can increase charges at a whim and don't increase services - I can imagine if you visited a branch regularly, it would be very frustrating - online banking is the way to go

I agree with your point on the charges, but you even if your wages/social welfare payments are paid into your account, you don't have to go near a bank to get the money back out. Plenty of cash machines outside the branches, in shops, garages etc. I haven't visited my bank branch since 1987 and that's no lie, have gotten by quite easily with the machines and online banking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Did I just hear something about 800 dead babies on yesterday , joe is going to be sooooooo peeeeed off !

Another in-real-time account of someone's adoption story.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Ah boardsies I was so excited about PBH being on de Live lahnnnnn it hasn't lived up to my expectations at all :(

I agree with your point on the charges, but you even if your wages/social welfare payments are paid into your account, you don't have to go near a bank to get the money back out. Plenty of cash machines outside the branches, in shops, garages etc. I haven't visited my bank branch since 1987 and that's no lie, have gotten by quite easily with the machines and online banking.

Yes, I use online banking mostly, but have lodged cheques thru the machines. The odd time when I have sterling I have to go to a teller, but mostly I use online banking / atm's. easy for me though, I work in an office, not so easy for everyone. I know the times are changing, but the Banks are a law unto themselves - they are immovable, this is the way it is and that's that, frustrating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

I was using 365Online in 1999 for sure and may even have been 1998. I had to use a calculator-like device; you keyed in a number the site displayed into the device and you typed in the response into the website and you were let in to the system then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

"All that time"... NO...

Try and get ONE right Philip ffs..

Ah FFS! Not more feckin adoption stories. We've reached saturation point :mad:

These stories are two-a-penny. Loads of girls had babies in those days, had them adopted by order of their families and never told anyone else. It's not news anymore.

Roger_007 wrote: »
    These stories are two-a-penny. Loads of girls had babies in those days, had them adopted by order of their families and never told anyone else. It's not news anymore.

It's still a hot topic with the Liveline misery-junkie set.

They love a sad story about the poor babbies.

Get your facts right PBH. The Health Boards didn't exist in those days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

A whole room full of men and women crying.... a great night out! :rolleyes:

This is torture radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

sudzs wrote: »
    A whole room full of men and women crying.... a great night out! :rolleyes:
    Don't forget they walk up a Rocky Mountain in the west in bare feet and feel better for it !