Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

So many varied topics!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

Sensible caller alert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,957 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Loon alert.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,069 ✭✭✭✭neris

amazing love story says pbh. hes getting as bad as joe. hes well off the ball this week. to much like joe

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Loon alert.

Ah, isn't love grand:P

• Registered Users Posts: 8,195 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Her friend is more or less a nun??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Meathlass wrote: »
    Medical cards should be based on financial needs only. Should someone with a high disposal income who is on dialysis also get a medical card?

Someone on 100k has needs for treatments costing 90k a year.
    Someone on 40k has needs for treatments costing 5k a year.

Who needs a medical card more?

Someone on 100k with 2.5k a month in mortgage payments has medical needs.
    Someone on 40k on rent allowance has medical needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

AK333 wrote: »
    I have a mixed reaction to this. If I had to have a transplant, had cancer, had a child with Downs/Cerebal palsy I would want a medical card. These are serious life altering medical problems, which aren't going to go away/can't be fixed with a tablet. If Diabetes is on the "list" why isn't transplants?

Having said that, I don't think every dosser, who has ever worked, has an addiction to drugs/drink should get a card - feck them, they chose to take drugs/drink, these other people are ill through no fault of their own.

Yeah, I'm inclined to agree to a certain extent. I think the discretion card is based on your gross income when really it should be based on your net income minus your medical expenses!

My mum had cancer and had to get chemo, long hospital stay, time off work, lots of medication etc. She still gets regular check ups but thankfully is ok now. She's on over 100,000 a year and there's no way she should have qualified for a discretionary card for that year (she didn't but some callers think anyone with a serious illness should regardless of means) she was ill. She pays 144 a month for medication still.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,195 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Im sorry but I have no interest in hearing about Paddy and Betty

Next topic please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Her friend is more or less a nun??
    So to speak.

Yakuza wrote: »
    Someone on 100k has needs for treatments costing 90k a year.
    Someone on 40k has needs for treatments costing 5k a year.

Someone on 100k with 2.5k a month in mortgage payments has medical needs.
    Someone on 40k on rent allowance has medical needs.

Entirely agree with you. I said a high disposable income. I've said in another post that it should be based on net income minus medical costs.

I wonder did Paddy, who was having a relationship with this woman, continue to preach to the rest of his flock about truth, his own "calling", etc, - the word hypocrite comes to mind.

Bank Holiday week and I'm dying of boredom listening to this

so father what your saying is youd like a good ride without feeling guilty

Entirely agree with you. I said a high disposable income. I've said in another post that it should be based on net income minus medical costs.

Fair enough, that post was right after mine!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

This one's facts are up her arse.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

We're getting a good theology lesson here..................or not!!!!!!!!!!!

Yakuza wrote: »
    Fair enough, that post was right after mine!

You're too quick for me!

I hear that from Mrs Yakuza as well...
    Oh Matron!

Yeah, I'm inclined to agree to a certain extent. I think the discretion card is based on your gross income when really it should be based on your net income minus your medical expenses!

My mum had cancer and had to get chemo, long hospital stay, time off work, lots of medication etc. She still gets regular check ups but thankfully is ok now. She's on over 100,000 a year and there's no way she should have qualified for a discretionary card for that year (she didn't but some callers think anyone with a serious illness should regardless of means) she was ill. She pays 144 a month for medication still.

I'm glad your mum is well, I have two youngish family members going through treatment at the moment. One will qualify for a medical card, one won't be under the threshold - they are both sick and need the same treatment. I think there has to be discretion - you mum could afford it, but should life saving treatment bankrupt her before she gets a card? Maybe the amount is too low for people with serious illnesses. I'm not talking about going to the doctor for an antibiotic - I'm talking about life altering illnesses.

Explain to me why a drug addict, who robs for drugs, lives in government provided accommodation, gets dole. Why should this person just be given a Medical Card and a child with a disability doesn't. Its madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Why did he change religion if he wants to do a Catholic mass?

thank you for calling me............ Thank you for calling in. eh phillip ye cant fool everyone with that

Awful shame to see a grown woman like this refer to God for every choice she makes and accredit him for making those choices.

Sad to think there are still people who feel they cannot think for themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭joe6pack

Ah let us hear the conversation with Father Byrne

I was about to say what about copper thefts?, and lo and behold.

AK333 wrote: »
    Maybe the amount is too low for people with serious illnesses. I'm not talking about going to the doctor for an antibiotic - I'm talking about life altering illnesses.

I think this is definitely something they have to look at. The whole system is a complete mess.

Hope your relatives will be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

This is going to be boooooorrrrrrrring!

The metal thieving knackers again.

Doing it to feed their families. That's ok then.

The people who steal metal here always seem well fed to me.

Quite wealthy too.

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭joe6pack

Russian bride huh....

How much that set ya back

I think a sheethole of a Ural dump city is a bit different from robbing the copper from the DART.

I think you'll find the people stealing metal aren't doing it to put bread on their children's table :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Jasus what was Andrew just up to there!

Well done PBH. My thoughts exactly.

Ok, go ahead.

Ha ha, did you hear him in the backround "im talking to Joe"

I would have cut Andrew off there and then.

I'm bored with all this ....

This caller just got interesting, until the topic came up

I'm off - enjoy the long weekend

Ha ha, did you hear him in the backround "im talking to Joe"

Ah, but if he'd said, "I'm talking to Philip", they'd have said, "Who?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Foster parents will be delighted with Andrew..........not!

"Not perfect kids" !!

"Not perfect kids either" :eek:

"Not perfect kids" !!

Cheers Da!!!!!!:eek:

I know I'm going to hate this guy!

Phillip cutting him off ten minutes too late.

Andrew starting to turn it in to the Andrew life story tribute show.

Unfunny Friday story now!!!!!

He does 65km in an 80km zone - should be locked up

Jaysus, I hate slow drivers.
    "I'm not in any hurry" - what about other people you selfish fúck?
    If you want to drive like Miss Daisy, pull in every so often and let the rest of us get on about our business. Tosser.

Oh Jesus Christ get on with it......................