Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Anyone remember that episode of South Park when Kyle's parents send him to Kenny's house to purposefully get the chicken pox while he was still a young boy?

Bet that woman wish she thought of that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭NickD

Roger_007 wrote: »
    This woman is getting on my wick....!

I hear you!! She is a pain in the hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,069 ✭✭✭✭neris

is there a life lesson to learn. yes joe there is.

Dont get sick the week of the leaving and htfu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Cop on to yourself missus. It would be far worse if he had a terminal illness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Life lessons are all very well and saying it's just another year is well and good.

But I don't want my daughter under my feet for another 12 months Joe.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Ah i can picture it "The Joe Duffy Centre Of Incubated Suffering Leaving Cert Children Examination Centre", one mask each please!!!

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

"Teachers volunteer".... heee heee :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

This has been well and truely discussed now. It's just dead air and repeating earlier points. Move on!

My mates mam died in the middle of the LC, he finished his exams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,578 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

But then the exam centre would be in Dublin and they'd be in cork or Mayo or somewhere, and that'd be the next liveline programme sorted.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

the Mammies are wading in today on Joe`s return..:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

Roger_007 wrote: »
    This woman is getting on my wick....!

They're all getting on mine. :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

zzzzz zzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzz

Poor diddums are not with their friends anymore :rolleyes:

put on 1 centre in the country for the kids who missed the june papers. then u know whats going to happen is that mary from bantry will be on whinging that the exam centre is in athlone/dublin/galway/anywhere that isnt bantry and she has get little johnnie to the centre and sort out accomodation

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

They'll get over it, plenty have, plenty more will. Grow a set, no one dying and get off the phone.

The media really do need to have a blackout regarding the Leaving.

It really does add to the stress.

I think students need to realise that they CAN repeat it. It isn't the end of the world.

I always shudder when RTÉ news stalks students coming out of English Paper 2 on the first day.

Feck's sake it's chicken pox, your kids can do it next year, be grateful that you have so little to worry about and get over yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Next caller......."Joe, my daughter is due her period the first day of the exam.....what can you do for us....":eek:

If you miss one of 2 subjects in the LC you don`t have to do the entire thing the following year just the subjects you missed ...am I right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,578 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

neris wrote: »
    put on 1 centre in the country for the kids who missed the june papers. then u know whats going to happen is that mary from bantry will be on whinging that the exam centre is in athlone/dublin/galway/anywhere that isnt bantry and she has get little johnnie to the centre and sort out accomodation
    Oi! That was my point! (Not quite so eloquently put,mind you!)

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭Degringola

Well he managed to drag that out for a good half-an-hour. Well done, Joe, well done!

Pat Mustard???

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

3 minutes before we hear entitled!

2004!!

Poor diddums are not with their friends anymore :rolleyes:

The friends will split up after many have to repeat the first year of college anyway.

Or go to a grinds school to repeat the Leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭dvcireland

"...no Joe, you rang me !..." A.Caller.

Oh it's ok, it's a pension

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Surprised discrimination against sick people wasn't said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the state is getting very nasty with people

Sign of how screwed we are?

le la rat wrote: »
    Surprised discrimination against sick people wasn't said

Or the Troika.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭baldbear

Oh ohh looks like half the country will be getting letters.

NickD wrote: »
    Sign of how screwed we are?

i am hearing horror stories of the antics they are getting up to with people

i got a letter few months back saying id been over paid for social welfare in 2004. i had to laugh. letter went to bin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

The bould Mary Hanafin maybe?

neris wrote: »
    i got a letter few months back saying id been over paid for social welfare in 2004. i had to laugh. letter went to bin
    They can deduct it from your earnings!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Or maybe just cracking down on over payments and other things like that that cost the state money?

i am hearing horror stories of the antics they are getting up to with people

Yeah, we got a letter saying that we were overpaid by 3 grand :rolleyes: my neighbour was overpaid by 5k. Nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,957 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

There should be a time limit on trying to clawback overpayments, in both directions. Once that's elapsed, then it's evident that the parties involved aren't really bothered by it, and it should die off.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

Bankers are people ;) They are sound, no nasty towards them boys :P And the poor County Councillors and MEPs who didn't get in ;)

Agreed though, hammering the small people.

If he has a row with them they will make things very awkward for him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Joe's researchers are wearing out the Google.

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    There shoud be a time limit on trying to clawback overpayments, in both directions. Once that's elapsed, then it's evident that the parties involved aren't really bothered by it, and it should die off.
    You can only claim tax for four years.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

That was a good point by Joe, what the hell is going on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭baldbear

There are loads of people who were out of work and collected an extra week dole when they got jobs.

Looks like there is no more low hanging fruit.

I wouldn't mind seeing the likes of Ray Burke getting a letter requesting to pay back a portion of his pension for having been involved in corrupt activity while in office.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Or maybe just cracking down on over payments and other things like that that cost the state money?

its scraping the barrel there must be very little left

Mary Hanafin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Joes researcher must tell all callers to say....and the girl who was dealing with me was lovely or the guards were great.