Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Joe....Make sure you get all the nitty-gritty details about her illness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Dr. Joe on the case again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,589 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Joe....Make sure you get all the nitty-gritty details about her illness!

In between the girlish giggling.

He didn't even need to ask for the gory details, they were spilled out at the first opportunity.

Lots of sympathy to her, but really, did we need to hear all that on national radio?

"Ambellance"

• Registered Users Posts: 8,195 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Where are the clampers when we need them - shouldn't cars who park in disabled spaces and who don't display a sticker, have their cars clamped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

What good is one of those signs if people can't read them.

I smell a Joe rabble-rousing campaign in the offing.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,295 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

So this week we have learned that the French are great at striking, great at keeping disabled spaces for disabled drivers and Yer Man is in charge of the country (and as a consequence they're fcuked).

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Jesus god love her, that is awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,740 ✭✭✭sudzs

Holy moley! :eek:

*Clamp drawer being un-locked.*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,295 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Caller: "And I was dead apparently"

Joe: "Fair play"

Jesus, Joe - what do you think she meant by "I died" :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

"You broke your neck, and THATS what has you in a wheelchair "..........marvellous powers of deduction, Joe....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,594 ✭✭✭baldbear

Able body people who park in disabled spots deserve to have their wing mirrors fall off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

An ad for Liveline during Liveline. You couldn't make it up :rolleyes:

baldbear wrote: »
    Able body people who park in disabled spots deserve to have their wing mirrors fall off.

I am always tempted to let the air out of one of their tyres

Rory Cowan coming up on Mooney

sligojoek wrote: »
    Rory Cowan coming up on Mooney
    Who?

More Mrs. Browinz Boyiz love ins coming up on Mooney.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Who?

One of the actors in MBB

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Who?

Israeli-loving hairdresser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

He sounds like Michael O Leary

One of the actors in cast of MBB

FMOP

One of the actors in MBB
    Israeli-loving hairdresser.

Finger poised on the off-button.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

"me bites are itchy"

FFS, imagine asking a flight attendant to open a first aid kit because you are itchy?

Am I the only one who brings a mini first aid kit with me on holidays?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Caller gets the last word by suggesting the first aid kit wasn't opened to save money. Not true.

Ryanair will NOT scrimp on costs when it comes to passenger safety.

One of the actors people in MBB

"Actor" might be stretching it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Crickey talk about a killer diet.

"Actor" might be stretching it.
    I know. I fixed the post.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I reckon Brendan O'Carroll has a lot of dirt on the head of radio in RTÉ.

I can think of no other reason why he is getting so much free publicity.

Apart from Liveline of course as Joe is in 'de movie' himself.

Lapin wrote: »
    I reckon Brendan O'Carroll has a lot of dirt on the head of radio in RTÉ.

I can think of no other reason why he is getting so much free publicity.

Apart from Liveline of course as Joe is in 'de movie' himself.

Well if they were still on air I'm pretty sure he'd be the first guest on The Late Late and The Saturday Night Show this weekend too. It's not just d'rayjo he hogs.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Yer man Rory is gushing about RTÉ at the moment on Mooney. "RTÉ always supported us" etc..

Also for someone who doesn't care about media criticism, he sure is going on about it a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Did anybody her the continuity announcer there before the show...

"Today on Mooney... schadenfreude and triumphalism"

This guy has been on The Mooney Show on umpteen occasions, and they have exactly the same conversation every time.

Big defensive mission on. They must be worried about negative publicity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Big defensive mission on. They must be worried about negative publicity.

The show has that mindnumbingly brain washing feel about it today... like and informercial.. The thing that bugs me about this is that for years, even before he came out, Mooney was always shouting down the radio about "live and let live" and "everybody is entitled to live their live the way they want".... But it seems that he doesnt afford the same right to those who DONT like Mrs Brown's Boys.. they are all classified as either begrudging or snobs... And not part of the "Brown Club", (who are all really successful now by the way so a collective "up yours")

I have a feeling that my reference to "Brown Club" may be addressed by the moderators, but shur we'll see.. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Hitchens

and Joe says " but Mary, you told us it was terminal", after Mary said it was life threatening...............and you could hear the disappointment in his voice :pac:

meanwhile............is the lady with the gash alright? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,958 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

PauloMN wrote: »
    Yer man Rory is gushing about RTÉ at the moment on Mooney. "RTÉ always supported us" etc..

Also for someone who doesn't care about media criticism, he sure is going on about it a lot.

I found it priceless when he dismissed all the negative criticism as, "Oh, they don't count, at all."
    The breath-taking arrogance of that leaves me speechless.
    In other words, go feck yourselves if you have half a modicum of taste.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Woodville56

After the Liveline devoted to promoting MBB yesterday, Rory Cowan from the show has had almost 40 minutes now on the Mooney Show promoting the movie !!! And repeated his adulation of Brendan O'Carroll as a writer in the genre of JBKeane and GBShaw !!

Pah, that's nothing.
    I can write exactly the same words as Shakespear, Joyce and Roddy Doyle.
    Nothing to it, really.
    Now, how to get them in the right order, that's a different trick...

Professor Terry Dolan made a few interesting points about MBB on yesterday's Sean O'Rourke Show. He said the reason the English love it so much is because it reinforces their opinion that the Irish are thick stupid and it gives them a sense of superiority. They're not laughing with us, they're laughing at us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭Demonique

I am always tempted to let the air out of one of their tyres

Even better slash one of their tyres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,219 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Professor Terry Dolan made a few interesting points about MBB on yesterday's Sean O'Rourke Show. He said the reason the English love it so much is because it reinforces their opinion that the Irish are thick stupid and it gives them a sense of superiority. They're not laughing with us, they're laughing at us.
    heard this a few times....it's not strictly true...i think the main reason is alternative comedy is huge and almost mainstream now, and it does not cater for the vast majority of british viewers. There is a HUGE market for simple, working class, non-cereberal, cheeky "comedy".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

heard this a few times....it's not strictly true...i think the main reason is alternative comedy is huge and almost mainstream now, and it does not cater for the vast majority of british viewers. There is a HUGE market for simple, working class, non-cereberal, cheeky "comedy".

Nice dig there :p

Can't believe I missed it again today!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

I don't agree with this. Terry Dolan's opinion is just that - his own opinion!

I honestly don't know why I find MBB so funny, especially as I detested it the first
    time I saw it a few years ago. I now find myself roaring with laughter every time I
    watch it, tears literally rolling down my face!!

An enigma, really!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

Seems the French ATC strike is over till the next one.

Must have been listening to Joe.:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Oops69 wrote: »
    The Red Cross won't have to do an appeal for baby formula for that fake yesterday so .

All the starving babies of Salou breathe a sigh of relief ......that mother yesterday really was shameful.

Isn't salout a dirty old dishrag?