Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Do you have it on DVD or is it on the RTE player ?

DVD, bought it many many moons ago from the RTE shop for €49.99. Robbery I know but I had to have it………….

• Registered Users Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭Hamilcar

and a bed......................

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Why don't they throw in a few euros each and rent a place? This dude is looking for a free shed?

With a bit of luck, it'll turn into Fight Club!!!! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Why don't they throw in a few euros each and rent a place? This dude is looking for a free shed?
    In fairness now, there are loads of vacant buildings around - so why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

pc7 wrote: »

Michael McDonagh

Awwh. Daily Traveller reference.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

He's looking for a Dig Out - he needs to make a trip to the Drumcondra Mafia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

As we returned to the TV after ejecting the DVD, an ad for Mrs. Browniz Boyiz D'Mooooovie came on and undermined all the good work of Paths to Freedom…..:(

Just mention "Give My Head Peace".. that will put her back in her box..

Get into the hole area ......................oohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Closet Joe

Leave her box out of it. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Garda vetting for a lunch of lads to come around your house ? Is Joe afraid that visitors might steal his family silver ?

Duffy in men's sheds shocker

Joe spending a day in a shed, jesus wept!!!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

What about d'insurance implimacations, Joe?

If they were trying to make this sound like a circle jerk gay club they couldn't do a better job.

Come to moy shed, where I can teaching toyling, but it's uncertifoyed..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

council will wave the rates and insurance companies will donate building and public liability insurance as well no doubt

sid-james.jpgimagesqtbnANd9GcReAh9QDE18tFKrRcdh9.jpg

If they were trying to make this sound like a circle jerk gay club they couldn't do a better job.

Im telling ya, YMCA written all over it!!!!

Joe spending a day in a shed, jesus wept!!!!!! :D

It was wall to wall model railways and fibre-gades

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,589 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    "Dis-commotion"?
    Would that be on a Saturday night at the Duffy Dance Palace?

Which Joe came out with not five minutes after lambasting Ryanair for making up words (which they didn't)
    The word accommodation is not always used in the sense that duffy is talking about. It it's not always meant in the sense of actually providing accommodation in the form of a place to stay..

Like for example, "we arrived late for the show, but the producers were very accommodating and held the curtain until we arrived".

or

"Joe Duffy was a contractor with RTE, and not a full time staff member, when he injured his leg. But RTE were very accommodating and helped Joe, so that he was soon back on his two feet walking around RTE like he owned the fkn place."
    Can also be used in the context of eyesight - wonder could we manufacture a medical story out of that and get someone on to bamboozle Joe?

Had to turn Joe off in the end and turn Wimbledon on - stormer of a match going on with Nadal and Rosol if anyone has had enough of Joe's mangling of the English language.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Had to turn Joe off in the end and turn Wimbledon on - stormer of a match going on with Nadal and Rosol if anyone has had enough of Joe's mangling of the English language.
    What are they wearing? :D

Wait for it..

"What happened her biy?"

snubbleste wrote: »
    What are they wearing? :D

Eh? :confused:

The missus - who's from the North and had never seen it - thought it was hilarious; commented that she was surprised RTE could produce a comedy of such quality. As we returned to the TV after ejecting the DVD, an ad for Mrs. Browniz Boyiz D'Mooooovie came on and undermined all the good work of Paths to Freedom…..:(

Yeah definitely one of the best programmes RTÉ ever made.

They should repeat it some time.

I remember being amazed when I first heard Michael McElhinney's real accent. He was that good in the role.

Unfortunately, they made Fergus' Wedding after that, which seemed more to be shock value-ish without same quality of Paths.

She lost the medical card because the forms were returned late, but she was told she'd get it in 30 days time.

I'm failing to get excited about this.

Mens Shed type question.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

infections ,loss of a medical card and a funeral

stock-photo-slot-machine-games-with-a-jackpot-three-seven-90519136.jpg

So its not mammy fault its yours!

Mens Shed type question.........
    snubbleste wrote: »

Sorry, sorry - had tuned out by the time that topic was on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

89 and 3/4.......... Adrienne Mole?

See Joe can make the quip about the private jet but yer wan yesterday got short shift when she made the quip

Yeah definitely one of the best programmes RTÉ ever made.

They should repeat it some time.

I remember being amazed when I first heard Michael McElhinney's real accent. He was that good in the role.

Unfortunately, they made Fergus' Wedding after that, which seemed more to be shock value-ish without same quality of Paths.

Michael McElhatton ;) - he's quite good in the otherwise disappointing "Perrier's Bounty" and in "The Fall" too. Haven't seen Game of Thrones tbh (feel like I'm the only one on the planet who hasn't seen it…..)

Always remember the theme tune on that. :D

He said that I said,
    Why don't you give my head some peace.

Repeat chorus.

Think she's referring to Joe's affection for asking bizarre questions unrelated to the main topic at hand when a caller mentions something in a by the way manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

The word accommodation is not always used in the sense that duffy is talking about. It it's not always meant in the sense of actually providing accommodation in the form of a place to stay..

Like for example, "we arrived late for the show, but the producers were very accommodating and held the curtain until we arrived".

or

"Joe Duffy was a contractor with RTE, and not a full time staff member, when he injured his leg. But RTE were very accommodating and helped Joe, so that he was soon back on his two feet walking around RTE like he owned the fkn place."

And if he broke it again they'd be re-accommodating him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Such a marvellous mother that she won't pay for

Max payments per month with DPS is €145

Sick of these whiners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Luis who??

Luis who ?

Louis Soir-aaays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

That's a joke - 9 matches - that's a holiday. He's a thug and should be banned for life

4 months???, that doesnt apply to domestic league games, just international???

Michael McElhatton ;) - he's quite good in the otherwise disappointing "Perrier's Bounty" and in "The Fall" too. Haven't seen Game of Thrones tbh (feel like I'm the only one on the planet who hasn't seen it…..)

Nope, me neither :D

Paths to Freedom was pure class though

Fk it.. I was hoping FIFA would say that there was inconclusive evidence... Gonna be a lot poorer world cup without him..

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Luis who ?
    Loos Sorrrry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Louis Suarez on line 2......."......it's a DISGRACE Joe..they're trying to take the bit out of my mouth....."

Joe was at a little soiree last night post premier, maybe that's where he got confused. Oul Luis and his soirées.

Joe: 100,000 Swiss Francs is about an hour's pay for Louis Soir-aaays me

We should end every Liveline show with this. :)