Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

shockwave wrote: »
    Nothing, they're complaining that it didnt get any publicity.

Yeah, I figured that as they went on. Pretty horrific, not sure if I'd want publicity on Joe Duffy if it was a family member belonging to me though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,932 ✭✭✭Sniipe

OMG - the fathers description of the rock attack - heart breaking. This murderer is a cruel monster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Dublin_Mom

Should the consultant have really said that to this poor Mother????
    I know they have to give information but no one should have to hear that about their child...

have to say, if that was my child, that gurrier would not have made it to court for a trial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

enough is enough Duffy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

You can almost feel Joes nipple clamps getting tighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

This is exploitation at it's worst.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Kids are out of school at this time, it really is much too graphic for afternoon radio. I know they probably see worse on tv and their video games but this is just wrong.

would you get a handgun into the courtroom?

Happyman42 wrote: »
    On top of Vincent Browne's expose last night, shocking stuff.

The hit and run of the cyclist ? I heard that mother on The Last Word at the time and she went through the details of the guy behind it, but the additional details of the garda incompetence around that guy is just beyond ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,932 ✭✭✭Sniipe

sligojoek wrote: »
    This is exploitation at it's worst.

Both parents want the story in the public domain. Who is being exploited?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

Just tuned in... more disgraceful broadcasting of Joes misery porn. :mad::mad::mad:

maybe he was "unwell" Duffy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,589 ✭✭✭baldbear

This lad should never be released. oh jesus i have to go. brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Jaysus Lads, Happy Friday - NOT

single vehicle accident

so sad:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

anyone got a link to this story in the press?

Id say this type of thing is rife - remeber poor Manual Ruedo that was raped and killed by a scumbag on release from Jail for rape?

This ****e is regular stuff. I see a scumbag around near where I live out of jail - he has about 50 convictions already and just keeps getting concurrent sentences by the judges - it's not them that suffer at the hands of these toe rags FFS

Another tick on the "great little country" box

Gavin was murdered the same weekend that the horrific murder of Eoin Ryan occurred in Barefield in Clare, that particular incident dominated the media because of the horrendous nature of it, it's probably why Gavins murder didn't receive the coverage it did. June bank holiday 2011, two young lads brutally murdered, God be with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Sniipe wrote: »
    Both parents want the story in the public domain. Who is being exploited?

Joe doesn't give a fiddlers fu*k about these people. He's using them to keep the listeners hooked till the ads come on.

The ads can't come soon enough. Poor couple. :(

Gavin was murdered the same weekend that the horrific murder of Eoin Ryan occurred in Barefield in Clare, that particular incident dominated the media because of the horrendous nature of it, it's probably why Gavins murder didn't receive the coverage it did. June bank holiday 2011, two young lads brutally murdered, God be with them

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/farmer-joe-heffernan-gets-life-1998899

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

It's a bit rich for the likes of Vincent Browne and Joe Duffy to be lecturing on the joke that is the "justice System".

They're champagne socialists who pour cold water on any attempt to protect people from scumbags, then they drive home to their mansions.

They're just not interested in shaming the judges, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

these people need to talk.
    if you think its discraceful then turn off.
    this is not misery porn its what liveline should be about. God bless them

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Fcuk, this is hard to listen to today. :( Poor family, must be devastated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

if they want the story in the public domain, then unfortunatly thats one way to do it.

whos to say they are not exploiting joes greed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

That McClelland is a fúcking animal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

There are plenty of young people, both men and women, all over Ireland that have fallen through the so called "cracks" in society (huge gaping holes actually) and commit all sorts of crimes on a regular basis - anything from drunk and disorderly, assault, theft to manslaughter and murder - I don't have a solution, but the total lack of remorse and any sort of personal or public responsibility is absent. And, the sentences handed down don't always make sense to the average person

It's a bit rich for the likes of Vincent Browne and Joe Duffy to be lecturing on the joke that is the "justice System".

They're champagne socialists who pour cold water on any attempt to protect people from scumbags, then they drive home to their mansions.

They're just not interested in shaming the judges, etc.

I don't think your point is a good one, where and how they live is irrelevant really.

But Joe was a probation officer who would have had an input into the system, and didn't be do a couple of live broadcasts from Mountjoy at some stage.

these people need to talk.
    if you think its discraceful then turn off.
    this is not misery porn its what liveline should be about. God bless them

God?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

vicwatson wrote: »
    Id say this type of thing is rife - remeber poor Manual Ruedo that was raped and killed by a scumbag on release from Jail for rape?

This ****e is regular stuff. I see a scumbag around near where I live out of jail - he has about 50 convictions already and just keeps getting concurrent sentences by the judges - it's not them that suffer at the hands of these toe rags FFS

Another tick on the "great little country" box

This word is the biggest joke in our judicial system. Scumbags are laughing at judges and their screwed up sentencing methods.

^^^ My point exactly - the judges live in a cocoon, maybe they should be brought out to after the nightclubs in every town in the country on a Satirday night and see the amount of scumbagness about - this might change their focus a bit.

They live in a bubble completely seperated from reality - FACT

ThisRegard wrote: »
    I don't think your point is a good one, where and how they live is irrelevant really.

But Joe was a probation officer who would have had an input into the system, and didn't be do a couple of live broadcasts from Mountjoy at some stage.

Yeah, but Browne doesn't live in an area where there are violent assaults and scumbags thinking they own the place.

We all know that the so-called "bleeding hearts" change their tune when they are the victims of crime. How often has that happened?

Maybe if he lived in the city centre or got the Luas he wouldn't be able to avoid it, and patronise the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,945 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Did I hear Joe near have an orgasm there?
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

"He was 34 Joe" "ok",

had that lady said "he was 15", Joe would be tutting away

The thing that annoys me is that the Irish Penal Reform Trust has had one of their members been put on the Council of State and given a fat salary by the President, whereas this group are constantly ignored:

http://www.advic.ie/

^^^ My point exactly - the judges live in a cocoon, maybe they should be brought out to after the nightclubs in every town in the country on a Satirday night and see the amount of scumbagness about - this might change their focus a bit.

They live in a bubble completely seperated from reality - FACT

See? They ought to suffer it, like us plebs. See how they fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

joe and the powers in rte must have had an order or threat from croke park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Sligo Quay

ThisRegard wrote: »
    not sure if I'd want publicity on Joe Duffy if it was a family member belonging to me though.
    it's one of those times to just put our views on Joe Duffy aside, this is an tragic case, them people you can just feel their pain, I just hope life is life for that murderer in prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Perfectly acceptable use of Liveline and the airwaves in fairness. Sorry but glad to have heard that story.

Oh Duffy with your Blesssings and christian rethoric FO

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

"Safe in the arms of his brother" :(

Bl**dy hell Joe, that was real soul destroying, RIP the 2 brothers

Duffy gone off to cry into his coffee - crocodile tears

Joe's waxing lyrical is going to make my lunch make a reappearance! :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

AK333 wrote: »
    There are plenty of young people, both men and women, all over Ireland that have fallen through the so called "cracks" in society (huge gaping holes actually)

Sick to death of this excuse (and that's all it is).

We have a country with over-generous support systems for "the vulnerable". These people have just opted out of society, and often times humanity, and our system spends so much time/resources tripping over themselves to make excuses for them whilst babysitting them for their entire lives.

Plenty of people in similar situations become perfectly fine, contributing members of society.

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

God?

After such a devastating time, with the loss of their 2 sons in tragic circumstances, these good people will need their God's help.
    Don't be so cynical:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Dublin_Mom

AK333 wrote: »
    There are plenty of young people, both men and women, all over Ireland that have fallen through the so called "cracks" in society (huge gaping holes actually) and commit all sorts of crimes on a regular basis - anything from drunk and disorderly, assault, theft to manslaughter and murder - I don't have a solution, but the total lack of remorse and any sort of personal or public responsibility is absent. And, the sentences handed down don't always make sense to the average person

Agree that there are so many out of control young (and not so young) people Very politically incorrect to say this, but personally I think the rise in single parent families and lack of a Father figure is a huge contributing factor..

Before anyone gets incensed, yes I KNOW there are loads of single parents doing a fantastic job bringing up great kids....but there are loads who aren't...and other dysfunctional two parent families too

Call me old fashioned, but a child does better IN GENERAL in a stable family with two parents with a vested interest in bringing that child up properly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Sligo Quay

Happyman42 wrote: »
    Perfectly acceptable use of Liveline and the airwaves in fairness. Sorry but glad to have heard that story.

Here here, I'm not a member of the Joe Duffy fan club, but today is not the day. This story is now finally in the public arena