Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Fianne Fail, Off licences and suicide prevention all in one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

All the extra tax will go to help suicide prevention wont it?:rolleyes:

Fianna Fail have some neck,their destruction of this country along with the banks have cost many lives

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

I have to laugh at this argument from the rip off publicans.

I have never, ever, got as drunk at home, or in someone elses home, as I have in a pub, run by a good barman or publican looking after me. I never see more depressed looking people anywhere than I do in a pub.

You sir are a waffler, the tax you put foward years ago was a form of protectionism to look after yourself.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

AK333 wrote: »
    I'd be suing. I don't like amusement rides but have gone on the odd one as my daughter likes them - If one broke down whilst I was on it I'd go nuts, literally. She sounds quite rational/normal, if it was me I'd be a gibbering idiot and would have already made the appointment at the solicitor and they could shove their free rides pass where the sun doesn't shine :mad:

Really? I know things can get lost in textation on here, but would you sue over this? I wouldn't I'd chalk it down to a good story for when the kids get older, no one was hurt, it'll be something to tell their friends.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

Thats a pretty disgraceful bill to be putting forward and now we have the vintners on giving out about supermarkets blowing out their assertion that drink cant be sold cheaper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

Ah Gerry Mellett, local publican and friend of Joe.

Bet he all be giving out about supermarkets n cheap beer, different tune tho when he buys his bottles from tesco in tullow.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭Hamilcar

I hear it all the time Joe, I just don't give a sh**e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

"People have less and less money."
    Sure, of course Joe feels the pain - like that, too.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

Bollox, he's talking bollox.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

Publicans have destroyed the pub trade by ripping the piss for years and hiding behind the cost of skysports.

Alcohol is bad except when its served by a barman across the counter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,071 ✭✭✭✭neris

feck of with your self interest mr publican.

joe drinks water in the boozer. no surprise there then

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

HANDS OFF MY OFF LICENSE BEER YOU GREEDY PUBLICAN WHINGER.

th?&id=HN.608047376521562172&w=300&h=300&c=0&pid=1.9&rs=0&p=0

Slab Murphy will be on

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

Here is a novel idea, why can't we be responsible for ourselves?

"The Elly Fant in the ruoomm."

selling alcohol to bring people in the door......................Pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,068 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

This guy is right - it's better for them to get pissed in his pub and have everyone pour out at 1 am on a Saturday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Is this publican claiming that nobody gets p1ssed in a pub..???

"They can't even go into a pub".

Ha, not a hint of irony.

The "mulitnationals", plural. So what about Dunnes, Supervalu and all the local off licences ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

pc7 wrote: »
    Really? I know things can get lost in textation on here, but would you sue over this? I wouldn't I'd chalk it down to a good story for when the kids get older, no one was hurt, it'll be something to tell their friends.

Yes I would sue. Mind you, I probably wouldn't go on the amusements in Tramore anyway (I'm from the sunny south east) but have in Eurodisney. Sometimes if it hits a service provider in their pocket for dangerous/bad service, then they make sure it doesn't happen again.

I wouldn't sue if I was on the ground and a machine stopped but they were over 100 ft in the air - I would be a shaking, gibbering mess if I was more than 20 feet off the floor - mind you, with my phobias, I wouldn't have gone on that high ride :o

This guy is right - it's better for them to get pissed in his pub and have everyone pour out at 1 am on a Saturday morning.

And then drive home :D

fianna fail werent intrested in tackling the multi nationals either. mind you they were occupied wrecking the country at the time

JM Skipton wrote: »

It will never work - it's well known we need an all-seeing, all-knowing, caring overseeing paternalistic bunch of self-interested money-grubbing azleholes in Dublin to look after us.

and an undertakers

JM Skipton wrote: »

I'm entitled for someone to look out for me.

Stop ripping us off and then maybe we might return.

supermarkets didnt ruin the pub trade. publicans destroyed their cash cow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Quite Machivellian by FF.

They want FG and LAb to increase booze, become unpopular (even moreso) under the guise that FF are trying to stop suicide while also championing the greedy publicans.

They really are scum.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Elly Phant images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSxsWbIW4pMnNHre7GwOd_E3OElfdc9InU2K-1QvKT3UcE0bZABcdMWDg

Hamilcar wrote: »
    and an undertakers

Cuts out the middle man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Slab Murphy will be on

Hmmmm......Slab.:pac:

and an undertakers

In rural areas, most undertakers are also publicans.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Why is Joe giving so much time to this plonker?

2 pints for a tenner or 8 cans for 12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭woejus

Qs7udix.png

Why is Joe giving so much time to this plonker?

Because he is Fianna Fáil?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Yer man just said that water is now cheaper than alcohol in supermarkets!
    How the hell is he allowed get away with that? I can get a 2 litre bottle for €1.

This Publican- makes money in the good times, loses money in the crash and now wants to eliminate all competition so he can go back to making the same money as previously while pretending he has the customers interest at heart.

joe likes nothing more then slating arthurs day and never misses a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

The alkys will pay/beg/borrow/steal for it no matter what price it is, upping the price will just make the 95% of us that don't abuse it suffer.

almost as atrocious as the prices pubs charge for drink

Hypocrite.

Complaining about the dangers of drinking but perfectly fine with Arthur's Day (I wonder why).

What planet is he living in !??!?! A publican never crowed about the price of Sky ?

This guy is the Chemical Ali of the pub trade.

He's not obliged to have Sky Sports?

Surely as a carlow man he should be glad of sky, less people can see carlow being hammered

selling six pints a day will cover your Sky Sports

Could he have Sky Sports upstairs in the "rented accommodation" and then run down a wire?

Fupping right we don't go for the price of drink, if we did, they're be all closed.

People stopped going to the pub because they were ripped off. Jeez.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Yer man just said that water is now cheaper than alcohol in supermarkets!
    How the hell is he allowed get away with that? I can get a 2 litre bottle for €1.

Ah sure you have to think of the poor publican and what he would charge with tap water now....................(keep the water meter running!!!)