Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,948 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

To be honest, some priests must hear some dreadful stuff over the years.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

I'm feeling a bit sorry for this padre?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

Roger_007 wrote: »
    I'm feeling a bit sorry for this padre?

It's a very unbalanced debate.

Quelle suprise.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I'd say you'll get loons going into confession, making fake confessions about abuse to catch priests out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

well that was unpleasant to listen to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

I think I'll ring in and defend the priest... Not cos I agree with him, just cos I dont like that self righteous, smug git on the other line...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

I think it's very unfair to put this old man on and allow everybody to throw sponges at him.. He's just reciting what he's been told by the church for years. This "hero of the people" on the other line is just enjoying being on the moral high ground..

The funny thing is, is that the aggressive atheist is fixated on morality, moaning that various religions rival the atheist version of morality?:rolleyes:

Hello Sergeant stating the obvious :D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I think I'll ring in and defend the priest... Not cos I agree with him, just cos I dont like that self righteous, smug git on the other line...

If you get on so we know its you code is 'where is the nazi pop now Joe that he retired'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,011 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

if only you could get past the live line gestapo , they might not like your point of view

What height are the security guards outside of Duffy Towers, Joe?

You'd need to be built like a brick outhouse at 4ft 11".

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    You'd need to be built like a brick ****house at 4ft 11".

Indeed. As wide as you are tall.

What is joe's point about the weight lifters... Those events are all relative to the weights and height of the people.. Bernard Dunne is a world champion boxer but would never get work as a doorman...

Good man........6 foot.......no namby-pamby centimetres here!

Joe is very argumentative today

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭joe6pack

If the army in this country disappeared tomorrow would anyone even notice?

"For why?"

FFS, Duffo, the army's only got years of experience, but don't let that put you off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

I won't say it to his face but I can readily understand why this guy didn't get into the army. And it ain't because of his command of Irish.

"For why?"

Kindergarten lingo.

This guy rang from the motorway phone after his car broke down, and some wag put him through to Joe Duffy..

General Mayhem is going to take the head off Joe if he keeps shouting at him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,590 ✭✭✭baldbear

Joe Joe is it Dwarves you want in the army??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Aerohead

Joe wants the Army to change the height rules now so he can take the credit, unreal that he cant see past the rules, what are the rules to get into RTE would he take that up if someones young one could not get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,011 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

This guy is fantastically mental.

Why don't the Irish army deliver and distribute Irish aid? Or at least some of them?

We could donate aid to them, trust them to get to the people who need it and would no longer have to pay the salaries of NGO's.

They could do much good.

This guy is a know all.

baldbear wrote: »
    Joe Joe is it Dwarves you want in the army??

There's a shortage of dwarf bread.

Did Joe just stiffle a yawn there! lol

Joe doesnt like somebody standing up to him, if you excuse the pun.

Joe can't say height.

"Heighth"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

He's going for a walk on the motorway Joe.

This guy is fantastically mental.

Would YOU trust this man with an AK47.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,281 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

In the 1970's..................................

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

I know that, I know that *yawn* I know that, I know that...

Oh a Union brother Joe will love this

Why don't they just learn Irish? Evening classes?

Surely if they are to receive a machine gun they should have basic learning skills?

That's the problem with certain other country's armies, they have a reputation of being delinquents with dangerous weapons.

I was a shop steward troublemaker at the time..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,590 ✭✭✭baldbear

This lads story wil have Joe passing out. Yawn.

Most boring voice award goes to this caller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Aerohead

Army V Telephonist as long as she reach for the cup of tea she will be fine.

This guy rang in to tell the country how he influenced legislation... humble brag..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,281 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

She then hurt her back reaching for the switchboard and successfully sued to the state thanks to getting a job from Minister Conor Cruise O Brien after he put his arm around her.

operation swivel chair was a success

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Employee of the Month for March 2014 at the Dept of Finance.

SuperStock_4186-16672.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Black Suir

Regarding the debate between the man and Priest and Joe Duffy in between, The man must have no children or if he has he seldom if ever goes to the Church, Joe Duffy must not have visited the church either in the last number of years for a child's confession and the Priest must not have been present at many child's confessions of late. My reason for saying this, when children make their confession now a-days they don't go inside the confession box. With 25 years or more now, children go up to the alter and the priest gives them absolution. I have seen a few of them over the past 20 years to know this. Sometimes the only contact between the child and the priest is for the child to give the piece of paper with what he or she decides are there sins wrote on it. Most priests without looking at these papers will shred or burn them without anyone (himself even at times) seeing what is wrote on them. Even adults, including ones well into their years do not go to confession box either as many priests prefer now a-days to give a general absolution at the start of mass a couple of times a year, mostly at Easter and Christmas. Why would they be bothered in fairness to them have to waste their time sitting inside a timber box listening to people going on and on, maybe more often then not making up sins so that they have something to tell the priest.

"you're agreeing with me.... eh, I mean the caller."...
    :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

World Weightwatchers is way better than WWF.

Another Mammy mouthpiece