Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Last caller just crashed into a lake with the shock......?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,949 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Oops, sounds like the caller had a Setanta mobile.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Did they not say if you're with Insure my van or whatever they're called you're OK ? Wasn't paying too much attention in fairness.

my broker said park it up

Few enough van insurance companies in the country as it is. No doubt the others will be rubbing their hands in anticpation of screwing you welcoming your business.

my van is off the road over this

trying to organise a new policy as we speak:mad:

Is that you, Stephen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Is that you, Stephen?

too calm to be me:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

How many times is he gonna promo his own little show.. Does he ever do any work that RTE actually want him to do or does he just bully the management in to letting him do and say whatever he wants..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,562 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Who's that fella with the slow boring voice? (sounds a bit like Peter Matthews)

He'll have me asleep soon.

"Does 'without delay' mean 'immediately'?"
    Doh!

How many times is he gonna promo his own little show.. Does he ever do any work that RTE actually want him to do or does he just bully the management in to letting him do and say whatever he wants..?

It's Tom Crean all over again.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

"Without de lay" - But sure you always get screwed when you take out insurance :)*

*I'll get my coat, and commiserations to Sept 23

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

They are regulated within the European Union which entitled them to setup in Ireland, so it is an EU problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Joe, get on to Rabo Direct and tell them to get out of the country, they're regulated from the Netherlands. It's a disgrace Joe.

It's Tom Crean all over again.:rolleyes:

"And there, in the distance, on the horizon, we saw a little lump, and as we got closer we could see it was a huge pile of fivers. Holy Be, it was the Duffy Wages Mountain."

Fool me twice, it's my fault ffs...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

oh god we are bunched.

Get that "fool me once" phrase right, what you said made no sense :D

Fool me twice, it's my fault ffs...

Did GW Bush move to Ireland and lose his Texan accent?

Not sure why Irish Central Bank is being held up as a model of stability, Anglo were regulated by the Central Bank and that went well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,366 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

So it appears geology is wasted on from Meath then ? The Dutch guy gave a perfectly correct explanation of hard and soft water and your man goes" your're taking rubbish."

That just sums up LL callers really.

Fool me twice and the owners of the insurance company are off to the Bahamas, sitting drinking iced cocktails by the pool, on my money.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

The Irish are paying a levy because of Quinns activities in the UK, surely the same should apply to the Maltese over Setantas activities here?

Yakuza wrote: »

Ye I was thinking about that soundbyte as the caller was uttering the words..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

Yakuza wrote: »

He didn't change his IQ!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    So it appears geology is wasted on from Meath then ? The Dutch guy gave a perfectly correct explanation of hard and soft water and your man goes" your're taking rubbish."

That just sums up LL callers really.

As a Meath woman can I just say we're accepting no responsibility for that Dub!

Meathlass wrote: »

After listening to that Dub he probably thinks he is living in Carlow....and would argue with you about it

What has this got to do with Setanta closing down?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Neither am I (as a Dub blow-in living in Meath). ;)

Why is another squeaky voiced dub complaining about the shenanigans of a Portuguese car hire company?

i bet it was in the small print.

Sure half the population of Meath are asylum seekers from Dublin.:rolleyes:

Oh wait, it was a security deposit?? So he got it back when he returned the car??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,366 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

sudzs wrote: »
    i bet it was in the small print.

It's a conspiracy.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,871 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Don't hire a car from Antonio's Deadly Motors (or the like) and you'll be fine. Tell him to stick his car up his arse and go to a reputable company.

Joe doesn't understand excess.

So...... as I understand it, you give them a hold on your credit card (they don't actually take the money)..... if you crash the car, you lose that money (they take it then as the excess to the claim for the actual value of the damage which is covered by their insurance), and claim that back off the insurance you took out in Ireland. Have I got that right, or completely arseways?

The only problem I can see with it is that you lose the use of your credit card because there's such a big amount held on it. Maybe split that between the group?

Maybe I've got it all wrong, though.......

Arrrgggh, the ignorance of these things on this show always astounds me.

Surely the next caller will be
    "Joe I tried to renew with Setanta today, and the only coverage they would give me was for the premier league and the rabo direct, disgrace Joe"

I think the brokers are more responsible than The Central Bank. They surely knew and should have informed their clients that the company was not regulated here.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Fujitsu10

He was having trouble understanding the hard / soft water thing as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭woejus

Oh he understands excess alright, just not in the insurdance sense. The limo company looks after such mundane issues, dontcha know

Arrrgggh, the ignorance of these things on this show always astounds me.

The Dub in Meath who was on earlier about the water ruining his insides was the best ever!!! :D

What, caller; you expect the Regulator to do his job?
    Gerraway.

NOBODY is interested Joe... so F**K OFF

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Liveline would be an eccumenical matter.

Has someone just copped on that the ad for the 1916 thing is misleading, and they're firefighting now so they don't have an entire programme on Tuesday devoted to thick Dubs who turned up at City Quay church for the service only to be disappointed? :D

I'd nearly turn up myself, just so I could be offended and complain to Joe.

ETA - in fact, the Ferryman (a fine establishment) is nearby..... why don't we organise a LahvLine beers meet, combined with an outrage session outside the church (although leaving them out of it, not their fault), and then when we're all fuelled up with righteous indignation we can go and find Joe and abuse him in person. Or ring in next week :D

Is Liveline past it's sell-by date.
    I'm reaching the point where I'm hardly even interested in taking the p1ss out of Joe anymore. He has become a parody of himself.

Am I the odd one out?

Is Liveline past it's sell-by date.
    I'm reaching the point where I'm hardly even interested in taking the p1ss out of Joe anymore. He has become a parody of himself.

Am I the odd one out?

Nope.

June Rodgers.

It's not Christmas again already, is it :eek::eek::eek:

I'm soooooo outta here!

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    and then when we're all fuelled up with righteous indignation we can go and find Joe and abuse him in person. Or ring in next week :D

Can we do it another weekend when the dart is running so we can get it to his house and protest there ?