Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

joe shocked at the thought that people wuldnt join a trade union

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

haha oops. Busted again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Fair play to him for mentioning THEY contacted him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,949 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

"Thank you for contacting me."
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

AK333 wrote: »
    And at my child's school, there is NO after school activities arranged by the school and the odd time they have something special, we pay for it

And a teacher is probably getting a cut...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Thank you for contacting me Joe. biggrin.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

Thank you FOR CONTACTING ME....

Liveline, the call IN show everybody... Is there any of these people that Duffy hasnt actually rang?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Joe has one of his relatives on now!!!!

john joe duffy...sounds like one of joes sulky racing/tarmacing cousins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

AK333 wrote: »
    The teachers here teach less.

In france they start at 8am I think - in some Asian countries teachers work till 5pm. My local school the teachers are paid till 4.00pm - they are all gone by 3.00pm (maybe not the Headmaster) so they owe us an hour a day, that's 5 hours a week.

Irish teachers have the highest class time in Europe. Prep takes place in the evening.

3 towns and villages I frequent have fresh killybegs fish for sale from the back of a van

When Donegal regularises it's tax payments they will be entitled to make demands

neris wrote: »
    john joe duffy...sounds like one of joes sulky racing/tarmacing cousins

Possibly a rogue treader.

Latest images from the Department of Education.

movie+Luther+2003+violent+torching+mob+01crop.jpg

Pic courtesy of the Daily Mail.

"Your call" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Another Duffy?? It's like a circus today.

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    Irish teachers have the highest class time in Europe. Prep takes place in the evening.

Yes, I recall my 2nd level teachers high tailing it to a bar at 3:00pm daily

Some prep if you had them for first class the next day

another duffy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

none of these teachers on today would inspire me to learn anything in a classroom

My punishment was to tune into live line on a daily basis Joe!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Lapin wrote: »
    Latest images from the Department of Education.

movie+Luther+2003+violent+torching+mob+01crop.jpg

Pic courtesy of the Daily Mail.

Is that not the ASTI committee...carrying out their death threat?

"I didnt want the other kids going home with the wrong facts in their heads"..

Dear god...

Victim Line

Careful Now.

Wisdom instead of dogma?
    It'll never work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

I'd love to be sitting in class when you run that idea past the ASTI..

Well, what about a compromise.

The first five years of a teachers working life are on one year Contracts, and you have to move schools - that way there would be no bias from a local school - and you are assessed, by outside assessors, for each of those years.

Then, you get five year contracts and again, you have to move every five years.

These teachers that are in schools for 20 and 30 years become irrelevant - they are stuck in their ways, their teaching skills haven't been assessed in years and the children lose out.

Is this not a bit off topic?

so you marched down to the school and kicked the head off the teacher?

Simple case of assault...?

Is this not a bit off topic?

People shoehorning in their own humble brag stories..

Joe, ask Brian if the lad is ghey, can you?

Very serious allegations going on here.

Why weren't the Gardaí involved at the time.

I'm not sure that's the whole story.

Song for a raggy boy part2 here!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

I must go and shout at my boss tomorrow with a Megaphone because the size of my team is too big.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Jason_

I was spanked by a young lady teacher in the 90s.

I'm very tempted to ring in with my own "heartbreaking story".. I went to school in a town that banned dancing Joe...

footloose.jpg

No, sorry, unless you can back that up with statistics, I don't believe it.

Very little prep has to be done in National School when the same teacher, teaches the same year of class, every year, forever and ever. They just recycle the same stuff they did the year before.

Teachers have a curriculum to follow - very little prep involved in that, IMO

I'm not having this.

He hadn't the balls to do anything at the time but goes on live radio 24 years later to tell the nation.

Jason_ wrote: »

I wish I was.
    I'm still up for that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

expunge expunge

Boasting again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Plenty of punching and kicking and ruler-whipping still around when I was in school in 1990 and a few years after.

Who paid who?? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

What you wouldn't do to that guy, and it would be you that gets charged for it.

Was it expensive?

what sort of father lets a teacher do that to his son and does nothing?

does not add up

*The Funny Friday Response*.

She was a bit old to be getting up to that sort of lark wasnt she..

Unfortunately, that man and his wife need to grow a pair.

If anyone looked sideways at my child I would take their head off their shoulders.

Who cares if yer man would lose his job? How on earth can you condone violence to a child (even though I would commit violence to an adult if they touched my child... I know, I know, double standards)

Plenty of punching and kicking and ruler-whipping still around when I was in school in 1990 and a few years after.

Yes, but we were quite efficient at dispensing 'rashers' too

"I think you got me mixed up" ha ha, thats it, put Joe back in his place :D