Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liveline Thread 27/03/14 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,949 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

sudzs wrote: »
    Well I agree with them 110% anyway!!! :rolleyes:

Why, that's nearly twice as good!
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭joe6pack

Joe is under pressure with all the maths today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Carbon dioxide is a greenhouse gas ya goon, not a pollutant, per sé. :rolleyes:

..but he is right in saying that without CO2 in the atmosphere, life on earth would cease to exist!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

Well I agree with them 110% anyway!!! :rolleyes:

100% of the statistics quoted on liveline is bulls*it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

No actual topic for todays show I suppose.

Just open the lines so people can have a general whinge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

ask Captain Planet how many coal burning power stations China builds per week

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭joe6pack

Beep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

ask Captain Planet how many coal burning power stations China builds per week

Exactly. You and I paying a Carbon tax, separating our recycling, etc might as well be weeing in the wind! Between India and China they are going to kill us all with the smog so we might as well save our tax, and spend it on a Ce la vie party!

"A necessary tax."
    Sure, sticking it to the pensioners (proper state-pensioners on 200 quid a week, not gold-plated ones) will solve the world's problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

Roger_007 wrote: »
    ..but he is right in saying that without CO2 in the atmosphere, life on earth would cease to exist!

Yes he is but the problem is there is too much of the stuff in the atmosphere at the moment.

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    "A necessary tax."
    Sure, sticking it to the pensioners (proper state-pensioners on 200 quid a week, not gold-plated ones) will solve the world's problems.

Pensioners aren't the only ones with a fire! Why do we have to keep dragging up the old chestnut "the most vulnerable Joe". This carbon tax is a joke, but maybe bringing in smokeless coal around the country might be a start

Is there a wall around Dublin to keep the culchie smoke out of the city :P

Joe has no problems keeping warm in the winter

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSZ8k4NsaEVvd9RWp2uGRA_4u3estxcgNBbB-_6UPiM9Q9sn3st

Older people and certain people on social welfare get a fuel allowance. They are the least effected by this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Old people, finding people dead in their houses. There's no better place than the Joe shoe for hyperbole.

And for having coalmen as political correspondents.

I'm not a politician and I couldn't tell you the price of any of those things.

AK333 wrote: »

Is there a wall around Dublin to keep the culchie smoke out of the city :P

Oh, don't know - does Dublin tend to attract the filth?

"A necessary tax."

And those least likely to have a mortgage.

Death

Joe needs the ad break time to go and fetch the new clamps that arrived this morning

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Get a shovel and do it yourself, what is the problem?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Death

Joe needs the ad break time to go and fetch the new clamps that arrived this morning

The've tightened even further now, since the poor fellas mother is only dead a month!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

Could he not do it himself?

18 inches by 12 inches, is that the size of the urn or Joes current erection?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭woejus

Death

Some death related backing music

pc7 wrote: »

It worked for good old Christy, didnt it??? :P

ThisRegard wrote: »
    And those least likely to have a mortgage.

Lowest cost base, numerous allowances and ample time to plan for their retirement and they are constantly painted as all living on the breadline huddled around candles for heat.

The've tightened even further now, since the poor fellas mother is only dead a month!!!

Go on Joe, ask him about his mothers death what she died of..........you know you want to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭Heckler

Good god just go in and do it yourself.

Lowest cost base, numerous allowances and ample time to plan for their retirement and they are constantly painted as all living on the breadline huddled around candles for heat.

Don't forget dumb, from listening to Joe I expect to become an idiot as soon as I reach retirement age.

ah yes, the cosy cartel that is the funeral business in Dublin. :mad:

go on Joe ask how business is at the moment

Death

Tweco92051120.jpg

Here's some news - some of them are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,562 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

pc7 wrote: »
    signostic wrote: »
    Could he not do it himself?
    Heckler wrote: »
    Good god just go in and do it yourself.

And do the good gravediggers out of a job :eek:

Zero chance of that being allowed!

Closed, captive market - recipe for high prices, end of.

I know someone who passed away, and was cremated. His family were quite poor and instead of paying for someone to open the grave and list his death on the cemetery "books", they went up to the cemetery with a shovel, dug a suitable hole in the corner of the plot, said a few prayers and popped him in. We all know he's there and I think they are putting him on the headstone but he wouldn't be listed in the official cemetery book - perfect!

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    And do the good gravediggers out of a job :eek:

Zero chance of that being allowed!

Closed, captive market - recipe for high prices, end of.

Sounds suspiciously like a particular phone-in radio show....

Whoy not, whoy not. Sez the man who whinged over his salary reduction.

listen to him laughing in derision. GOD! I HATE these funeral directors.

Ha ha, Joe planning already!!!!

Sounds like Joe has done this kind of price research before? I wonder does he ring up undertakers for the craic on his ample time off!

Is Joe actually trying to negotiate a discounted funeral for himself ?

Well if they are then they or someone belonging to them needs to give St Vincent de Paul a call - there is absolutely no excuse for anybody being huddled around a flicker of a flame - there are plenty of volunteer/social groups there to help people in need, whatever your need.

Joe must have a sick relative.......he's looking for a quote!

Before you know it, he'll be asking whats the soylent green option!!!!

Can you use your own coffin, as in buy one of those cardboard or wicker ones??

This is farcical - Joe Duffy's Fantasy Funeral™

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

Joe wants a Lidl funeral

No music

A microscopic minority at most. Joe makes it sound like every single pensioner in the country is a pauper the minute they hit retirement age.

And it's all the gubbermints fault!

my friend wrote: »
    Joe wants a Lidl funeral

No music

Only blips......

That carbon tax item didn't last long........death and funerals are much more interesting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

my friend wrote: »
    Joe wants a Lidl funeral

No music

Go to No 5 checkout...now opening...

Ha ha, Joe planning already!!!!

Joe's been calling Gaudy Funerals...
    media_httpcache04gawk_Jnyrb1.jpg.scaled10001.jpg